We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little scruffy now but fine...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed in the Cahal Peche Resort for 4 nights in April. Located at the top of a dusty hill the views are amazing. Sadly the front of the hotel looks quite scruffy which lets it down a bit because the pool and restaurant areas are lovely. It is possible to walk into town from here if you don't mind some exercise - the walk back up the hills is a bit much in the intense heat but a taxi is only $5.

We opted for a cabana and like other reviewers felt that maybe a room would have been better. The cabanas are more private but a little worn out and no facilities like wi-fi or fridges. The cabanas have balconies with hammocks - a nice touch - but they are completely boxed in with mesh - I imagine this is necessary but feels a bit odd. The rooms have good views too.

Some of the staff were quite unfriendly - almost making us feel we had done something wrong - although others were fine. Food not bad and prices you would expect. While we were there two very large parties stayed at different times - a Christian conference and a school party. Both were quite intrusive - not sure if this hotel often hosts conferences.

Overall not bad.

Room Tip: Rooms are possibly better quality and value than cabanas with better facilities - top floor has grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flipperty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

My hats off to a great staff. They were very accommodating and made us feel welcome. Our tour guides were compassionate about their jobs and made it an adventure. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Not a 5 star hotel but the adventure to the caves, ruins, and waterfall makes up for it. You won't get that trapped in a 5 star resort. I want to take my children and grandchildren to this resort. Special thanks to Lenny and our tour guides. What a beautiful vacation. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Hard to find (this country has something against detailed maps) but once we found it, what a view! Our little cabana was cozy & quaint, but the porch with the hammock was the best part if only for the view it provided. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, and we booked a couple trips thru them as well-- Caracol and ATM cave. The breakfast buffet was cheap and perfect for filling up before an outing, but the coffee was atrocious. My friend described it as cigarette water.

Place could use sprucing up, like new screens on the porches and windows (ours had a few holes) and the bathrooms were a bit... rustic. I have no basis for comparison in San Ignacio so who knows what else is out there. I'd go back and also recommend it to anyone traveling to SI.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We spent a day and night at this resort, with a spectacular view of San Ignaceo. We shared a suite with another couple; clean and basic, and comfortable with a balcony overlooking the town. Pools were clean and refreshing after a long hot day exploring the nearby ruins at Cahal Pech. Food was good, basic Belizean and Mexican fare. Great value and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mom2zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

we stayed here some years ago for a few days in a private cabana which was rustic & spacious enough w/ a mesh enclosed porch and hammock... the town & ruins were walking distance, on-site restaurant had good local cooking and at the time almost no one else was staying so that was great... the pool was deep enough & wonderful for morning dips and cooling off before dinner... while there it started raining cats&dogs which was really quite wonderful while hanging out on the porch.. nice views from the room and pretty grounds to walk thru with foliage separating the cabanas...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauren728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Wife and I spent three nights in Cahal Pech in San Ignacio. Hotel was hard to find on top of a rough dirt road, not one sign anywhere (maybe because of road construction), just past the Cahal Pech Maya site. We pulled up (kind of around the back) into a gravel parking lot at what looked like the entrance. No sign on the building at all. Actually, it looked abandoned. Went into a dark, gloomy reception area and met an equally gloomy, grumpy receptionist. Outside was bright and cheerful with a beautiful, well maintained three level pool (lots of locals paying an entry fee to get in but that was fine) and an open restaurant/bar. All in all, better on the inside than out. We started with a Cabana, big mistake. Old, small and depressing. Went inside and asked for a room on the second floor of the main building. No problem, moved us right in. We weren't the only ones making the move. Room was good, fantastic view of the valley, especially at night. Quiet, good bed, TV and even wifi in the room we had (above the common area). AC a bit noisy but windows open and the fan on it was OK. Restaurant was very good with pasta and fish (service in the restaurant was great and the day clerk at the front deal was really good . Pools were fun. I would stay again but not in the cabana. They should fix the entrance though, likes like hell.

Room Tip: Upstairs. I think we had 103 and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenoradave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had a suite for my husband,me and my daughter. The room was simple but very nice. The bar/dining area/pool area is among the best we've seen in Belize. Wonderful environment. Location of resort is terrific on the hill above town. Easy walk into town and seconds away from the ruins which open at 6am! Food is as good or better than any place in town that we tried. Prices reasonable. Great place with friendly staff.

Room Tip: Who needs a fitness center when you are located at the top of the only hill in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
2.4 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
873 reviews
2.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
659 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,276 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Orange Guesthouse
The Orange Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Unitedville
22 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cahal Pech Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahal Pech Village Resort

Address: Cahal Pech Hill | P.O. Box 1, San Ignacio 00000, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range: £59 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cahal Pech Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cahal Pech Village Resort is located in the heart of the Mayan world, San Ignacio, Cayo District, Belize. We offer professionally guided tours of local and other Mayan ruins in English and Spanish, as well as access to Mayan Healing, Culture and Art. We also offer Eco-tours, Jungle Adventure, Horseback Riding, Reef Diving and more. Relax at our Pool, or see Belize’s Beaches and Caves, Waterfalls, Sink Holes and Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cahal Pech Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cahal Pech Village Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel Cahal Pech Village
Cahal Pech Village Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing