We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view of the city. Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed staying at the hotel. The casitas are clean and all have a nice veranda. The hotel has an amazing view of the city. We spent only one night there but wished we could stay longer. It is walking distance from Cahal Pech Mayan ruins.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaAndPetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
There are newer reviews for Cahal Pech Village Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

My boyfriend and I (both in our mid-20s) spent 3 night at Cahel Pech Resort in May. We were very happy with our stay here. We stayed in one of the bungalows which was very cute and had everything we needed. The view from the pool and bar was amazing! We planned on going into town most nights for dinner but enjoyed ourselves at the bar so much that we ended up eating there a lot. And it helped that the food & cocktails were great! The resort was close to town and close to all of the activities we did. The resort arranged our transportation to and from San Ignacio and booked day tours for us to do the Cave Tubing and ATM Caves. We highly recommend this resort and would stay here again!

Room Tip: Bungalow was very nice however had no hot water
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dominique V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Cahal Pech Village Resort is a nice place to stay. This resort is in San Ignacio, which is nowhere near the beach. Most people when you say Belize they immediately think beach. This is more of an area that you can use as a base to visit ruins, caves and waterfalls. The rooms are clean and each has AC and hot water with good water pressure. The staff are friendly. They state that they have wifi but it is in a small area outside of the office. Don’t expect to do your email from your room using wifi. The rooms are somewhat expensive and the pricing for the food is expensive. The thing is there are not really any alternatives around unless you drive back down the hill and into town for dinning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2luvbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is as close to historic ruins as you'll ever get to stay; easy walking distance from the lodge and beautiful views. You're uphill from town; expect to take a car down and back - it's quite a climb if you walk! The restaurant is OK; prices are reasonable all around and the service is friendly. I'd recommend it if you're not intent on spending alot of time in town and want a reasonable place with a view. You'll often share the pool with the locals and that's a good cultural experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stop looking for a hotel in San Ignacio and book your vacation at Cahal Pech Village Resort. Here are several reasons, in no particular order:
1. Cheap! We stayed in a 2nd floor room with 2 double beds and a balcony overlooking San Ignacio and the pool area and it was only $90. Yes, more expensive than some other places in San Ignacio but for all of the amenities, it is a great value.
2. The bar had delicious drinks, especially the daiquiris which are actually made with chunks of fresh fruit. The pub snacks were also quite tasty, especially the plantain chips.
3. The staff is top notch. We had originally planned to be on the Belize coast for the whole trip and at the last minute decided to spend 2 days in San Ignacio at Xunantunich and the ATM cave. As such we didn't even have a tour for ATM booked. The front desk staff worked within the confines of our time restrictions and booked us a tour with an amazing guide. He set up everything, and expertly answered all of our questions.
4. The pool area is great. We relaxed in the pool after sweating in the hot sun while exploring Xunantunich and it was incredibly refreshing. There are multiple pools and plenty of room for everyone, whether it's kids or adults.
5. The room we stayed in was clean, a good size, had a balcony, and much appreciated air conditioning! They do not provide shampoo/conditioner though so bring your own.
6. The location is great. It was a 10 minute drive to Xunantunich, and many of the ATM tours leave from San Ignacio. It is a 1 minute walk from the Cahal Pech ruins which would make for an easy afternoon or morning adventure.
7. Finally, the dinner at the resort restaurant was absolutely the best meal of my whole time in Belize. I had one of Chef Rudy's recommended dishes, I think called pescadore augratin. It was fresh snapper layered on corn tortillas with ratatouille. My friends also loved their meals of baby back ribs and snapper steamed in a banana leaf topped with a banana sauce. Breakfast the next morning was no different, enjoying eggs scrambled with tomatoes served with fried plantains and refried beans. Even if you stay elsewhere in San Ignacio, you should come here for a meal.
Other reviewers have mentioned that the front of the hotel looks a bit run down (true) and that the road leading up to the resort is a very steep bumpy dirt road (very true) but do not let these scare you away. Once you enter the clean breezy hotel, you will be so glad you chose it for your vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuneshineTri79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed in the Cahal Peche Resort for 4 nights in April. Located at the top of a dusty hill the views are amazing. Sadly the front of the hotel looks quite scruffy which lets it down a bit because the pool and restaurant areas are lovely. It is possible to walk into town from here if you don't mind some exercise - the walk back up the hills is a bit much in the intense heat but a taxi is only $5.

We opted for a cabana and like other reviewers felt that maybe a room would have been better. The cabanas are more private but a little worn out and no facilities like wi-fi or fridges. The cabanas have balconies with hammocks - a nice touch - but they are completely boxed in with mesh - I imagine this is necessary but feels a bit odd. The rooms have good views too.

Some of the staff were quite unfriendly - almost making us feel we had done something wrong - although others were fine. Food not bad and prices you would expect. While we were there two very large parties stayed at different times - a Christian conference and a school party. Both were quite intrusive - not sure if this hotel often hosts conferences.

Overall not bad.

Room Tip: Rooms are possibly better quality and value than cabanas with better facilities - top floor has grea...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flipperty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My hats off to a great staff. They were very accommodating and made us feel welcome. Our tour guides were compassionate about their jobs and made it an adventure. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Not a 5 star hotel but the adventure to the caves, ruins, and waterfall makes up for it. You won't get that trapped in a 5 star resort. I want to take my children and grandchildren to this resort. Special thanks to Lenny and our tour guides. What a beautiful vacation. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
2.4 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
819 reviews
2.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
634 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Orange Guesthouse
The Orange Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Unitedville
22 reviews
0.6 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
999 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cahal Pech Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahal Pech Village Resort

Address: Cahal Pech Hill | P.O. Box 1, San Ignacio 00000, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range: £63 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cahal Pech Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cahal Pech Village Resort is located in the heart of the Mayan world, San Ignacio, Cayo District, Belize. We offer professionally guided tours of local and other Mayan ruins in English and Spanish, as well as access to Mayan Healing, Culture and Art. We also offer Eco-tours, Jungle Adventure, Horseback Riding, Reef Diving and more. Relax at our Pool, or see Belize’s Beaches and Caves, Waterfalls, Sink Holes and Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cahal Pech Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cahal Pech Village Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel Cahal Pech Village
Cahal Pech Village Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing