We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$234
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ka'ana Resort(San Ignacio)
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rumors Resort(San Ignacio)
US$120
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$418
US$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Venus Hotel(San Ignacio)
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$660
US$449
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Rock Lodge(Black Rock)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tropicool Hotel(San Ignacio)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (653)
Filter reviews
653 results
Traveller rating
219
244
115
56
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
244
115
56
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsin townscreened in porchmain buildingpineapple chickenhot waterhill overlookingbarking dogscave tubingmayan sitecab ridebelize cityair conditioneratm tourfry jackslennypoolscabana
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
540 - 545 of 653 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2009

For the price, you can't beat Cahal Pech. We also stayed in a Cabana and loved them, although I do think they are a bit worn about the edges - esp the beds. The grounds are very pretty and if you stay there, you must walk down and explore the Cahal Pech ruins right down the road. However, the best part of staying here was all of the staff - they go out of their way to be friendly and helpful, and that makes a big difference when thinking back on how much you enjoyed staying somewhere. If you don't have a car, this is the perfect choice as many of the other places highly rated in TA are quite a distance from anything else........

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanaMBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2009

We were torn between Cahal Pech and the San Ignacio Hotel, we made the right choice. The cabanas are huge and have great screened porches. We had one of the nicest and highest cabanas that gave us a great view of town. Location is great. The walk to town is not so bad, the walk back....up hill....the whole way! We had a car so we drove to most places. The Cayo Twist, which is a soy ice-cream shop is right down the hill. You gotta go.TAKE YOUR EARPLUGS because there are about 500 dogs that bark at all times of the night and early morning. It doesn't matter where you stay in San Ignacio, you cannot escape them! What made our stay at Cahal Pech so great was the staff. Cynthia the adventure coordinator is the best. She made everything so awesome for us. She even had the staff upgrade our room when she found out my husband and I were staying in a double. We took two tours with them. Tikal and A.T.M.. Both were amazing. We had amazing guides. Especially our Tikal guide, Ismael. What an amazing man. So knowledgeable, warm and sincere. You can tell he love his job. We traveled in really nice vans and had a representative from Cahal Pech with us the whole time. It was the best. While the food has gotten some O.K. reviews, we found it to be pleasantly descent. Nothing 5-star, but more than edible, we are foodies who enjoy fine cuisine, and let me tell you.....you don't go to Belize for the food. While it is all good, nothing is going to impress you.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaymemckee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

We booked our entire honeymoon via Denny at the Cahal Pech Village Resort. It was wonderful.

We stayed in one of the thatched roof cabanas and enjoyed how breezy and clean they were. The geckos and lizards also provided some entertainment!

The food was nice, filling, and enjoyable and we had a bananas foster everyday for dessert.

The guides are wonderful and well informed and we were able to do all of our day trips, included Tikal, with no problems at all.

While we were there in mid-June, there were students staying there who were working at the Cahal Pech excavations. They could be a bit noisy, but we had no problems tuning them out.

It is a well-kept, clean, and friendly place. I would love to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2009

My friend and i wanted to visit San Ignacio to do cave tubing and visit the ruins so we decided to stay at Cahal Pech and booked one of the cabanas. They were very well priced and had a great view of the town. We even had our own screened in porch with a hammock. however, if you dont want to have a steep walk up and down to your cabana everyday, i'd recommend staying in the main hotel and not the cabanas as they are located on the side of the hill. The service at the hotel was great. they were very helpful, warm and helped us organize our tour to visit tikal in guatemala. cave tubing was cancelled because of the rain. if anyone is going when its raining, expect for it to be cancelled as the rivers get too high. the restaurant food was delicious, although the service for breakfast was very slow. show up alittle earlier if you have a schedule to keep. don't miss out on having a margarita at the hotel bar, they are delicious with fresh lime juice. the resort is on the top of the hill so walking into town is easy, about 7 minutes, but walking up the hill home is brutal! you can take a taxi for very cheap though about $3 USD. i would recommend staying here as a home base for san ignacio travel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank val225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

The resort is located above town (great views of san ignancio). About a 15/20 min walk up a steep road or a 7 belize dollar cab ride.

I stayed in a family suite cabana with my friends for 3 nights. The room had two levels with 2 beds on each level. There was a screened in porch with hamock and a few chairs. The only thing missing was a mini fridge.

There is a poolside bar that is open until 10 and a great spot to meet fellow travellers. The food at the restaurant is decent but you are better to head into town for dinner (more options and cheaper). Free internet is available in the lobby.

There are plenty of lounge chairs to kick back and relax in by the pools after a day of exploring the area.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank soccermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews