We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to start your Tikal adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good place to start your Tikal adventure”
Reviewed 12 April 2009

Wanted to take a trip to Tikal and decided on Cahal Pech Village Resort as our home base. The resort is about 1.5 hours from the Belize City airport by car, and about a 3-hour drive to Tikal (one way) on some pretty rough roads. We received great advice from the tour operator in the lobby, and our drive to Tikal worked out perfectly.

The room was fine - air conditioner worked well, bed was comfortable and it was fun to sleep under a thatched roof and a mosquito net. Although we didn't use it much, the hammock on the screened in front porch had a wonderful view was a nice bonus. Found it funny that there was a TV, but the power cord did not reach the outlet and simply hung from the wall-mounted TV. Shower was a little chilly on the first morning, but we let it run for 5-10 minutes on our second morning and got plenty of heat.

The food and drinks at the resort's restaurant were convenient and cheap, compared to what we're used to in the United States (although I'm sure you could find cheaper in downtown San Ignacio, just a short walk down the hill). The pool looked well-maintained, but we only got to put it to use once since most of our daylight was spent in Tikal.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iceberg174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    212
    102
    54
    15
See reviews for
135
249
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mbasu
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

We were worried about showing up in Belize and staying at an awful place - for US$79 a night, we had a beautiful casita overlooking San Ignacio - it had a private bath, air conditioning and best of all, a screened in porch with a hammock. The on property restaurant had good food at a good price. Most importantly, we booked all our tours directly with the hotel, including being picked up and dropped off at the hotel at very reasonable prices. It was great to be able to trust the hotel when we were swimming through caves and hiking in the jungle (ATM tour is a must for anyone in decent shape in San Ignacio!). Strongly recommend this place over any of the other establishments I saw in San Ignacio. WIll say that its slightly out of town up a steep 20 min walk, but the cab was $5 US - definitely worth it.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, NT
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2009

Just returned from a 3rd stay at Cahal Pech Village. Everything was spotless and the service excellent. Each time there appears to be added improvements and earlier problems with water flow in the resort seem to have been favourably resolved. As usual, the tours were excellent and the guides knowledgeable.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelizeanRegulars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2009

For the price, you can't beat Cahal Pech. We also stayed in a Cabana and loved them, although I do think they are a bit worn about the edges - esp the beds. The grounds are very pretty and if you stay there, you must walk down and explore the Cahal Pech ruins right down the road. However, the best part of staying here was all of the staff - they go out of their way to be friendly and helpful, and that makes a big difference when thinking back on how much you enjoyed staying somewhere. If you don't have a car, this is the perfect choice as many of the other places highly rated in TA are quite a distance from anything else........

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaMBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carbondale, co
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2009

We were torn between Cahal Pech and the San Ignacio Hotel, we made the right choice. The cabanas are huge and have great screened porches. We had one of the nicest and highest cabanas that gave us a great view of town. Location is great. The walk to town is not so bad, the walk back....up hill....the whole way! We had a car so we drove to most places. The Cayo Twist, which is a soy ice-cream shop is right down the hill. You gotta go.TAKE YOUR EARPLUGS because there are about 500 dogs that bark at all times of the night and early morning. It doesn't matter where you stay in San Ignacio, you cannot escape them! What made our stay at Cahal Pech so great was the staff. Cynthia the adventure coordinator is the best. She made everything so awesome for us. She even had the staff upgrade our room when she found out my husband and I were staying in a double. We took two tours with them. Tikal and A.T.M.. Both were amazing. We had amazing guides. Especially our Tikal guide, Ismael. What an amazing man. So knowledgeable, warm and sincere. You can tell he love his job. We traveled in really nice vans and had a representative from Cahal Pech with us the whole time. It was the best. While the food has gotten some O.K. reviews, we found it to be pleasantly descent. Nothing 5-star, but more than edible, we are foodies who enjoy fine cuisine, and let me tell you.....you don't go to Belize for the food. While it is all good, nothing is going to impress you.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaymemckee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omaha, nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2009

We booked our entire honeymoon via Denny at the Cahal Pech Village Resort. It was wonderful.

We stayed in one of the thatched roof cabanas and enjoyed how breezy and clean they were. The geckos and lizards also provided some entertainment!

The food was nice, filling, and enjoyable and we had a bananas foster everyday for dessert.

The guides are wonderful and well informed and we were able to do all of our day trips, included Tikal, with no problems at all.

While we were there in mid-June, there were students staying there who were working at the Cahal Pech excavations. They could be a bit noisy, but we had no problems tuning them out.

It is a well-kept, clean, and friendly place. I would love to go back.

  • Liked — The room and the view
  • Disliked — The noise from the pool
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn, ny
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2009

My friend and i wanted to visit San Ignacio to do cave tubing and visit the ruins so we decided to stay at Cahal Pech and booked one of the cabanas. They were very well priced and had a great view of the town. We even had our own screened in porch with a hammock. however, if you dont want to have a steep walk up and down to your cabana everyday, i'd recommend staying in the main hotel and not the cabanas as they are located on the side of the hill. The service at the hotel was great. they were very helpful, warm and helped us organize our tour to visit tikal in guatemala. cave tubing was cancelled because of the rain. if anyone is going when its raining, expect for it to be cancelled as the rivers get too high. the restaurant food was delicious, although the service for breakfast was very slow. show up alittle earlier if you have a schedule to keep. don't miss out on having a margarita at the hotel bar, they are delicious with fresh lime juice. the resort is on the top of the hill so walking into town is easy, about 7 minutes, but walking up the hill home is brutal! you can take a taxi for very cheap though about $3 USD. i would recommend staying here as a home base for san ignacio travel.

  • Liked — service and food
  • Disliked — hot water was not consistent
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank val225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
2.4 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
807 reviews
2.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
624 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
971 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 13 in San Ignacio
253 reviews
1.2 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#9 of 34 in San Ignacio
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cahal Pech Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahal Pech Village Resort

Property: Cahal Pech Village Resort
Address: Cahal Pech Hill | P.O. Box 1, San Ignacio 00000, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cahal Pech Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cahal Pech Village Resort is located in the heart of the Mayan world, San Ignacio, Cayo District, Belize. We offer professionally guided tours of local and other Mayan ruins in English and Spanish, as well as access to Mayan Healing, Culture and Art. We also offer Eco-tours, Jungle Adventure, Horseback Riding, Reef Diving and more. Relax at our Pool, or see Belize’s Beaches and Caves, Waterfalls, Sink Holes and Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Cahal Pech Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cahal Pech Village Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel Cahal Pech Village
Cahal Pech Village Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing