We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing stay! Great hosts! Nice and Quiet place...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Villa
Penthouse Bedroom Penthouse sitting area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
The Villa
Penthouse Bedroom
Penthouse sitting area
Penthouse kitchen
Penthouse Veranda
Ducks in the pond
Library
Main kitchen
Parrot
Pool & Palapa
Purple Sky
Sunset
Keel-billed Toucan
View of driveway from Penthouse balcony
Xunantanich
The Villa
Main Veranda
Kitchen and 2nd balcony
view from balconey
Penthouse bed /sitting
Private bathroom
slate shower
another view south to the Maya mountains
Drive in from front gates
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
San Ignacio, Cayo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ef83
Kelowna, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing stay! Great hosts! Nice and Quiet place to get away from it all”
Reviewed 6 March 2015 for a stay in December 2013

Martha and Murray's property, house and location near San Ignacio was perfect for what my Wife and I were looking for to start the trip off with. It is only a quick drive to get to the nearest store to pick up some beer and supplies for dinner. The view from the Penthouse is amazing. The sunsets were stunning.
It was good to talk with Martha and Murray to find out ideas on where to go locally and get a history of the area and what is currently happening.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: a few bugs at night, not big deal
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan B
1 review
“A Penthouse in Paradise - Six out of five stars!”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Our stay in Martha and Murray's penthouse apartment at Avana Villa was incredible. My wife, myself and our three children (ages 20,17, and 12) stayed Dec. 27-30, 2014. The villa sits 1-1/2 miles down a private road just 2 miles, or so, west of San Ignacio on a beautiful 20 acre, gated estate. Our hosts had everything ready on our arrival and showed us around the beautiful grounds, filled with fruit trees, a sheep meadow and lush tropical plants. The penthouse apartment was perfect. Its was large with high ceilings (and ceiling fans) and cool stone floors. There was a full kitchen which was prefect for cooking in. French doors led out to a wonderful veranda with incredible views to the north and west into the hills of Guatemala just a few miles away. The sunsets were totally amazing every night we where there. The villa is off the gird and powered by solar, butane gas and a gas powered generator, when needed. You must be respectful of this and turn off lights and fans when not in use, but we had no hardships with this. The hot water for showering is gas fired and plentiful. There is a large library of books, board games and DVD movies and a laptop DVD player for guests to use. Martha and Murray are great hosts. Always willing to show you around the grounds and give advice on places to dine and things to do in the San Ignacio area. Martha even brought a week old lamb up to the villa to meet our kids, which really thrilled them. But i think our favorite thing about Avana Villa was the triangle swimming pool. Nothing was better then returning from a long hot day exploring the nearby Mayan ruins, caves and jungles, then diving into the cool clear waters of the pool. A real treat. I would highly recommend this property. ... On a side note. If you happen to play disc golf the only course in all of Belize is just 3 miles west down the Western Highway. I was so surprised when we drove by it. I had not even given playing disc golf a thought while in Belize, so was very happy to go one afternoon and play a round. Its a great little 9 hole course laid out through the dense jungle and up and down over still buried Mayan ruins. It was an unexpected find. Check it out if you play. They have free discs to use. Say hi to Tino, the owner and pro for me.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sunsets and pool.
Liked least: Having to leave to soon.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2015
Thank you so much Brendan for the your very kind words, we are very touched! It was a joy and pleasure to meet you and your beautiful family,so glad to hear the girls enjoyed themselves! We have since had several more lambs. Come back anytime!
Best regards,
Martha and Murray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marfusha
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place for kosher-keeping guests”
Reviewed 23 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we felt pampered and cared for. The place is extremely clean, with great views, and fantastic wild life. The owners took a lot of time to show us around, to point out every tree and animal living on their beautiful property.The place has a feel of being in the middle of nowhere, while it's really close to the city.
Renting a car is well worth it, and driving around San Ignacio wasn't hard.
The owners also took care of our religious needs, namely kashrut and shabbat.
If you are looking for an affordable paradise-like place away from a city hustle,we highly recommend it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinis2...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What an incredible place. Martha and Murray are wonderful. They make you feel like you are visiting old friends not just renting a place to stay. The property is gorgeous and made us want to never leave Belize. The location is secluded enough to really enjoy the jungle of Belize but has the accessibility to so many things the country has to offer. It was great having Avana Villa as our base to go and explore. We do recommend a rental car for this location and it is a bit hard to find without good directions.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren D
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breath Taking”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with my girlfriend in May in the Penthouse suite on the top floor. We had such a great time here the house is such a beautiful oasis in the middle of the jungle. Weather was great throughout our two week stay. The owners were great hosts and cooked great meals and were very helpful with lots of information about the country and activities to do. Felt very safe here as well with the 3 dogs and fully fenced property, we did not have to worry about any kind of intruders. Overall Avana Villa was a very affordable place to stay and relax or have some wild jungle adventures! We will be planning our next trip back very soon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cali70
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Home”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My family of five stayed at this Lovely Home, and it was wonderful. I would surely stay here again on my next visit, my three boys enjoyed the pool very much. Bree & Honey were very happy dogs & the owners were nothing short of helpful, very informative with information.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 1 February 2014 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Feb 2014
Thanks for booking with us guys. We'ere glad you guys enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you again soon.

Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing