We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple, but suitable for an overnight”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosa's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rosa's Hotel
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simple, but suitable for an overnight”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

On our way from Guatemala back to Belize City my boyfriend and I overnighted at Rosa's. Wasn't the cleanliest of rooms we had had - the bathroom had a lot of ants and other bugs and we kept our flip flops on at all times. The staff were very helpful though and we enjoyed the laundry service and veranda. Room was a bit hot for sleeping, but not to much can be done about that without AC. Good wifi on the veranda.

Very close to several restaurants and the bus station which took us back to Belize City.

Would recommend for an over night but I'm not sure for much longer. There was also supposed to be included breakfast but even at 7:30 when we came to eat there was only a few orange slices left.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meghankmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    21
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
1
31
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed at Rosa's Hotel after a recommendation from a family member who had visited a few weeks prior. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location and the price were just right. This was a good spot to sleep during an inland excursion in Belize, because it was a convenient place for our tour guide to meet us. However, the beds were crazy uncomfortable: lumpy, saggy, and both too hard and too soft at the same time. They were set at a "T" to each other, as well, so we chose the slightly-less-uncomfortable one and snuggled a bit closer. Other reviewers have already talked about the nightclub noise and the problematic a/c and fan, but the absolute worst part of the experience for us was the blinding odor of urinal cake. The strong chemical pine smell in our room gave us both headaches. By light of morning, though, we were able to enjoy a nice fresh continental breakfast and chat with the other guests on the homey rooftop/balcony. The fresh air was a blessing after the stinky, sleepless night. If I could use half dots, I'd give it a 2-1/2

Room Tip: The guests who had rooms further down the hall had a quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Awesome value and a great staff. They were always there to help and also helped us arrange our mayan walk tour of the atm cave(amazing trip and guide as well!) Great for backpackers or those looking for good value and nice staff

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanTrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
144 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed at Rosa's Hotel for 3 nights while in western Belize. I had a private room with a bathroom which was $50 BZ per night. The room was very basic with only a fan and no TV. There were 2 beds which were comfortable. The room could use a fresh coat of paint but otherwise OK. The hot water in the shower was good. The staff were fine and the included breakfast consisted of toast , fruit, and eggs which you cook yourself on the burner. The Wifi worked great near the reception but not very well in my room on the top floor. The location of the hotel is great. Everything is within walking distance:

*2 minute walk to Burns Ave (Bars, Restaurants)
*5 minute walk to bus stop
*5-10 minute walk to see the iguanas at that San Ignacio resort
*20 minute walk outside of town to the Cahal Pech Mayan site

With such a great location comes a catch. This hotel is almost too close to all the action with a locals nightclub next door. I would not stay here on Friday or Saturday unless you are someone who stays up very late. The music and thumping from the nightclub is so loud it feels like you are trying to sleep in the club and it goes most of the night. Earplugs helped, but did not completely eliminate the noise. I would stay here on weekdays as the loud music ends at midnight and is very quiet after that.

So if your a budget traveler looking for a place on a weekday that is close to everything, then consider Rosa's. If you are staying here on the weekend, don't forget your earplugs.

Room Tip: Loud nightclub next door. Bring earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danimal2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

My girlfriend and I attempted to stay at Rosa's Hotel in November 2012. We are budget travelers and were looking for somewhere affordable with a private bathroom. Rosa's Hotel is mentioned in the Lonely Planet guide, and had a reasonable average rating on Tripadvisor.

Unfortunately, the hotel was a huge disappointment. The room we were given had a strong smell like paint thinner and the beds were so damp that after a quick five minute lie down you would get up with soggy clothes. The feeling was so unpleasant that we didn't stay the night and left to find somewhere cleaner and dryer.

You can find other rooms with private bathrooms in San Ignacio that are both considerably more pleasant and considerably cheaper. I would advise avoiding Rosa's Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MBridgett_GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed here on a previous trip and returned again. We like this hotel - $27.50 is a good price for a basic room, the wifi is good (although it doesn’t work in the rooms, only in common areas, ie. small office area on 2nd floor and 3rd floor balcony), the staff is friendly, there’s basic but complete continental breakfast included and the 3rd floor balcony usually with a breeze and is a great place to hang out.

However, the street noise and night club next door are likely to require you to use your earplugs and if you have a non-air conditioned room like we did, it may be hot. Some rooms may have more cross-ventilation than the one we had, but we were not on the side the breeze was blowing from and got no cross-ventilation to cool it off when the outside temp started to drop. (It was close to 100 degrees the day we stayed here.)

We would stay at the hotel again, but would avoid room 201 (the one we had) at all costs. In addition to staying hot, it has one window out to the balcony common area and the other to the balcony food prep/kitchen area, so you will have guests hanging out until midnight (when it is supposed to be quiet) talking and having the light on and then breakfast prep noise beginning at 5:30am. We also had some folks turn the balcony light on and clatter some dishes around at some point in between those times.

Room Tip: Did we mention to avoid room 201?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daryle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocatello, ID
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed one night here on our way from Belize City to Flores Guatemala. Staff was great and helped arrange a low cost taxi to the border. Night club next door was bumping, but with the fan running full blast in our room the music just became white noise. Good value and great location if you plan to visit the market or other downtown attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flappy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.5 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropicool Hotel
Tropicool Hotel
#14 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#12 of 14 in San Ignacio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Haven Inn
Rainforest Haven Inn
#4 of 31 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella's Backpackers
Bella's Backpackers
#6 of 20 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosa's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosa's Hotel

Property: Rosa's Hotel
Address: # 65 Hudson Street, San Ignacio 50101, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Speciality Lodging in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosas Hotel is located right downtown in walking distance of all shopping, tour guides, and restaurants/entertainment! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rosa's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosa's Hotel Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing