We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get a family with your lodging at rosas!”
Review of Rosa's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rosa's Hotel
Reviewed 29 October 2010

just today got back stateside after five weeks in awesome san ignacio area and was never at a loss for activity. when i picked rosas after gleaning reviews, i got the buy of a lifetime. the hotel is clean and comfy but the buy (and inexpensive at that) is in company there. tony, the owner, and his family become your family. guests come and go but none left strangers. i'll be back soon and you can bet rosas will be my base.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davisturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2010

If you want to be in the middle of things in a clean hotel, at a great price this is the best in San ignacio and includes a continental Breakfast.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
1  Thank tobaccocay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We stayed at Rosa's for a night, and found it to be a truly great hostel with one catch - the noisy nightclubs on either side.

Our room was sparse but clean and had a private bathroom - can't ask for much more than that. The patio/porch area was lovely and had a nice breeze. They have breakfast available for you, and a little outdoor kitchen that you can use to cook your own meals if you so desire. The staff was really helpful and gave us lots of advice about tours and helped us connect with "Jim," the owner of the Barton Creek Outpost, when we thought we had missed our ride. It is RIGHT IN THE CENTER of San Ignacio, which is super convenient as well. They also have wi-fi.

The only downside is the loud music at night. Bring earplugs, or request a room farther back from the street.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeeGrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosasHotel, Owner at Rosa's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2010

Once again, thanks for recognizing our Hotel as a clean warm place to stay, hosted by great people.

That being said, there is a night club next door, which has recently made sound proofing improvements to the building, following a bit of arm twisting by yours truly.

Further, the Night Club next door only has dances on Saturday nights or some Holidays.

Lastly, the Hotel is located in down town central. If you want 7 nights of guaranteed peaceful sounds of wilderness, then I recommend you find a hotel out of town. I mean, seriously, I cannot name hotels in this response, but let me assure you, I have stayed in a very posh place in Manhattan, New York, and my 500U.S. a night got me horns, and sirens to sleep to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

This hotel is ok but thats it. At 8;30 pm the bar next door starts playing music so loud that the room shakes from the bass provided by their sound system. It continue at decibals equal to that of a live rock concert. It continues until approx 1.30 am. If your their for the night life and parties then you will do just fine. If you looking to get some sleep go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zarken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosasHotel, Owner at Rosa's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2010

After several letters written to the Belize Liquor Licensing Board, the owner of the club next door has put a brand new roof on and sound proofed the building.

It was really a nuisance but truly, for about a week in June I thought the club had closed down. Turned out that the owner did a nice job of quieting down the escaping good times happening inside.

Thanks for your understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Very adequate rooms at great prices. Think all the rooms have their own bathroom (inside the room) and some have a/c if you want it. TV's in the rooms also and internet and It is in the center of town and so very convenient to walk to shops and the ruins. The night hotel person was very welcoming and helpful with our many questions. You eat breakfast on the top level and so pleasant in the morning with fresh squeezed orange juice, fruit and more.

It's very clean and comfy.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
Thank lnny131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

While Rosa's Hotel has been around for a while in downtown San Ignacio, the new owner, Tony, has started refurbishing the rooms. And what a job he is doing. Our room was all done with mahogany! Beautiful furniture - the owner also owns a well known woodworking shop in town, and the quality shows. The lounge area had some nice and comfortable wooden seats, and a great view of downtown from 3 stories up.

A complimentary continental breakfast is always appreciated, and they offer that, as well as hot showers. It's a great value if you want to stay right in downtown San Ignacio. I was surprised that the night club next door, which has a loud system, wasn't annoying. Apparently they have soundproofed the club due to noise ordinances. Tony was a great source of information about what to do while in town. Even suggested great places to eat - try Glo's for their breakfast burritos.

I don't remember if they had a website, but their phone number is 804-2265, and they are only one block from the center of downtown. Yes, I would highly recommend this hotel to a friend who wanted to stay where all the action is at a great price!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrFeelAwesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

I stayed at Rosa's for the last two nights and recommend it to anyone traveling through the San ignacio area. The rooms were clean and comfortable and inexpensive and i got a free breakfast. The staff hooked me up with a few things to do around town and I even watched Monday Night Football last night with the owner. It was like staying with friends.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BelizeBritts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.5 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#8 of 33 in San Ignacio
659 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
699 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
141 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#3 of 14 in San Ignacio
841 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lower Dover
Lower Dover
#1 of 3 in Unitedville
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosa's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosa's Hotel

Address: # 65 Hudson Street, San Ignacio 50101, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Speciality Lodging in San Ignacio
Price Range: £32 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosas Hotel is located right downtown in walking distance of all shopping, tour guides, and restaurants/entertainment! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rosa's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosa's Hotel Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing