We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasure riding with Rod and Carla”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of St Leonard's Tours

St Leonard's Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$125.00*
and up
Private Caracol Tour from San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: St Leonard's Tours offers great private and personalized tours: Horse Riding, Archeological sites, Cave exploration, Cave Tubing and more. We have an adventure for all. Start with our horse riding tours and let our beautiful Appaloosa Horses take you on a safe & enjoyable adventure to Xunantunich, riding the countryside or simply just relax and enjoy a riding class; then take off on a thrilling adventure through jungle tours that will lead you to cave exploration or to enjoy a relaxing cool afternoon enjoying cave tubing; or embark on a thrilling adventure through rugged jungle terrain and explore a private cave, where only a few have walked the path and tell the tale of this epic cave system.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasure riding with Rod and Carla”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Last week, Rod guided my girlfriend who is a horse owner and myself (total novice) for a great ride to Xunantunich. The horses were very relaxed unless encouraged which was perfect for me. When my girlfriend wanted to let the reins loose the horses had no problem running. Rod has a wealth of information about the area, Maya, horses, and plants. Carla welcomed us and joined us across the ferry and also met us at the end with snacks and beverages. They live right there on the family farm with their children and are some of the friendliest people I have met in Belize. The new archaeology museum at Xunantunich is worth checking out, and the site is very accessible and un-crowed. Do yourself a favor and take the horse tour with St. Leondard's as I guarantee everyone walking to/from the ferry wishes they did.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LazyBush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla J, Owner at St Leonard's Tours, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
A pleasure and honor for St Leonard's to have shared your wonderful memory and we look forward to taking you riding again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Beautiful afternoon!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We went for an afternoon ride through the beautiful fields and jungle! The horses were lovely and really well looked after and it was just my boyfriend and I so felt very personal and we learnt lots of interesting for facts about the area, plants & food! Would highly recommend this for riders of all abilities. Thank you for a lovely day x

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CandiceMacleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla J, Owner at St Leonard's Tours, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Rod & I are very happy to know you both enjoyed your special occasion with us and wish you the best back home. We thank you for choosing us and hope you left with a sweet unforgettable memory of Belize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Excelent fun excursion.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Rudolfo, my guide was very knowledgable and shared lots of great interesting information. Him and his wife are very friendly and welcoming. I had a great time riding up to the ruins. The horses are very well trained and I would reccomend this excursion to anyone who wants a great outing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla J, Owner at St Leonard's Tours, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
St Leonard's is very happy to hear you enjoyed you horse riding with us. We try our best to make your adventure with us a great experience and let you experience a Belizean Countryside Hospitality, that all locals experience and something we offer to everyone alike. Every guest is special and with St Leonard's it is always about you and for you. We open the doors and share our most valuable pet horses and hope you will remember and want to come back to Belize. Your willingness and eagerness for new tastes and experiences makes it easier to look for something new to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize City
1 review
“A spectacular view of Belize you won't want to miss!!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

I was a Peace Corps Volunteer in Belize for two years and this is one side of Belize you won't want to miss. This once in a lifetime experience is ran by one of the most amazing families I've ever met. The love and dedication they have towards each other shows in their work and the way they run their business. The horses they have are all very well cared for and they will take the time to choose the right horse for you. The views out in western Belize are not to be missed and with the opportunity to see them on horseback, it just doesn't get any better than that folks!

Helpful?
Thank CitizenoftheWorld28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla J, Owner at St Leonard's Tours, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Spectacular indeed - during the dry months as well as the rainy months, our friends, guests get to enjoy a different but exclusive experience with our horse riding. St Leonard's takes care of arranging a unique but heartful welcome and tries its best to give you a safe, reliable and memorable adventure. You will always be welcome. You should try our early morning or full moon's night ride next time you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steubenville, Ohio
1 review
“Great horse riding experience”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Rudolfo and his family are so very welcoming and hospitable at their farm and home. He was a very interesting guide, we had so much fun crossing a river and seeing ruins and exotic animals. The horses are very well trained and so fun to be around. Rudolfo is a very experienced rider and guide. I would love to go again and again!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ewethje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla J, Owner at St Leonard's Tours, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
It is always a pleasure to have you enjoy St Leonard's Horse Riding. You are welcome to come and enjoy any of our early morning ride or late evening. With St Leonard's Horse Riding you do the booking we prepare your safe, reliable and enjoyable adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Leonard's Tours also viewed

 

Been to St Leonard's Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing