We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jungle boogie” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parrot Nest Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parrot Nest Lodge
Ranked #7 of 31 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Jungle boogie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was awesome! Place has a really intimite feel to it. Cabins are simple, but clean. It feels like you're in the middle of the jungle, with all the trees, noises, fireflies, frogs, bugs etc. Excellent food (breakfast and dinner, no lunch) also. You can jump in the river to cool off, but due to the current it isn't really suited for swimming. Owner Marcus will gladly take you tubing down the river though.
t's a 10 min taxi ride from town (a collectivo taxi is B$ 3-5 pp, ask locals where to take the bullet tree falls collectivo).
If you can't handle bugs or if you're looking for a party hostel or resort style luxury this may not be the place for you.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PapiEsteban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    65
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
75
171
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

My daughter, sister, brother-in-law and myself stayed at the lodge for 7 nights. It more than beat my expectations. My daughter and I stayed in Cabana 6 and absolutely loved it! Theo (pronounced Tayo) and Marcus made us all feel at home. It is very rustic and beautiful and an amazing place to stay. Theo is warm and welcoming. At dinner, which is absolutely amazing, she would ask if anyone needed any tours booked and by the time you are finished your delicious desert the tours were usually booked. Marcus took us tubing on the river a few times. The river moves fast enough to make it fun, but slow enough so it's not over too quickly. We watched iguanas and birds of all sorts as we tubed down the river. The sights and sounds of the jungle setting were all that I needed. By the time we left I felt like we were leaving friends. I miss them all and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The treehouses do not have their own bathrooms but are at the bottom of the stairs...just remember t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This lodge is a little hard to find but was worth the trip. We stayed in the tree houses only for one night. Pack light if you want the tree house as it is quite a climb up. The first step out of the room is an immediate drop so watch your step. This is right on the river, and the sounds of the birds in the morning was beautiful. There was too much loud music coming from the village, and could be a problem for light sleepers. A beautiful spot and the food was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

My family of four, along with my brother and his wife, recently completed a lovely 10 day vacation in Belize, capped off by an ideal 3-day stay at the Parrot Nest. Really can't say enough about how wonderful this place is. The lodge is beautifully situated on the blue Mopan River in a cool, shady tropical setting, with a range of small but comfortable and clean bungalows distributed next to an open-air central lodge area (with wi-fi) that's a great gathering place for talk, games, or music. The place is exceptionally well run by a personable and attentive staff, and a convenient meal plan is offered to accompany one's lodging. Tubes are available for relaxing floats down the river, which the lodge staff help organize and facilitate. Overall, it's a great hub for day-trips out into the Cayo District, and a welcome place to return to at the end of those days. This is not a top-end luxury lodge, and it doesn't try to be. But you'll feel rested and very well cared for at the end of your stay, and for the money, it can't be beat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just came back from a trip to Belize.
Traveling with the family (2 boys 9 and 11).
Started at Parrot Nest and loved everything about it.
Theo made us feel so welcome and helped plan our days.
Food was great.
Camaraderie on the porch, shared space.
Great home base for ruins, tubing, hikes, zip lines, etc.
River tubing right in front of the lodge.
Wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was my 2nd time staying at Parrot Nest and will continue to return :) This time I took my kids and they also loved it - we had Cabana 5 which was perfect for us. Food was great & the river was excellent to cool off in after a long hot day!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndiMcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed here for a few nights with my significant other. The positives included convenience of the meals that were offered, free tubing/swimming in the river, Parrots(!), friendly dogs, and a very clean and comfortable cabin. Even got daily maid service which was not totally expected.

Unfortunately, there were also a few negatives that left us disappointed. As other reviewers have mentioned, the bar across the river blasts music each night which really takes away from the Eco-lodge experience. Also, the meals seems quite pricey for what you actually get (small portions, no meat with breakfast). While they do taste very good, they definitely capitalize on the fact that you'd have to take a cab anywhere to get something else. Finally, I was disappointed with the almost too casual owners. When we first arrived it was like pulling teeth just to get a key and shown to our cabin. Don't expect a tour of the grounds or an overview of the policies (ex. sat around the first morning waiting for breakfast just to be told we were supposed to go to the kitchen and ask the cook to make us something). Additionally, while the owners have great local knowledge, despite the fact that we showed great interest in learning places to go/things to see, it was like a chore to have them tell us anything because they were too busy "going with the flow".

If we were to return to San Ignacio, we'd probably stay in town to avoid all the taxi rides to restaurants and the like.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dangle21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
5.0 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
2.8 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Maya Mountain Lodge
Maya Mountain Lodge
#6 of 31 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vanilla Hills Lodge
Vanilla Hills Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parrot Nest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Nest Lodge

Property: Parrot Nest Lodge
Address: Bullet Tree Falls | P.O Box 108, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Parrot Nest Hotel San Ignacio
Parrot Nest Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing