We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed review.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martha's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Martha's Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 31 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mixed review.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed at Martha's for five nights, and we were not overly impressed. It was hard to sleep due to the road noise, not the fault of the innkeepers, but something to be aware of before booking. Also, we had a room on the third floor, and the people in the only room above us on the fourth floor could be heard walking around late into the night. It seemed as though there was nothing in the ceiling to dampen the noise. There is a shuttle service to the airport in Belize City which was convenient, but having looked at other places in the area, we would not choose to stay here again. I see that this inn is listed as a B&B and I'm not sure why since no breakfast of any sort was offered other than for purchase in the restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    96
    22
    6
    12
See reviews for
38
102
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Our first night was rough. The shower broke, spewed water everywhere. It was too late to have anyone fix it. The management was a bit testy. A cockroach showed up, I think because the bathroom floor was full of water. They fixed the shower the next day and no more cockroaches showed up. The beds were very comfortable, the room was serviceable but not particularly comfortable or relaxing. Thank goodness for the balcony!
The hotel is located near two very busy streets and there is little, if any insulation. So very noisy. And you hear all the noise from anyone in the room above you.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a room away from the street on the top floor, but if so that would be the room to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here the night before leaving Belize after a two week trip. We had spent a week at a remote dive resort and a week at a remote jungle lodge so we stayed here in a town for a change. We also had no desire to stay in Belize City for our last night, so San Ignacio turned out to be a good alternative because it is only two hours by car from the airport at Belize City. The room was spacious, clean, and had abundant character. The Wi-Fi worked great in our room. The location was great for walking around the town. We had breakfast at the guest house which was good, but chose the nearby Belizean-fusion restaurant Fuego for dinner which was excellent for cocktails and food. It would be a good place to base out of for a longer stay if one did not want to stay in a remote jungle lodge and wanted access to excellent food and Wi-Fi.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Seawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

istayed christmas night . this was a very nice hotel. staff were friendly and helpful. the owners were working the desk. room was clean and every thing was as advertised. the price was good. downtown location was nice.
resturant was very good for breadfast and again the price was good.
would stay there again.
was on 3rd floor and gettin up and down stairs was sl difficult for me but i am older.

Room Tip: lower floors is dont like stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sea-mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Martha's is centrally located right next to the main square and very close to a lot of restaurants and shops. Rooms were very clean and spacious and tastefully decorated and very reasonably priced. Melody was very responsive to emails and she helped us with all our hotel and tour bookings.

Martha's also has a very nice restaurant with a great variety of items. They had a great breakfast and opened early on Christmas day, so we could quickly grab a bite before heading for the tours. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

The room was nice and clean, the hotel itself had great areas to relax and enjoy as well as a great balcony overlooking the road. It's literally one block over from the main street with all the restaurants and souvenir shops. The staff was very helpful. They rushed and had all our laundry washed in one day and it was very inexpensive. We didn't eat in the restaurant since there was such great food out on the streets but heard that it was good from everyone who had tried it. This was the best value of all the places we stayed in Belize.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chad Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

On balance Martha's is A1 with us. A resort hotel it is not, make no mistake. It is a small, extremely well-managed hotel in the heart of of town. Affordable and comfortable, the rooms vary in size and price. Management and ownership rest with Martha and John, who will always go out of their way to accommodate. (Their son is mayor of San Ignacio.) We have stayed at Martha's on annual visits with UVM students since 2007. Guest house restaurant serves excellent food. We highly recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: You will be comfortable in any of their rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wayanad14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.5 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
3.0 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#12 of 14 in San Ignacio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martha's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martha's Guesthouse

Property: Martha's Guesthouse
Address: 10 West Street | PO Box 140, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Martha's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martha`s Guesthouse Hotel San Ignacio
Martha's Guesthouse Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing