We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget option” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropicool Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tropicool Hotel
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good budget option”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We had the cabin with the screened porch which was nice to sit on, the bed was comfortable and the room clean. It was pretty chilly whilst we were there we wore our winter coats in the evening and it rained heavily on our first night. The hotel is in a good position and we spoke to the English owner both mornings of our stay and he gave us very useful information about crossing the border into Guatemala.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judybrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    33
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
24
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Simple and kind service, clean rooms and a nice laundry outdoor. And also super central as you are 50 mets away from main plaza and side by side with tour operators and restaurants. I definitively recommend it for any budget traveler staying in San Ignacio.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mustrengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forks, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I had a single room with queen bed for $15 US per night, and i was right next to the bathroom. The fan worked quite well and kept me cool, though it was noisy. The hotel is on the main drag, so be aware that you will hear the nightlife. Also, there are a couple noisy parrots upstairs, so bring your earplugs. The staff is friendly, and offer to let travelers handwash their clothing, which is a necessity if you are not a wealthy traveler. The queen bed was a little pokey with the springs, but i was comfortable and slept well (perhaps b/c of the earplugs). I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Spring for the extra $5 and choose the queen bed (room 2) if it is avail. It has two windows and is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmincarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed in one of the bungalows. It was vey clean and worked perfect for us. Great value for a private room and bathroom. While we did not stay in the shared section of the hotel it seemed very clean as well. Rosa was very friendly and accommodating. Great location off the 'main strip'.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna_K22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

I recently stayed 1 night at the Tropicool and found it quite adequate. My room was a downstairs double with 2 windows and a ceiling fan...and it was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the shared bath in the hall was clean...and it cost me a cool $15US. Fancy, it is not, but it's located next to the mainstreet (Burns Ave,) so it's close to the restaurants and bars. We were there on a Saturday night, so some noise from evening merriment did drift in, but not enough to bother my sleep. The woman who was working there (sorry, I forgot your name) pointed us to a local Belizean food restaurant (forgot that name too) about a block to the left after leaving their back gate...and it was excellent, very tasty, good portions, and immaculately clean. Go there!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_V_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

The Tropicool Hotel is not fancy, but the room was very clean, and the shared bathrooms were acceptably clean. It's right on the main, pedestrian street in San Ignacio, so there are lots of restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. It was a little noisy from the nightlife, but it didn't bother us at all.
As backpackers, we especially appreciated the outdoor laundry area with water and clotheslines in the sun. After a day at the ATM cave, they came in very useful!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GretaZ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
174 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

It is right in the middle of town, next to restaurants and points of interests. We arrived on a holiday, which meant music and party until night! Not a chance to sleep, but it was a great feeling anyway.
We had the cabin on the highest floor, a tidy comfortable room; the bathroom is ok (I didn't really love the carpet in front of the toilet though), and the outside veranda was also very handy.
WE found the price to be really good.
The only thing that annoyed us was this: we asked if we could live our luggage for the day we checked out, and come pick it up later. The guy at the shop said no problem, he'd take it down later. Now, we had a very big and heavy suitcase... which the maid had to carry down. If we knew, we would have done it, we didn't expect her to have to do it. Of course she got tipped, but the damage was done, and I would have liked him to not say "I will" instead of "she will"...
Apart from that, all went well, also the tour operator they suggested us (Pacs) turned out to be very good, so I am happy of this choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nini_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.4 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.0 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#12 of 14 in San Ignacio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rumors Resort
Rumors Resort
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicool Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicool Hotel

Property: Tropicool Hotel
Address: 30 Burns Avenue, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropicool Hotel has an away feeling even though it is only one block from the center of town. The property, which stretches between Burns Avenue and West Street, is dotted with flowering plants and fruit trees: guava, banana, plantain, lime, custard apple and more -- which add shade and coolness to the place. There are rooms with shared bathrooms, outside there are three individual cabins with private bath and cable TV, offering a little more privacy. Everything is meticulously clean from the outdoor sitting area to the bathrooms. This family-run hotel is well-established and includes a nicely stocked gift shop. Inside the hotel there is a bulletin board with helpful information on tours and activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tropicool Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicool Hotel Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing