We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely amazing luxurious resort in the jungle of Belize.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ka'ana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ka'ana Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing luxurious resort in the jungle of Belize.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

I still miss the ginger and lime daiquiris. Drinks by the pool. The ah.maz.ing food. This hotel really had it all and it had some world class service. Close to severa, adventure activites in Belize and Guatemala. Tikkal was awesome, but swimming into the ATM cave was just unforgettable. The hotel provided the best guides and we had a blast. After our morning adventure we would "rest" by the pool with cool tropical drinks. Dinner was always great and they arranged a private fantasy dinner created for us by the chef that was spectacular. The rooms were great. Love the homemade shampoos and lotion. I would have stolen some if I could have. And have I mentioned the spa? Stay here for the location to the sites. Stay here for the food. Stay here for the world class service. Just stay here!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TR_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    72
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
123
498
22
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
378 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

We travel a lot. We have experienced great places and places trying to be great. Ka'ana is in a class by itself, especially for service...nowhere else, no matter how much we have paid, matches the service of Ka'ana. There are many comments already here about how great this resort is...so we will not repeat them. We will focus on the unique aspects of our experience:

Dining: Ask for what you want! If they have the ingredients, they will happily make it for you and make it better than you have likely had elsewhere. We started out ordering standard items from the menu...but by the end of our stay we were experimenting with all kinds of custom orders, all prepared better than expected. We discovered this because for some reason there are no salads on the dinner menu, only on the lunch menu...so we started inventing salads, and extended our requests from there.

Excursions: We prebooked one excursion with Pacz tours before arriving. Mistake! We booked three tours directly with the resort, and while the prices were competitive, there was little comparison in quality. With the hotel booked tours, all conveniences were anticipated and provided for...snacks, towels, etc. With the third party tour, it was "fend for yourself". Ka'ana contracts with an excellent team of guides...ask for Francisco if you can get him. He makes your experience feel so smooth and natural, but you know he is always thinking about how to adjust to your tastes...a top professional. He told us he guided Gene Simmons (of TV and Kiss fame) the previous week who also stayed at this resort. We are sure whoever made the decision to select Francisco for the Simmons group knew they should select the best.

Tours: Cave tubing and Guatemalan Tikal tours are a must!

Room Tip: Book a casita.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValVil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us at Ka'ana! I love that you were able to experience first-hand how personal and customized we work to make your stay in Belize and at the resort. It really is all about giving you your once-in-a-lifetime experience. Thank you again and all the best for your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

Let me start by saying I never write reviews, but our stay a Ka'ana was so amazing I want to share. We spent 4 days in a Casita and enjoyed a couple of days on personalized adventures. I don't know what to complement first, the amazing fresh food, our amazing room that was always magically freshened up after we left for dinner or a day tour, the personalized tours where we learned so much about the country and culture, or the amazing staff that made our stay so pleasant. My only complaint is that there is not a ka'ana resort on San Pedro, while Victoria House was lovely (we stayed there while in San Pedro) all other resorts will now pale in comparison. We hope to return some day to this amazing resort.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ck_arcuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianlizarraga, Owner at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
What a pleasure it was to read your review of your time in Belize and at Ka'ana! Thank you so much for your very kind words...we loved having you with us and it really makes us very happy to know that your experience was everything you hoped it would be and more. Yes, please do come back..we'd love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

I recently stayed for 2 days at Ka'ana after spending some time at Placencia at the Turtle Inn and other local properties. Ka'ana is at a whole different level of superior service, quality of the food and ability to immerse guests in one of the most memorable experiential travel experienices out there. The details you see in the room, architecture and interior design that is very modern yet not out of place shows high attention to detail by hotel managers. The candlelights in the walkways at night, wine cellar and fireplace at the restaurant were unexpected details that amazed me. I wish the entire country would rise to the level of quality, service and experience offered by Ka'ana. On the last day I visited the Actun Tunichil Muknal caves in a personalized tour... it was one of the most amazing experiences that I have done in my life. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: casitas
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adriangs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianlizarraga, Owner at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Thank you so much for your very kind words about your experience at Ka'ana. "Memorable experiential travel" exactly describes what we feel we're mandated to provide to our guests and I think it's incredible that you wrote that. It was a pleasure hosting you and we wish you only the best for your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

We decided to come to Belize to see Mayan ruins when our Egypt vacation was cancelled. The hotel is the perfect location for many of the Mayan sites, minutes away from San Ignacio, and is truly an oasis for relaxation and delicous food & drink after long touring days to the various ruins and ATM cave destinations. The spa services were first class as well. The hotel offers so much for such a small, boutique resort. The staff couldn't be more service oriented and little touches made the difference throughout our stay. Our expectations were exceeded that is for sure! We did use the hotel to arrange some of our tours, but arranged our own for the ATM tour with a company in town. The tours offered by the hotel are more expensive, but we found out first hand that you get what you pay for. If you expect a cleaner/better vehicle, with working seat belts, and better tour guides, personalized to your expected pace, use the hotel to arrange your day.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travelKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianlizarraga, Owner at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Thank you for giving your feedback on your experience here in Belize and at Ka'ana. I think your review was perfectly on point, especially about the touring options and I'm glad you were still able to experience another culture and history even thought your original travel plans were canceled. Thank you again and all the best with your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex County, NJ
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

My wife, 9 year-old son, 3 year-old daughter, and myself just finished a 3-night stay at Ka'ana. Magnificent, truly magnificent.

When we arrived at the resort, Fallon (guest service manager) greeted us by name as we exited the car. That, in and of itself, speaks volumes. Customer service is the number one concern of the staff at Ka'ana, and it showed in every way. This is a 15-room boutique property, and they seemingly get to know their guests' every want before and during their stays.

The casita we stayed in was very nice, with amp,e room for 2 queens beds and a rollaway bed for our daughter. The cable tv worked perfectly well, the A/C was great, and the bathroom was once and large. The staff lit candles on the porch each night, which really added to the ambience.

The restaurant was phenomenal. The food was outstanding and the staff was very patient and attentive. Fallon had asked me prior to our stay what type of cereal my kids like, and lo and behold it was available each morning! The vegetables were fresh, the fruit was delicious, and the red snapper can not be beat! However you want your food prepared, so be it.

The property is pretty, small and set in a nice location. The only negative is that it is road-side so the sound of cars and trucks is noticeable. Otherwise, the foliage and scenery is quite relaxing. My wife loved the spa and her treatments, and the bar is chic and groovy.

Now, on to the tours. We did the ATM tour and the trip to Tikal. The best thing about Ka'ana tours is that they are private. Yes, you pay a bit more. But well worth it! Do yourself a favor - venture into ATM. This is once-in-a-lifetime and you will greatly enjoy every minute. And Tikal is a must-do. Wilbur was great, getting us across the border and into the park. He handed us off to a nice local guide, a fellow named Mario who was very knowledgeable about Tikal and the Maya.

All-in-all, Ka'ana exceeded our expectations. The resort is great, but it is the service that makes this place stand out. We plan on visiting again some day. Do yourself a favor - stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nershi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianlizarraga, Owner at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
I'm so glad your stay exceeded your expectations and I can't say thank you enough for taking the time to share your thoughts here. It's great that you got to experience ATM & Tikal- two of our favorites. Please know that it was our pleasure having you and your family with us and we would love having you with us again. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

Wow, what a weekend! My boyfriend and I just got back from a short getaway at Ka'ana Boutique Resort in Belize, and can not wait to go right back! We are an active couple who enjoy a good mix of luxury and adventure on our vacations. Without a doubt, Ka'ana was the perfect fit for us. A+++ They have amazing staff... pleasant, happy, and accommodating. Our room was clean and luxurious, yet comfortable and personal. The best part of everything was the proximity to anything and everything we wanted to do. The restaurant, the spa, and the jungle outside. All in all a great trip. We will be back again for sure!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ameliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianlizarraga, Owner at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Thank you for your review! We would love to have you again and look forward to helping you plan your return trip to Belize. Thank you again for your kind words and all the best for your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.3 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
9.6 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
3.5 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
3.0 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'ana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'ana Resort

Property: Ka'ana Resort
Address: Mile 69 1/4 George Price Highway, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ka'ana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ka'ana Resort is Belize's first Small Luxury Hotel of the World. True to its Mayan name 'Ka'ana' meaning, 'heavenly place,' this delightful resort, set in tropical gardens, offers exceptional accommodation in charming cottages with fine dining, superb service and easy access to ancient Mayan sites and numerous thrilling activities. Enjoy the best of Belize - its people, its food, and its attractions at a world class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ka'ana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Ana Boutique Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel Ka Ana Boutique
Ka'Ana Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing