We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Paradise”
Review of Ka'ana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ka'ana Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2012

If there is anything that will make your vacation more pleasant, Ka'ana will make every effort to serve you. They specialize in details that make your stay especially enjoyable. The facilities are first class but they don't tell the whole story. Your arrival begins with a resort representative greeting you with a cool scented hand towel and a tropical drink while you register in the comfortable lobby area. Later, there is a brief orientation with a sample from their wine cellar. You will catch up to your luggage in your room where fresh flowers a wait you. The entire staff from lanscapers to management will always give you a personal greeting day or night. The nightly "turn down" service includes the room being given a little cleaning and a surprise treat in your mini bar in addition to lights softly lit and candles burning. Upon asking, we were driven to town and picked up when called. Dining a Ka'ana is unique and excellent. They have a garden from which they get most of the vegetables served in their indoor and outdoor dining areas. Additionally, give the San Ignacio restaurants of Hanna's and/or Erva's a chance to show you the local dining. Our excursion to Xunantunich, zip lining/cave tubing, and Tical (arranged by the resort) were punctual and at our personal pace. The guides were outstanding.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rms11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Thank you for your review! I love that you enjoyed the night treats. We do too because a lot of them are treats we grew up eating in Belize but just done with a twist :) On behalf of the entire Ka'ana team, please know it was a sincere pleasure having you with us and we're truly happy you were able to have an amazing Belize experience. Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
There are newer reviews for Ka'ana Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2012

Ka'ana made our first trip to Belize a smooth, awesome experience. My husband found a great deal on Jetsetter and saw the positive online reviews on Ka'ana, so we immediately booked a 3 night stay. From the moment we booked the trip, Ka'ana had impeccable service. They emailed a confirmation and welcome and assured us that someone would be at the airport in Belize City to pick us up for the two hour drive back to the resort.

The driver had a clear sign with our names right outside the airport, and the drive was comfortable and smooth. Our driver was professional and knowledgeable about the area. Once we got to the hotel, we were greeted with delicious ginger lime drinks and our bags carried to our rooms. Juliet, the manager, led us to our room and gave us some time to rest, as it was already almost 7 PM. We stayed in a Casita King suite, and the room was fabulous. There were fresh flowers in the room and bathroom, and it was even more beautiful than the pictures on the website! We met back with Juliet and she poured us some drinks in the wine cellar while giving us an orientation. We had dinner at the La Cieba restaurant at the resort, and it was delicious. Service was outstanding, and our package included free local alcoholic beverages. Definitely try all of the mixed drinks, they are wonderful!

The next morning we met up with our horseback riding guide, Santiago. We had a horseback riding session included in our package, We combined this with a ride to Xunantunich Mayan ruins. Santiago was very friendly and we rode our horses through beautiful farmlands. We dismounted to cross the river with our horses on a ferry! Then we continued the ride to the ruins. There, we were met with Eduardo, our Xunantunich guide. He also happened to be one of the archaeologists who helped excavate the ruins, so he gave us a very informative tour! We also did a ziplining and cave tubing tour, which are located in the same park. Our guide for that day, Lazario, was outstanding. He made sure that we knew the details of ziplining and cave tubing, as we had never done it before. I mention all this because Ka'ana hooks you up with the best tour guides. They are very informed and passionate about sharing their region and culture. All tours through Ka'ana are private, so you will never be combined into a group of strangers. I do feel that our tours offered an experience that surpass most bulk tour packages that are available. We felt comfortable with our itinerary and our tour guides who really tailored our experience to happen in our own time.

The service at Ka'ana is top notch. Every staff member was friendly and seemed genuinely happy to have us as their guests. The restaurant was awesome. We got something different for breakfast everyday, and our servers were very helpful in making selections. One of our servers, Errin, was especially friendly and entertaining. He made excellent suggestions for lunch and made sure we always had a drink on hand.

Dining was truly five-star with authentic ingredients and dishes served in a very classy way, very well prepared and well presented. There is plenty of room to eat and drink outside. Early in the morning it is misty and the wild birds are out. It is quiet and the air is so clean and refreshing. At night, there is always a fire pit with tea candles lighting the pathways and tables. The amount of space that we had to ourselves were arranged in such a way that we could easily meet other guests if we wanted but we were always able to tuck ourselves away in an area where we could feel like we were alone. With the number of rooms available, it is obvious that the resort space was designed this way, Whether we wanted to sit and eat in the restaurant, outside near the fire pit, on the balconies, near the infinity pool, or even in our own room or courtyard. Everything can be tailored to your liking there, from the personalized tours, to the beautiful grounds with infinity pool and spa and yoga classes, even the food and drink options available.

They also have vans available to take you to town if you choose to see San Ignacio downtown. Two nights, my husband and I wanted to try restaurants in town, so the staff gave us courtesy rides. Their suggestions on where to eat in town were spot on.

Our room was cleaned twice daily. Every night, when we were out at dinner, someone would come in to clean up and light candles in the room for our return. The grounds are beautiful at night, tea candle lit pathways and lanterns hanging from the trees complimented the beautiful clear starlit skies We also had some yummy treats waiting for us in the fridge every night. The bed was very comfortable, and the grounds quiet at night, so we had a good night's sleep every night. The staff here go out of their way to introduce themselves and make sure you have everything you want. This includes the maintenance staff that are always out meticulously sweeping the walkways.

Our departure was also very easy and smooth, with a clear list of charges given to you the night before for you to review. They also asked us to fill out comment cards with specific instructions to be "ultra-critical". The level of detail and professionalism was taken farther than anywhere else we have been. This includes all staff not only residing behind the guest counter or dining table or bar stool, but also the ones who behind the wheel driving us or the ones behind us sweeping the pathways or manicuring the shrubs.

They also scheduled our ride to leave 4 hours before our flight. I would definitely recommend staying at Ka'ana for anyone who wants to see a beautiful country in a relaxed and luxurious manner. The cost is well worth the experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your travel experience to Belize & Ka'ana! I love the amount of detail you included and that you were able to experience all the elements of what we think is an unforgettable Belize vacation. On behalf of the entire Ka'ana family, Thank you again. We loved having you with us and wish you all the best on your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The staff was wonderful! Always catering to our every needs and very proactive in that regard. The staff went above and beyond and always with a smile. The property is beautifully kept and our casita was amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IMcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna E, Owner at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to Ka'ana! It's important that our guests feel cosseted and that their needs are anticipated so I'm very happy that this was the experience you had. All the best on your future travels and thank you again on behalf of the Ka'ana family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We just returned from a two-week family vacation to Belize. Spending a week in San Ignacio and a week in Placencia. We selected Ka'Ana based on my research on Trip Advisor and once again T.A. did not dissapoint. We stayed the week before Christmas and although the resort was completely booked, it never felt full and the staff treated us as if we were the only people staying at the resort. We are a family of 5 with 3 kids and the staff took care us of from the moment we arrived. Everything you read on TA is true. By the end of our first day, I think every member of the staff had come by introduced themselves and made us feel right at home. Here is a first hand-break down of the important things you need to know when considering Ka'Ana.

The Resort and Rooms: The property is laid out very well with several duplex type connecting rooms spread out along the pathways as well as several more in one of the main buildings just above the swimming pool (the Spa building). We stayed in two-connecting rooms just below the pool. Each night the staff line the pathways with candles, put fresh flowers in your room and leave a little desert surprise in your fridge. The rooms and overall condition of the property are on par with any resort. To pull this off in the middle of the jungle is impressive to say the least.

Room tip: If possible, I would request one of the connecting rooms along the pathway. The resort is right next to the main road and there are times when you hear the cars passing. I did not hear any in our room(s), just when out by the fire pit. The rooms above the pool are closer to the fire pit so I suspect you could hear some traffic noise.

Food and Bar: The service we received was bar none better than anything we had experienced elsewhere and we are fairly seasoned travelers. The food was excellent at every meal but what set the meals apart was, again, the service. Both Amir at the bar and Errin our main server made us feel like family. They take care of you that well. By the end of day 2, Amir knew my drink and whenever we returned from an excursion all you had to do was give him a nod and a nice cold adult beverage would be waiting for you at the bar. For me, that is quality service.

Food tip1; We ordered off the Tapa's menu on several occasions as the dinner menu is really a full course meal and we are not foodies enough to handle all that food. The staff will be happy to prepare anything from the Tapa's or lunch menu for dinner you just need to let them know early enough so they set aside whatever you want at dinner. We did this on several occasions and it was awesome. We would order the sliders, nacho's, taco's and pizza and just let them know what time we wanted to eat. The food and our drinks would be waiting for us everytime. A great idea if you have kids with you.

Excusrions: We had only one excusrion planned before our arrival. This was a horseback riding trip to the Xunantunich ruins and was one of the highlights of our two weeks in Belize. We also did Tikal, cave tubing and the Mountain Pine Ridge tour. Desorine handled all these for us seamlessly and with private expert guides each time. She really is an exceptional host. Each night she would stop by our table to check in on our trip that day and make sure we were all prepared for the next day's adventure. She went out of her way on several ocassions to address our issues. On our cave tubing day, she learned there would be cruise ship travelers at the caves. She called our guides and moved our trip to a few hours later in the morning. When we arrived at the caves we were met by a large number of tour vans leaving with the cruise folks. We literally had the caves all to ourselves. She did the same thing on our horseback riding trip to Xunantunich. What really set her apart was her attention to us as we planned our trip to Guatamal and the Tikal ruins. I had read several posts about the dangers of traveling to Tikal and i expressed my concerns with her. She had the head guide at the resort come by and talk to me about thier excursion. He not only addressed all our concerns, he actually accompanied us on the trip! On our last night at the resort , after dinner, Desorine brought us S'mores for the kids at the fire pit and a Belizian liqour for the adults. As noted by others, it is these little things that set Ka'Ana far far apart from the rest.

I cannot say enough nice things about the folks at Ka'Ana, they understand what it takes to set themselves apart from the rest, truly an exceptional stay and I would not hesitate to recommend Ka'Ana to anyone thinking of an escape to the San Ignacio area. We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therealbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna E, Owner at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Thanks so much for such a detailed and expressive review of your time at Ka'ana. I'm thrilled that we met and exceeded your expectations and were able to provide a once-in-a-lifetime travel experience for your family. That's what we're all about and nothing is more rewarding than knowing our team was able to achieve that. Thank you again and best of luck on all your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Ka'ana has been a wonderful experience for my husband and me. We got married with their help at Xunantunich and it went wonderfully. We've been here for 5 nights with one night left and we're going to be sorry to leave. They dedicate their time to making your experience as personal as possible and everyone is very friendly. The travel experiences have been awesome (we have been to Xunantunich, Tikal, cave tubing, and zip lining.) Erin and Desiree are our favorites, but everyone here has bent over backwards for our every wish. Thank you very much for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in casita #6.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nedele16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

This is one of the better though out hotels I have stayed at period. The owners understand that it is the little things that elevate them above the rest. Starting with fresh flowers in the room everyday to candles lining the pathways at night. Every dish on the menu is excellent. Quite simply a great experience for anyone looking to escape.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Lance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We had a 4 night stay at Ka'ana for our honeymoon and made the booking based on tripadvisor reviews. Overall it was quite nice. The welcome was warm and friendly and the room neat and clean. The staff were really delightful and the food excellent. We did have a few minor complaints that sound pretty insignificant but annoyed us slightly considering the cost of the room per night.

We stayed in one of the five Balam suites situated in the one building. Unfortunately, we could hear everything that was happening in rooms next to us - talking, TV, showers and the outdoor patio areas are part of the walkway to the other rooms so not terribly private. Ours also faced the highway which wasn't all that noisy as some people have stated but there was a car parked on the other side of the fence which would be turned on around 6am and blare the radio for 10-15 minutes before it drove off. Not a problem for us early risers but could be a pain for others.

They do add on a service charge and this bumps the price up on things if you're not expecting it, they also leave a section for a tip on the bill on top of this. Although the service was great, we felt it was a bit excessive to ask for both. We booked through Expedia which included a continental breakfast. The hotel didn't have record of this and on our first breakfast the manager was called to come and talk to us - we had a print out of our reservation so it was sorted fairly easily but we felt a bit silly pulling it out in front of the other people at the restaurant!

The housekeeping and turn down service was a little bit hit and miss but was rectified with a call to the front office. I think the thing that really annoyed us was the bill for $4.50 USD for a 2 minute local call. There was nothing in the room to outline phone charges and we even had to get connected via the front desk and nothing was mentioned. Google tells me a 10 minute call between two cities in Belize is $1USD. Anyway, not a big deal but annoying all the same.

Overall, we had a nice time here. Would we stay again if we went back to Belize? Probably not.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank lprt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.3 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
634 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,229 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
434 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
384 reviews
3.0 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'ana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'ana Resort

Address: Mile 69 1/4 George Price Highway, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#6 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range: £158 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ka'ana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ka'ana Resort is Belize's first Small Luxury Hotel of the World. True to its Mayan name 'Ka'ana' meaning, 'heavenly place,' this delightful resort, set in tropical gardens, offers exceptional accommodation in charming cottages with fine dining, superb service and easy access to ancient Mayan sites and numerous thrilling activities. Enjoy the best of Belize - its people, its food, and its attractions at a world class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ka'ana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Ana Boutique Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel Ka Ana Boutique
Ka'Ana Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing