We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding of a Lifetime” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ka'ana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ka'ana Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding of a Lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Just returned from 9 nights in which Ka'ana planned and orchestrated our wedding at the nearby Xunantunich ruin with the private wedding meal back at the resort. What a beautiful and perfect stay. They treated all of us (my sister, friend, and 2-year-old niece stayed for 4 nights to attend the wedding) like family. A friend of mine commented when we returned that it looked like we had been in Belize for months before our wedding to plan all of the integrate details. In fact, it was the kind attention to detail and warm staff that made our stay and wedding day a perfect experience. Patricia, Onil, and Oscar truly stand out and when we looked out while saying our wedding vows and saw these three in attendance, it was like our friends were there for us. We enjoyed all the food (Mirsa, Henry, and Jenifer were amazing), spa amenities, and pool. We can't wait to return to Belize and stay at Ka'ana again with our parents when our baby is born.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    69
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
116
486
21
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

The rooms and staff were fantastic. The surrounding area is beautiful, plenty of trees and the garden is great, however, it is right next to a road which can be heard at all times. We were told it was in the jungle by our travel agent, therefore we were expecting it to be removed from the road by more than a hedge and 100m. The food at the resort was good, but the price was far to high. The resort restaurant was the only place within walking distance to eat, therefore, you are left with either hiring a taxi or eating at the resort which is extremely expensive. We paid for the resort/meal package, however when we arrived, we were told that we had only paid for the resort, therefore we were charged for the food a second time. In the end our travel agent and the manager at Ka'ana worked it out and we were credited back our money. Although this really doesn't seem like that big of a deal, it was aggravating and annoying that it was not worked out prior to our arrival. All and all, it was a nice place, the staff was helpful and accommodating. I doubt a better staff could be found in Belize, they really make your happiness their first priority. That being said, everything seemed overpriced, from the excursions (which were private) to the food. I probably would not recommend this hotel, there are hotels in the area that are very nice, cheaper, as far/further from a road, and closer to St. Ignacio.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
287 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

The cabins are surrounded with trees, plants, birds and butterflies. Our room welcomed us with lots of flowers. The meals were all delicious; wish we had stayed more than 3 nights to enjoy all the menu. For our first dinner, the outside table was set for our party, under the trees, with a fire pit. The pool is small but pretty.
This is a high budget hotel, but they do have a lot of employees.
My only problem with this lovely place is that I´m used to black out curtains and the blinds in our room allowed the sunlight in al 6:30. If you´re like me, bring your sleeping mask.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RicherTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Just got back from spending 5 nights at Ka'ana. The resort grounds are impeccably taken care of and neither of us have ever encountered a staff so polite, gracious and welcoming. From the moment we arrived, it was clear our happiness was their priority.

Seems like many people use resorts in the area as a jumping off point for excursions (we did three excursions) but we also spent two days just at Ka'ana vegging out. I suggest leaving yourself a little time to relax -- the resort, albeit small, is very relaxing.

Oscar took care of us by the pool, quick to get us drinks, snacks and extra towels as we needed. He was great.

We also enjoyed having the Ka'ana van available to us most times (probably 65% of the time) we needed a ride to town, saving us a taxi fare.

We did three excursions: ATM, Cahal Pech and Xunantunich. Of the three, we did them all different ways. ATM we booked through Ka'ana. Cahal Pech we did on our own. Xunantunich we booked through a tour group in town. To be honest, I think we nailed the right way to do it. Any tours you book through Ka'ana will be private, and to have a private guide in the cave was great -- we could go at our pace on the hike and through the cave. It really added to the experience. Sadly, we talked with another couple who did ATM and had a really mediocre experience -- they went with a large group and there was a woman who had just had hip replacement surgery in their group. The group constantly had to wait for her, making it uncomfortable and awkward. If you can only spring for one expensive tour, do this one through Ka'ana...


Here are the two things that took this from a 5-star to 4-star experience:

Restaurant: Sadly, when we arrived the restaurant was out of red wine and didn't have it restocked until our trip had almost ended. In Belizian heat, I can understand it's hard to keep wine, but we were disappointed that a resort that boasts the largest wine cellar in Belize couldn't sell us a bottle of red with out meal.

Also, we found the quality of the restaurant to be fair, not great. Our breakfasts were wonderful, but our dinner was a bit light. For the prices (certainly the most expensive meal we ate in Belize by at least double), we thought portions would have been a bit more generous. The fish was delightfully light and fresh, but was lost in one of our entrees as it was smothered with cheese to the point that you could hardly find the fish.

Prices: Ka'ana basically charges double for food, excursions, airline transfers. For excursions, you're ensuring a private tour, so there's a positive. For food, the quality was a bit better that stuff in town, but not worth double the price. I understand paying more for better quality, but over the course of the trip, it became grating to know that we were overpaying for everything.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohthatlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Had a great stay at Ka'Ana this past March. We stayed in the one bed villa and were lucky enough to find we would be attended to by Marco who spent our visit making sure we were very comfortable. We did a couple of excursions; cave tubing which was fun and educational, then a horse ride to the Mayan ruins about an hours ride away. Both times we were well taken care of by Eddie who was booked by the hotel.

The hotel is super relaxed and quiet. The food at the hotel is good. Their breakfast was probably the tastiest.

Room Tip: The one bed villa is totally secluded, has twin outdoor showers (as well as ones inside) and a '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArunAmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maassluis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We got married in Belize last month and during the wedding we stayed at Ka'ana. We really enjoyed our time over there and it was amazing to see how lovely the people are from Ka'ana. They were really supportive with helping us during the wedding day and gave us a very romantic dinner at night in the beautiful garden of Ka'ana. We were so lucky we stayed over there during our wedding because they are so good with weddings! We got married at the beautiful Xunantunich (Mayan ruin) which is very close to Ka'ana and our day went perfect, no even better than perfect! We definitely recommend Ka'ana if you want your wedding in Belize.
We honestly think Ka'ana is the best of the best. There is nothing like Ka'ana!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We just stay here for a few days to enjoy the jungle before heading to the beach. What we liked:
the staff, the food, and the guides (we had an awesome guide for Tikal and Xuanawich, and loved Santiago for our horse back riding adventure. What we did not like - the fact that we had bought a package from Jetsetter that included local drinks and they pretty much refused to give us "local" drinks that were included without asking several times that they include these so it was a surprise to have such a large bill at the end of my stay. They are also next to the road which is really distracting and annoying. It is a heavy highway and it is constantly busy so keep that in mind. Nice place but needs a little more attention (i.e. noise blocking fence).

Room Tip: If riding horses ask for Santiago and if going to Tikal ask for Rick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
9.8 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.4 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'ana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'ana Resort

Property: Ka'ana Resort
Address: Mile 69 1/4 George Price Highway, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ka'ana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ka'ana Resort is Belize's first Small Luxury Hotel of the World. True to its Mayan name 'Ka'ana' meaning, 'heavenly place,' this delightful resort, set in tropical gardens, offers exceptional accommodation in charming cottages with fine dining, superb service and easy access to ancient Mayan sites and numerous thrilling activities. Enjoy the best of Belize - its people, its food, and its attractions at a world class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ka'ana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Ana Boutique Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel Ka Ana Boutique
Ka'Ana Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing