We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treated like celebrities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ka'ana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ka'ana Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Treated like celebrities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed at Ka' ana as our first of 2 resorts on our Honeymoon for 3 nights on May 14. I simply cannot say enough good praise about our experience. They truly made our Honeymoon the most special and memorable trip of our newly married lives. I have told everyone who will listen that if they go to Belize this the place to stay!

The debate was that my husband wanted to stay near the ocean to SCUBA dive and I wanted to see Tikal. The compromise was 3 nights in San Igancio and 4 nights in St. George's Caye. We wish we spent more time in San Ignacio at Ka'ana. The 2 hour drive from Belize City was completely worth it when we arrived.

We booked through their website and the confirmations and follow-up was great. They had a special going where we could get a 4th night free, but since we could not take advantage of that special, we were told (upon availability) we could be upgraded. When we arrived the staff greeted us with yummy refreshing lime drinks. I had asked about the possibly upgrading us, pursuant to earlier conversations, and they had already done it! Needless to say we were feeling scummy and tired from our trip (from CA) and they efficiently checked us in and took us to our room where our bags were already waiting along with a beautiful fruit plate and chocolate dipping sauce. I was in pig heaven!

The air-conditioning was great (I only truly appreciated it until we spent time at the second resort on a Caye that had terrible AC) as well as the posh amenities. Anything you can think of/want was available - the room had romantic candles, soft cotton robes, private porch, umbrellas, cotton balls, q-tips, amazing shampoo/conditioner (my hair never had it so good) that they make, organic soap, comfy bed, and 2 bottles of filtered water everyday are just a few of the cool things that I can remember. Oh, and every night they left a yummy surprise in the fridge!

In the evening because we were tired we decided to eat at the restaurant in the resort and being foodies - we highly recommend!! The next evening we went into town to taste some of the local fare and was disappointed in comparison to the food at the resort. Needless to say we ate at the resort the following evening. Every meal from breakfast to dinner was organic and amazing. In fact, I loved our pork chop so much, I asked if the chef would provide the recipe. Just before (sadly) leaving the resort, the chef kindly gave us the recipe that he had typed up just for us (the secret was that he brined it for 3 days!). OH, did I mention they have a wine cellar?!?!

Most people take excursions during the day, so the resort is somewhat quiet and serene. We spent the day at the resort when our tour accidentally (by the tour company) forgot about us and it ended up being one of the best days of our entire Honeymoon - epitomizing a lush vacation. We booked afternoon massages, chilled in and by the relaxing salt water pool before going to the spa, Oscar brought drinks and menus where we ordered and ate our lunch at the poolside. We spent the evening touring the organic garden and having our own private dinner on the patio near the bar (which has awesome drinks).

From the staff, Jennifer, Tatiana, and Oscar, to the impeccable grounds and accommodations - without hesitation we recommend staying at Ka'ana when you vacation in Belize! We will certainly be staying there in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed near the pool, but I don't believe there are any bad accommodations at Ka'ana beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Melinda,

On behalf of the entire Ka'ana team, thank you so much for your kind words and wonderful review of your time in San Ignacio and at Ka'ana! We really appreciate that you took the time out to share your feedback, but even more so, we are thrilled that your honeymoon was as special as it was. Stay tuned for another yummy recipe from our chef and perhaps the next time you come to visit you'll be showing him a thing or two in the kitchen as well :)

Thank you again and please accept our best wishes for all your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    69
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
117
486
21
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belize City, Belize
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

I stayed here for two nights with some friends and we had a blast. Friendly staff and the service is great. The room was clean, spacious and at the end of the day there was a little treat left for us.

Cocktails at the bar is a must and do not leave without giving the sweet corn colada a try. We also had dinner at the restaurant the first night and it was AH MAZING! We ordered different appetizers & entrees so everyone can try and did not disappoint. They also include fresh ingredients from their organic garden.

Thank you Ka'ana for a wonderful trip and overall, I definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KM13bz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for your review! It's very good to know that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and that the cocktails and food did not disappoint. Please know that it was such a pleasure having you here with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back to Ka'ana. Thank you again for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Although hard to find driving (as there are very few street signs in all of Belize) this remotely located paradise was worth the drive. The grounds are meticulous, lush and beautiful. The restaurant was spectacular, serving local cuisine that was absolutely delicious. The staff were amazing, eager to make sure all my needs were met and helpful with outings. I would come back here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellbellmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you so much for sharing such kind words about your stay at Ka'ana! We think you did a good job making your way over to us. Please know that it was such a pleasure having you here and giving us the opportunity to share with you what makes this country so unique and special. We would love to welcome you back as our guests if your travels bring you back to Belize. Thanks again from all of us here at Ka'ana!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

My husband and I recently experienced an amazing stay at Ka'ana. The service was incredible. The food was top notch. The pictures on the website is exactly what you get. I can't say anything bad about the place. The worst part about the trip was that I had to leave. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for your review! There's nothing better than knowing our guests had a great time with us and were sad to leave. It makes us all happy knowing that you enjoyed your stay in Belize and at Ka'ana and we really appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback here. Of course we would love to have you back with us again and wish you all the best for your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Our stay at Ka'ana was unforgettable! We stayed in a villa that was plush, yet authentic, with its own plunge pool, private outdoor shower, and a taste of Belizean culture in the perfectly selected accoutrements. The food is to die for, the cocktails impeccably well-crafted, the surroundings paradisaical. We took a day trip to the ATM cave and were blown away by the experience -- it was unlike anything I've seen. It truly felt as if we were the only ones in the cave (go early!). Ka'ana did a remarkable job of setting up the adventure--which included breakfast on way there, pairing with a friendly and knowledgeable guide, and a picnic lunch to follow. As other reviewers have remarked, the staff is incredibly warm and inviting -- they will strive to make your stay absolutley seamless. In short, I can't recommend Ka'ana enough!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience in Belize and at Ka'ana with everyone. Your very kind words and high praise are very much appreciated! It's so good knowing that you all had a fantastic time and were as blown away by the ATM caves as we are. It was truly a pleasure having you here with us and we wish you all the best for your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

My girlfriend and I recently returned from a trip to Belize and can't say enough about our stay at Ka'ana! From the moment the hotel manager greeted us with drinks in hand until the moment we tearfully gave our driver a hug goodbye at the airport (yes the staff is that friendly/amazing/legendary) we were floored by everything Ka'ana has to offer. This beautiful boutique resort is situated in western Belize, surrounded by beautiful mountains, forests and rivers. The location makes it the perfect spot for day-long adventures and the hotel staff was extremely helpful in suggesting and arranging several private trips for us. We chose to do horseback riding, a sunset Mayan ruins tour and the A.T.M. cave tour. The resort does a great job partnering with local tour companies and because the tours are private, you can really customize your experience. Like many of the friendly Belizeans we met, the guides were extremely knowledgeable and proud of their heritage. In accord with the other reviews, we really can't say enough about the staff. They alone made Ka'ana such a special and welcoming place. The resort itself was gorgeous and we took advantage of the on-site spa, swimming pool (including private pools in the villas), bar and restaurant. The food was delicious and the variety of the menus was quite impressive for such a small boutique hotel. Many of the ingredients are sourced from the onsite organic gardens which the manager even gave us a tour of! The rooms themselves are beautifully done and we learned that many of the products are sourced locally (wood furniture, soaps, artwork, etc.). From the attention to detail to the amazing staff to the exhilarating adventures, Ka'ana was truly the trip of a lifetime!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your stay with us here at Ka'ana! It was so nice reading this and sharing it with the rest of the team. We very much appreciate all your kind words and are thrilled that you had such an amazing experience in Belize and at the resort. We wish you all the best for your future travels and hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back here again someday. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

I hate reading long reviews so I will keep it short and sweet.
BEST.SERVICE, hands down. From the moment you walk in, until the moment you leave.

We are pretty spoiled and love staying at high end hotels, this place did not dissapoint.
Beautiful property, great service, amazing drinks and food.

The one thing I would highly reccomend is to either cab it there or pay for their shuttle. We decided to save and drive, HUGE mistake. No signs in Belize so it was very hard to find but maybe we are just bad navigators. I would pay extra not to have had to deal with that.

We only stayed here one night and then went to San Pedro to Victora house. After spending a week in Belize and speaking to other tourist and locals, those are the best two hotels in Belize.

Ka'ana is def the best on the mainland.

Room Tip: Some rooms are small but it didnt bother us, bed was comfortable and the bathroom was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luba R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
What a great review! thank you for taking the time write about your stay. It was short, but sweet indeed and we're very happy that you were so pleased with the service and quality of your stay. Thank you for sharing your tips and advice and we hope we'll be able to have you here with us again if your travels bring you back to Belize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
9.8 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.4 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'ana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'ana Resort

Property: Ka'ana Resort
Address: Mile 69 1/4 George Price Highway, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ka'ana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ka'ana Resort is Belize's first Small Luxury Hotel of the World. True to its Mayan name 'Ka'ana' meaning, 'heavenly place,' this delightful resort, set in tropical gardens, offers exceptional accommodation in charming cottages with fine dining, superb service and easy access to ancient Mayan sites and numerous thrilling activities. Enjoy the best of Belize - its people, its food, and its attractions at a world class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Ka'ana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Ana Boutique Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel Ka Ana Boutique
Ka'Ana Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing