We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place and wonderful staff”
Review of Ka'ana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ka'ana Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed in the one-bedroom villa. It was beautiful, but the best thing about it was that it came with a butler, Oscar. He was amazing! He was willing to do anything and everything we asked of him. He accompanied us on a couple of tours and even found a place (Mom's Backyard) for us to play pool - he played, too! On our last night there, he surprised us with a private, candle-lit dinner. He is just simply the most genuinely caring person!
All of the food we had at Ka'ana was fantastic, as were the drinks.
The entire staff is to be commended as every one we encountered had a smile and a few nice words, too. Just enough interaction without interfering with our privacy,
The grounds are beautiful.
We were very happy we chose Ka'ana and would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: The one-bedroom villa is beautiful, and you should request Oscar as your butler (although we're...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Hello Lars Family!

Thank you so much for your great review of your time at Ka'ana. Oscar sends a big hello to you both! We also think he's a gem and we're glad you had such a wonderful time with him during your stay. On behalf of the entire Ka'ana team, please know that it was so much fun having you here with us. You guys were great and we hope that if you make it back to Belize in the future, that you'll come and visit us. In the meantime, we wish you nothing but the best for your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
There are newer reviews for Ka'ana Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

Hello. Well if you're reading this review, congrats on even thinking about visiting inland Cayo District of Belize. And, if you do go to Cayo, stay no where other than Ka'Ana.

My wife and I stayed here Jan 2 - Jan 6, 2014.

We were fortunate enough to arrive by helicopter from Belize International Airport. If you are at all considering the helicopter transit to / from Ka'Ana, Just Do It! It was amazing to fly over the villages, jaguar preserve, rivers, mountains, and waterfalls of Belize...something we could not do other than via helicopter. It truly added to our trip and gave us an opportunity to take in so much that Belize has to offer.

And, then, we landed at Ka'Ana...literally steps away from our villa w / private pool. Ka'Ana manager, our butler, and full staff waiting at the helipad with a cool cocktail and to whisk our bags "all the way" to our villa. I'll never have an easier transit from an International Airport to a Resort ever again :)

Ka'Ana is all about service. Our villa butler (or rather our new best friend in Belize :) was available to us to arrange all of our excursions, meals, tour of the property, and little odds and ends that really made us appreciate staying at Ka'Ana.

Excursions: go to Tikal, Barton Creek Cave, ATM, San Ignacio Market (on Saturdays), Belize Zoo.

Food: surprisingly fantastic. We had lobster, steak, tacos, and the fry jacks...oh, my, the fry jacks!

Wine: the wine cellar / wine list is well stocked. We live 45 mins from Napa and found some of our favorite vintages in this lithe boutique resort in Belize.

If you're going to Cayo...stay at Ka'Ana...you'll be glad you did :)

K & K

Room Tip: If possible, stay in one of the two villas on property.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

What a great read! Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your time in Belize and at Ka'ana. Yes, you are so right about coming to the resort by helicopter- stunning views and so green! I'm glad you were able to see the some of the country from that perspective. We really enjoyed having you as our guests and are really happy you were able to experience as many activities as you did. We love how many fun and adventurous things there are to do in this part of the country. Thank you again for very kind words. On behalf of all the team here we wish you all the best for your future adventures!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We spent a couple of nights at Ka'ana while visiting the Cayo district and the Mayan ruins. It was a great stay!!! We really enjoyed the friendly staff and great food. We were interested in seeing some local drumming in Dangriga and the staff really put in the effort to make sure we were able to see this. Everything we needed was taken care of by the staff and the rooms were very clean and relaxing. If we ever make it back to Belize we will be staying at Ka'ana!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roriraci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thanks so much for your review! It was great having you with us. I'm so glad you were able to experience the drumming in Dangriga during one of the most festive times of year in Belize. We hope you will make it back to Belize and we'd love to welcome you back to Ka'ana. Thank you again for sharing your kind words and on behalf of all of us here at Ka'ana, we wish you all the best for your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed here with my family for two nights while exploring the Mayan ruins of Tikal and could not agree more with the positive reviews on this site. Upon our arrival, there was a mix-up where my sister and I were given a room with one bed despite having requested two doubles, but not to worry - the staff found her an extra room for the first night while we were at dinner. The second night had us in a room with two beds and a hammock (!!) outside that felt like its own little vacation home. My parents had a room with a view of the pool and were also quite happy.

Speaking of dinner, the restaurant on-site was top notch, featuring a good selection of tasty local cuisine (fry jacks for breakfast were a particular favourite), though pricing there was a bit high by local standards - comparable to North American ones, which we didn't encounter anywhere else we stayed. This may be due to the fact that Ka'ana is somewhat hard to get to in rainy season, as one bridge was washed out on our way there. The waiters were all very personable and eager to make suggestions and jokes; no North American-style rushed orders here. The coffee with breakfast was nice and strong, as were the drinks at the bar if you wanted one.

The grounds of the hotel were expansive and fun to go for a walk around. We saw the local organic garden, though due to recent flooding not much was there when we visited. The staff somehow ensured there were lit candles at night along all pathways to avoid injuries and create a truly magical nighttime atmosphere.

This was a great place for my family to start our vacation. Thank you to the entire team at Ka'ana for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for one of the villas. It's worth it!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FCAGENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for your review! We're glad we were able to have you and your family as our guests while you did some exploring and we're even happier knowing that you had a great time while you were there. You'll be happy to know that the organic garden is making a full recovery after all the rain. Our culinary team is also quite happy about that fact as well! We hope you all enjoyed the rest of your family vacation and if you're ever back in Belize, please do come and visit again. We'd love to have you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Ka'ana was the perfect retreat after exploring the nearby sites. Amazing staff, great food, and beautiful surroundings. We stayed in a casita which was basic but perfect for our needs since we only spent evenings at the resort. Highly recommend if you're coming to Cayo for adventure.

Nice extras: complimentary continental breakfast for 2, wi-fi, cable TV, $5USD cab ride from nearby San Ignacio

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelbugATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for your review! Your description of Ka'ana as being a perfect retreat after spending a day out exploring is spot on and exactly what we had in mind when creating the resort experience at Ka'ana. I'm so glad that you felt that way. On behalf of everyone here at Ka'ana, please know it was a pleasure having you with us and we're truly grateful that you took the time to share such kind words about your time with us. All the best for your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Ka'ana is definitely on of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The service was beyond impeccable, the food was excellent and the grounds were incredible. We had booked tours through a 3rd party and when we arrived late from one of our tours the manager Tatiana had called the tour company to check in on us! I wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel and staff exceeded any expectations we could have had. We are deeply grateful for our time and experience there and hope to come back soon!

Room Tip: Any room will be amazing!!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OOtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review of your time with us at Ka'ana! We're so grateful and really pleased to get confirmation that your trip was everything you hoped it would be and more. Please do come back to visit us, we'd be thrilled to have you here again. In the meantime, on behalf of the entire Ka'ana team, we wish you all the best for your future adventures!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We felt like it was our own private tropical paradise, even though they were booked. Privacy when you want it, excellent service when you need it. Room was just lovely. Staff was always happy to please. Must get Oscar, or Candy, to blend a magical drink for you. Try the pork chops and fish tacos -- really didn't eat anything we didn't like. Just a wonderful time. If you are thinking of going to Belize - you must try to stay at Ka'ana. We will be back. Hello to Carlos and Patricia - you are the best. Phil and Mauren Boling

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reeni2013Maureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Hi Phil & Maureen,

Thank you so much for your review! You guys were such a treat to have at Ka'ana. We were all looking forward to having you with us and we're so glad that you enjoyed your time as much as you did. We've shared hellos and kind words with the rest of the team and everyone's looking forward to welcoming you back here the next time your travels bring you back to Belize. Thank you again on behalf of the entire Ka'ana family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.3 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
634 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,229 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
434 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
384 reviews
3.0 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#6 of 14 in San Ignacio
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'ana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'ana Resort

Address: Mile 69 1/4 George Price Highway, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#6 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range: £158 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ka'ana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ka'ana Resort is Belize's first Small Luxury Hotel of the World. True to its Mayan name 'Ka'ana' meaning, 'heavenly place,' this delightful resort, set in tropical gardens, offers exceptional accommodation in charming cottages with fine dining, superb service and easy access to ancient Mayan sites and numerous thrilling activities. Enjoy the best of Belize - its people, its food, and its attractions at a world class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ka'ana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Ana Boutique Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel Ka Ana Boutique
Ka'Ana Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing