We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Loved It”
Review of Ka'ana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ka'ana Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The staff was amazing they all knew our names. Some of our favorites were Carlos, Alito and Candy. The food was amazing and the kitchen staff would make things that weren't on the menu if we asked. Also the hotel managers would come around during dinner and talk to you so they could book what you wanted to do. The rooms were very nice. We also saw a lot of wildlife even at the hotel, but none in our rooms!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Travelbug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your review! We love that you loved it here and have shared your kind words about your stay with the rest of the Ka'ana team. Your favorites say hello back! It's very good to read that you experienced the level of personal service and attention that we promise to deliver to all our guests. And yes, we're big fans of having adventure by day, and luxury by night. We're happy to know that you appreciated that as well. On behalf of everyone here, we want to say thank you again and hope you'll let us know if your travel plans bring you back to Belize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Would go back there anytime! Great service and awesome tours!!

The hotel staff is very helpfull and nice!

Loved my stay here, the food could be better, but this did not affect the fun and good times.

The tours to the caves are a must in this stay at this hotel, they are not to miss.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia_lm85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your review! We're happy to know you thought your stay was excellent and that you have such high praise for the tours you went on and the service you received. Your feedback is important to us and we really appreciate that you took the time to share it here. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to San Ignacio and Ka'ana and look forward to it. Thank you again for your kind words and we wish you all the best for your future travels and adventures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I spent a week at the resort. We are New Yorkers and needed a break from the noise and hustle. Ka'ana offered us peace and tranquility while receiving great service. We stayed in the 1bdrm villa. You didn't have to leave the room if you didn't desire. The young man dedicated to our room "Lito" was extremely accommodating and friendly. He really increased the value of our stay. We had room service a number of times. My husband was able to finish 2 books!! We enjoyed massages by Gretel. She was amazing!!! We took advantage of the private tours. Wilbert was filled with extreme knowledge and pride of his culture. They are a little expensive, however, the experience matched the price so we didn't complain. There is nothing within walking distance so be prepared to take a car to town if you prefer to be around people. We didn't, (other than tours) it was perfectly comfortable at the resort. If I were to nitpick, I would say the "organic garden" was a disappointment. It wasn't maintained in the least. Maybe they should take that out of the overall pitch of the Resort. I also wished they had a little gym for workouts. I have every plan to return to Ka'ana so the frogs can perform their evening concerts and the birds their morning lullabies... I travel often and to date...Ka'ana has been my overall favorite. I Love this place!

Room Tip: 1 bdrm Villa was very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your review! It was great having you and your husband here with us at Ka'ana and we really appreciate that you took the time to share your positive feedback with everyone here. Your stay sounds so relaxing, from the room service, to your great massages and reading 2 books (wow!). Elito sends his greetings too! We completely agree with you that the organic garden needs some love. We've had unseasonal rains since the beginning of the year and it's taken a beating. It's not been forgotten, however, and we are already working on improving it. Thank you again for choosing to be our guests. We are grateful for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to your Belize home soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We went here our honeymoon and spent 4.5 days and 5 nights at Ka'ana. I think this was the perfect amount of time to spend there to do all the activities that its location facilitates. We more or less had an all-inclusive package which was nice that we didn't have to think about paying for meals or most of our activities on the trip. We only payed for alcohol and one day trip that we tacked on once we were there. The resort is really nice and peaceful. However, it is not the sort of resort one would choose to spend an entire day lounging at. The pool is great, but small, and there aren't a ton of on-site activities. Ka'ana is ideal for an active person who wants to do various day trips, then come back and relax for a bit by the pool and have a casual but delicious meal and some great cocktails.

Overall, Ka'ana paid a lot of attention to details. From putting little treats in our rooms each night to the flowers carefully arranged on our towels in the bathroom. Our room was fantastic and we had a private outdoor lounging area with an open air shower. The place was well maintained and felt very clean.

The restaurant was delicious and had a perfect ambiance - peaceful and relaxed. The food was great. My only real complaint is that since we ate most of our meals there, the menu is somewhat limited if you are staying longer than a few days. I would recommend the hotel either add some variability to the menu or offer a daily special, or add a few more standard items to the menu. That said, we found just enough variety over 4.5 days (though we loved the shrimp and conche ceviche, so we ordered that several times). That staff was also incredibly friendly and treated us very well.

We did 4 adventures, two sets of Mayan ruins (Tikal and Xunantunich) and two caving expeditions (A.T.M. and cave tubing/ziplining). Tikal was our longest day but offered a truly unique experience. It is harder to get to than some other large ruin sites like Chichen Itza, which keeps it slightly less croweded with tourist. The next day we went to Xunantunish and I'm glad we took Ka'ana's advice to go early. We were the first people there which was fantastic, giving us a chance to take unadulterated pictures and see the grounds peacefully. I expected the cave tubing/ziplining to be a bit gimmicky, but it was not. The ziplining is standard if you have ever done it before, but the cave tubing really was neat. Again we got an early start and got to see areas of the caves without a lot of tourists. Lastly, A.T.M. is a exciting cave hike with interspersed short swims. You get to see some pretty amazing rock formations as well as 1200-year old Mayan artifacts and skeletons. For these expeditions, we either had a guide provided by Ka'ana or the resort subcontracted to outside tour guides. Overall, we were pleased with our guides. They were friendly and knowledgable.

My only real knock is that the trip was somewhat pricey for the experience. For example, including tip, our day trip to A.T.M. cost us nearly $600 for two people on a ~6.5 hour trip. I would have thought this was expensive in the U.S., let alone a country that should be cheaper. For this price, we basically had one (great) guide and the hour-long transportation each way by car. Other trips appear to be relatively expensive as well, though the rest of our trips were included in our package, whereas we paid for A.T.M. as an add on.

In summary, Ka'ana was a fantastic experience that facilitated seeming the Mayan ruins and cave networks. The food was great, the staff was friendly, and the resort was well-manicured and serene. At the end of the day, I think the experience was ~20-25% too expensive, but we will still walk away with wonderful memories.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi Daniel,

Thank you for your review and for sharing such kind words about your time with us here at Ka'ana. We're really happy to know that you saw and appreciated our attention to detail and enjoyed the food and drinks that we carefully selected and prepared for you. We really take our guests feedback into consideration and in response to the requests for more variety on our menus, we're excited to let you know that we are now offering themed nights for dinner during the week- both a Maya night complete with a delicious buffet of traditional and traditionally-inspired dishes and a grill night as well. We also understand your concern about the costs of the activities that are on offer here. Perhaps it would be helpful if we explained that the ATM caves is a tour that only a handful of guides in the country are licensed to do and visitors who have the opportunity to go there are some of very few that ever will due to the sacred nature and historical significance of the cave. This is also the main reason we choose to do private tours and ensure your experience is uniquely yours. With all that said, please know that we appreciate your praise and value your honest feedback. We know it will only help to make us better. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you to Ka'ana again if your travels bring you back to Belize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I went to Belize for 2 weeks. One week in Placencia (Resort Chabil Mar) and one week at Ka'ana. Both Resorts don't really have anything to do unless you like reading & sleeping all day. But at least your closer to the town in Placencia for night life & everything else it has to offer.

Chabil offers a shuttle service from the resort to the town from 4-10pm everyday plus if it's early they will still drop you off anywhere you want to go. Ka'ana should really take notes on that service since the Resorts are on the same level.

Ka'ana shouldn't say they have a poor here at the Resort because it's nothing like a poor (way too small) maybe you can call it a oversized jacuzzi without the jets.

Sanignacio was great to see the cave tubing and mayan ruins but if we were to come back we would totally be to stay in Placencia @Resort Chabil Mar.

One more thing the rooms are much nicer @Chanil Mar as well

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Adam,

Thank you for choosing to visit Belize and San Ignacio for your honeymoon. We were happy to have you and your new wife as our guests at Ka'ana and find it unfortunate that parts of your experience did not meet your expectations. While we realize that you would have preferred to not pay for a cab to and from town and would have liked a bigger pool, we do hope that you were able to appreciate the people, culture, food, and incredible archaeology that San Ignacio and the Cayo district have to offer. We feel incredibly lucky to be in the middle of what was once the center of the great Maya civilization and to be able to not only visit and see the monuments of that time ourselves, but also share this with the travelers who come to stay with us. We're happy that you enjoyed Placencia (it's one of our favorite places too!) and hope that you took back special memories of your time in Belize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

As 'Boutique' has long ceased to mean anything of value other than to describe anything that isn't a 30 storey chain hotel, I guess you can, with weary acceptance, call this place 'boutique'.

Giving this place 3 stars is a little harsh - it's really closer to 3 and a half. But given this place is not cheap by any standards (even Belizean ones - a country which is surprisingly expensive), I would expect more and the score reflects performance vs cost, rather than experience alone.

The positives - the room (room 10 - a Master room I think) was lovely - big bed, nice bathroom, little touches like mini-desserts delivered to your room whilst you're at dinner and a great private outside lounging area complete with open-air shower. The grounds were, inevitably, lovely too - an array of tropical colour from which wildlife of many forms, including a resident poolside iguana, perched and did their thing. Staff too were very friendly - especially the bar tender and the maids.

So why only 3? Well, the restaurant and bar, in contrast to the well thought out design of the rest of the place, were utterly soul-less. Described rather ludicrously on their website as 'Belize's premier dining experience', the restaurant was sparsely decorated, poorly lit and belied even the loosest definition of the self-named 'boutique' status. And sadly the food too seemed a mixed bag - some great lunchtime tacos mixed with something so average at dinner, I can't even remember what - chicken perhaps? Drinks from the bar were fine but treat website descriptions of 'mixologists' preparing 'a unique blend of artesanal cocktails' for the guff it so clearly is.

Breakfast too was a little stingy - complementary breakfast meant actually having to choose either fruit or pastries or cereal or whatever else was on offer. And like Blancaneaux, all priced at a level which held the food to a ransom it wasn't able to meet.

Some small disappointment over the activities too - having been told we could confirm any excursion the day before, and having given prior interest in the trip, we were left a little frustrated to be told that the full day 'Jaguar Tracking' (once again, a little misleading given most people there had seen a Jaguar only once or twice in their lives) actually needed several weeks notice. To their credit, the staff did then call around and offer us a full day at Coxcomb Basin but at 2-3hrs drive there and back and some $200 each for the day, we declined.

Much better was to take a $10 taxi down to the ruins at Xunantunich where the forest surroundings offered up spider monkeys and the throaty roar of howler monkeys, not to mention some spectacular views from the top of the castillo. Would also recommend the short trip into town for a quick stroll and a bite to eat - food nothing special but reasonably priced.

Little tip to finish - if heading back to the city or Ambergris Caye, take a flight from the charming little airstrip 5 mins away. Cheaper than the $200 that hotels charge to transfer you back to the city and a whole lot quicker too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ohnobonobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Ohnobonobo,

We are pleased and grateful that you chose to include the positive parts of your visit with us despite that parts of your experience at Ka'ana were not completely to your satisfaction. We're also happy that you were able to appreciate the attention to detail and level of service that Ka'ana has become known for and that our team takes pride in. We will take your feedback on the parts of your stay that were not to your liking into consideration. At Ka'ana, we set out to offer an unparalleled experience to travelers who choose to venture off the beaten path and visit this region of the country. Travelers who appreciate the opportunity to be immersed in a world foreign to their own, hosted by a team of service professionals eager to show off everything that makes our home as culturally interesting and unique as it is. We're continuously looking at ways to do this in the best way possible and genuinely appreciate the feedback of all our guests. We hope the rest of your time in the country was everything you hoped it would be and truly wish you all the best for your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Everything about Ka'ana was great. The rooms are spectacular. The pool was lovely. The food was DELICIOUS! The staff was incredibly helpful and kind. The welcome drinks and private welcome meeting was a lovely touch. My only suggestion is ask how much the tours are before you book - if you care. We booked a cave canoe trip with them and it was great. But I wish I had known the price before booking. Otherwise - this hotel will not disappoint!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron5598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your review! We're happy to know that your stay with us was great and that you had such a good time. Thank you for your kind words about the rooms, pool, food, and the team. We appreciate your feedback very much and are happy to know that they all met your expectations. If you did not feel that you had adequate information about your tours before booking, we do apologize and will be sure that we improve on communicating this information to our guests. We want to be sure that all our guests are able to enjoy the incredible adventures and expert guides that we're proud to offer here at the resort, without any worries. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review here. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.1 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,276 reviews
2.3 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
658 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
463 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
442 reviews
3 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'ana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'ana Resort

Address: Mile 69 1/4 George Price Highway, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#6 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range: £194 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ka'ana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ka'ana Resort is Belize's first Small Luxury Hotel of the World. True to its Mayan name 'Ka'ana' meaning, 'heavenly place,' this delightful resort, set in tropical gardens, offers exceptional accommodation in charming cottages with fine dining, superb service and easy access to ancient Mayan sites and numerous thrilling activities. Enjoy the best of Belize - its people, its food, and its attractions at a world class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ka'ana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Ana Boutique Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel Ka Ana Boutique
Ka'Ana Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing