We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I've ever stayed at!”
Review of Ka'ana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ka'ana Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
1 review
“Best hotel I've ever stayed at!”
Reviewed 8 February 2010

I spent my honeymoon here. We couldn't have found a better place. They treated us like we were royalty (and family). There are so many things I could tell you about this place - like the fact that we never had to try another restuarant because the food WAS THAT GOOD, or that the service was way above and beyond what ever needed to be done. If you ever have the opportunity of staying here, don't even think twice about it. I would go back in a heart beat. These guys now how to do things right, and set a new bar for excellence and service.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChemitasDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    75
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
137
533
25
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

We found this resort to be nicely done and and much to our liking. It is well outside of town, but rather close to Xunantunich, fascinating Mayan ruins just "down the block." The casitas were very comfortable and the dining room both accommodating and good. Our son, having spent a year in nearby Guatemala, initially was careful about drinking water and uncooked vegetables, but he and we soon learned that this was completely unnecessary. One of the more memorable features of Ka'ana is the warmth of the people who work there: helpful, friendly and interesting to talk to.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julian1234000
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

This was the worst hotel of this type that I have ever stayed in. The rooms were small - there were plastic undersheets, soaps and shampoos never replenished and no drinking water was provided. Staff were unknowledgable about facilities and excursions. Prices were concealed and when the bill came hidden charges were applied, most suprisingly for services provided externally from the hotel. I had food poisoning from the restaurant which lasted three days over Christmas. Hotel is located right beside the Western Highway, which is noisy, and busy. Trucks can be heard and felt by the pool as well as in the room. Truly awful

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank burtonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Our family of 10 traveled to Ka'ana in December 2009 and we have nothing but AMAZING things to say about our stay there! The staff was extremely generous with their time, patience and assistance in planning our trip. We were a big group with lots of questions and requests and were very appreciative that they were so willing to accommodate us. We have a number of dietary restrictions in our family, for example, and the chef was willing to work with all of them, making special meals (all of which were delicious) and coming out to meet us, etc... The whole staff was very, very pleasant and considerate, making our stay even better. Our excursions were just what we were looking for and the time we spent relaxing at the resort was so nice. The rooms were very comfortable and clean, and the atmosphere was so serene.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hfamilyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

My wife and I came to Ka'ana for our honeymoon in Sept 2009. It was the perfect resort for us. The service was impeccable, the room was luxurious and clean, and the food was incredible! We booked a package that included several tours -- the Belize zoo, Caracol, ATM cave, and horseback riding at Green Acres. The resort made arrangements for all of the tours, and the guides were top-notch. The ATM cave tour was, by far, our favorite and we would highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys exploring and adventure. We thoroughly enjoyed Ka'ana and would absolutely stay there again. It exceeded our expecations... which is hard to do when you're talking about 5-star resorts!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbost80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Our stay at Ka'ana was unbelievable. From the minute we arrived to the moment we left, we were treated with the best customer service and attention to detail one can ask for. The grounds, food, drinks, staff, and amenities were all amazing. Everyone on the staff was so friendly and we felt like we had the entire resort to ourselves. WIlbert the staff tour guide is very knowledgeable and will make sure your excursions are unforgettable.

The casita room is spacious, private, and very comfortable. The food is also amazing (I think my wife and I ate almost the entire menu and there wasn't a single dish that didn't wow us). We even got to plant a tree when we departed which was fun and a nice touch.

Overall, Ka'ana ranks among the top resorts I've ever visited, on any continent.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtbflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2009

From the moment you step out of the car and are greeted with your ginger and lime, you know you have arrived at a very special place. I just finished up a stay with this amazing boutique Hotel. Very small, very private, first class amenitities. Because of the small size the attention is very personal for each traveller. ALL of the staff is professional and friendly. They genuinely want to share their country with you and make your stay as pleasant as possible. The owner checked on me each day to make sure I was having a great time. The food is traditional, extremely fresh (most grown local, even on the property) with gourmet touches. Polo the resident mixologist is a skilled bartender and is more that happen to create a very special libation just for you. Just ask him (guava daquiri). Monique in the spa is very skilled and so very needed at the end of a day of exploring the countryside.
Now Wilbur, the hotel guide is so much more than that. He is an expert on the local culture. Under his direction you can trust that you will see the best of the area in the most amazing way. I had private tours and came away with an amazing sense of what Belize is. Whatever you want to do he will hook you up, if you don't he will have incredible suggestions that won't let you down. I came to Belize as a single female and never once felt uncomfortable or unsafe. The people are warm and friendly. If you come to this part of Belize you must stay at Ka'ana, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redtiggrLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.3 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
624 reviews
11.4 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
427 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
243 reviews
3.0 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 13 in San Ignacio
965 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'ana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'ana Resort

Property: Ka'ana Resort
Address: Mile 69 1/4 George Price Highway, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ka'ana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ka'ana Resort is Belize's first Small Luxury Hotel of the World. True to its Mayan name 'Ka'ana' meaning, 'heavenly place,' this delightful resort, set in tropical gardens, offers exceptional accommodation in charming cottages with fine dining, superb service and easy access to ancient Mayan sites and numerous thrilling activities. Enjoy the best of Belize - its people, its food, and its attractions at a world class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ka'ana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Ana Boutique Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel Ka Ana Boutique
Ka'Ana Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing