We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our own private getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ka'ana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ka'ana Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our own private getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

This was a fabulous place to stay. My husband and felt we were the only guest there, from our little Casita to the service in the restaurant! Everyone there was so nice and REAL! So happy we chose this place for our honeymoon!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkayk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    69
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
117
486
21
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

Ka'ana is what you make it. The staff is very accomidating and is happy to customize each guests experience. You can stay by the pool and do spa treatments, go to Guatamala for the day and see Mayan ruins (highly recommended!), go zip lining, snorkle, horseback riding, etc..or hang out in San Ignacio (Greenies is a great Ex-Pat bar to cool off and take a break).

This is also a great foodie resort - mixology classes with Leopold, cooking classes with Sean( a native Belizian and CIA trained chef), tours of the wine room and organic garden, Saturday morning market in San Ignacio and checking out the tortilla factory are all a must do.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

Considering the location, the room was probably one of the best in the area. Nice bathroom, nice bed, nice tv.

Restaurant was good, except whenever we tryed to order something, they didn't have it available. It seemed everything we ordered, was unavailable.

We had a transfer from the belize airport to cayo, they said it would be 150 us dollars. When we got the bill, it was 185.

Worst part of trip-Room next to us was empty, and the alarm came on at 5:30 in the morning. We called office to turn it off, to no avail. We had to wait half an hour for them to finally turn it off!
Also, you can hear the freeway from the hotel. Its right off the street.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anniesusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, il
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

A beautiful way to start a vacation in Belize. The grounds are beautiful, the pool a sparkling gem. We had a flowering vine on our patio overlooking the pool, and a hammock for enjoying the view. I found the food excellent - subtle and aromatic, nothing that shocked your taste buds, but still very full of flavor. Thanks, Sean!

I can't say enough good things about the staff and the very helpful way they took care of all tour details. Thanks Wilbur and Mario! Mario came back from his first vacation day to drive us to Placencia, the sun/sand part of our package, even though his wife was expecting a baby momentarily. Hard to find that kind of employee loyalty. The front desk staff seemed a little shy and could have been more active in giving us information on our itinerary schedule - the when, where, and what to take with, etc. But they were very nice and helpful whenever approached about anything.

We felt pampered at Ka'ana, and fell in love with Belize. Thanks, Ka'ana!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acd2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

The room exceeded our expectations. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was wonderful. What's not to like. We stayed here as part of a packaged plan arranged through Robert's Grove Inn. We were scheduled to stay for 3 nights but because of a flight delay (another story) we stayed only 2 nights. They picked us up at the airport and provided two tours. One to the Maya ruins and the other a cave tubing trip. They drove use at the end of the stay to Robert's Grove Inn near Palencia. The drivers, tour guides were exceptional in their knowledge and a delight to be with. We would do this again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rplaut6456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

I spent my honeymoon here. We couldn't have found a better place. They treated us like we were royalty (and family). There are so many things I could tell you about this place - like the fact that we never had to try another restuarant because the food WAS THAT GOOD, or that the service was way above and beyond what ever needed to be done. If you ever have the opportunity of staying here, don't even think twice about it. I would go back in a heart beat. These guys now how to do things right, and set a new bar for excellence and service.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChemitasDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

We found this resort to be nicely done and and much to our liking. It is well outside of town, but rather close to Xunantunich, fascinating Mayan ruins just "down the block." The casitas were very comfortable and the dining room both accommodating and good. Our son, having spent a year in nearby Guatemala, initially was careful about drinking water and uncooked vegetables, but he and we soon learned that this was completely unnecessary. One of the more memorable features of Ka'ana is the warmth of the people who work there: helpful, friendly and interesting to talk to.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BFBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
9.8 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.4 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'ana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'ana Resort

Property: Ka'ana Resort
Address: Mile 69 1/4 George Price Highway, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ka'ana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ka'ana Resort is Belize's first Small Luxury Hotel of the World. True to its Mayan name 'Ka'ana' meaning, 'heavenly place,' this delightful resort, set in tropical gardens, offers exceptional accommodation in charming cottages with fine dining, superb service and easy access to ancient Mayan sites and numerous thrilling activities. Enjoy the best of Belize - its people, its food, and its attractions at a world class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Ka'ana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Ana Boutique Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel Ka Ana Boutique
Ka'Ana Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing