We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B, Highly recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa del Caballo Blanco
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B, Highly recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2008

San Ignacio is very rural and Cayo district, while lovely in its natural beauty is still developing financially. Travel to the Cayo is a bit of an adventure; but one that is very doable and recommended. The primary draws would be the nature (caving, hikes, animals) and the Mayan Ruins. But for my family, Casa del Caballo Blanco was a reason to make the drive in itself. Find it at casacaballoblanco.com. The place is situated on a hill just above San Ignacio with a view of the rainforest and lights of the city below. 6 intimate cabanas are charmingly located and well appointed. The decoration is local and tasteful. The staff is very accommodating. If you choose to eat at the B&B you are served meals that are reasonably priced and absolutely delicious. They have a rehabilitation center for birds that is unique to the country.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, beautiful views.
  • Disliked — The walls between cabanas were a bit thin, The location is a little hard to get to
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KLSHawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2008

As a couple in our 60s, we stayed at the Casa del Caballo Blanco, a recently-opened small lodge with seven “casitas” just outside San Ignacio, for five days at the end of January and enjoyed this quiet place with its attentive and kind staff very much. The property includes a marked walking trail for observing local fauna and flora, and it’s near several significant Mayan ruins as well as the attractions of San Ignacio. Management arranged trips to the ruins and to other local attractions for us, including a memorable Sunday afternoon jaunt into the countryside to hear Reggae style music by a local group.

Our casita had a private bath and a small fridge and would be comfortable for a couple or possibly a family with one child. It was clean and had decent beds and attractive locally-made furniture and accessories. No air conditioning and no TV, but romantic ceiling fans and practical mosquito netting for sleeping.

The Casa is on an old 23 acre farm and the California-based owners are encouraging the natural landscape to return. The Manzaneros (Ricky who manages the property and his daughter Shenny who sees to guests’ needs) could not have been kinder or more helpful. He is knowledgeable about local fauna and flora and walking the property with him is a treat.

We loved the meals that were part of the package, as cooked by Grace Obando who prepared Belizean and Mayan specialties including “Dirty” Soup (delicious despite the name) and sweet potato pone (a dessert pudding). The varied breakfasts always included excellent fresh fruit and a different local specialty such as local cheese and ham with tortillas each day.

The so-called backcountry of Belize is fairly primitive; for example, there are no supermarkets or movie theaters or (to us) interesting shops. The Casa is recommended for people who don’t need luxury and who want to get to know some of the people of Belize “up close and personal.”

  • Liked — views, comfort of room
  • Disliked — it's the back country; there are geckos and frogs, etc.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nysupergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2007

We recently returned from a phenomenal trip through the Cayo District of western Belize. While there we stayed at a wonderful lodge, Casa del Caballo Blanco. The grounds and buildings are immaculately maintained and built in a traditional style. The lodge is the perfect place from which to explore largely untouristed and unexcavated Mayan ruins. The lodge’s guide, Ricky Manzanero is superb. Spotting tropical birds and jungle wildlife amidst the ruins is a unique experience. One need not stray far from the lodge to spot an incredible array of birds that can be seen along the nature trail that runs through the nearby jungle. The meals served at the lodge are among the best we’ve had in our travels – reflecting the diverse cuisine of Belize. Rates are Single $121, Double $132 and Triple $142. Contact: Jodi Bente at [--] An added bonus – the lodge is run in conjunction with the area’s only non-profit bird rescue and rehabilitation facility [--]. For those looking for adventure, tranquility and an opportunity to experience the incredible offerings of western Belize this is the perfect spot.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank LLRBWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2007

Our stays at Casa have always been beautiful. Weather is generally cooler than on the coast. The surrounding are green and filled with wildlife.

The accomodations are very comfortable with in-room shower, bathrooms, and a mini-fridge. The view from the cabanas is green and lovely, overlooking the Mopan River valley, you can see into Guatamala.

Two meals a day were included in the cost of our stay and the food was wonderful. Meals typically include Mayan or Creole fare, so you get a taste of local fare.

The staff at Casa is very friendly, always helpful, and very knowledgable regarding surrounding attractions. Casa is close to many great Mayan ruins. We visited all the local one's in Belize and took a day trip to Tikal in Guatamala as well. Travel time from Casa to ruins ranges from 15 minutes to several hours. We were able to visit more than one ruin per day while staying there except when we went to Tikal.

Casa del Caballo Blanco is also home to a budding bird rehab center. It includes a great trail through about 20 acres that the owners are reforesting to provide habitat for released birds. This trail and the road that goes along the edge of the property provide great opportunites to bird. I think we gathered a list of at least 40 species in one morning, just walking the road.

  • Liked — Wildlife, views, food, comfortable rooms...
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WLGwendolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2007

We have stayed at Casa del Caballo Blanco 4 times in two years. It is a very quiet, calming place with a great deal of Belize charm. The cabanas are wonderful and comfortable. The enitre staff is friendly, helpful and always ready to assist with a smile. Meals are very well prepared and often include local main and side dishes. The grounds are very well kept and include a 20 acre parcel with a birding/hiking trail. We have seen nearly 100 species of birds on the site and along the road adjacent to the site. The facility also includes a native bird rehabilitation center which added to the interest of the place and to our stay. The location is ideal for birding, which we have done several times. We were very pleased with our stay and will return.

  • Liked — the place was so quiet and calming
  • Disliked — the spiders that live in holes in the ground in the area
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank azoologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
1.4 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#7 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
3.4 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
2.2 mi away
Maya Mountain Lodge
Maya Mountain Lodge
#6 of 31 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#8 of 14 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Caballo Blanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Caballo Blanco

Property: Casa del Caballo Blanco
Address: Bullet Tree Road | PO Box 229, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Speciality Lodging in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa del Caballo Blanco 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Caballo Blanco (CDCB) host to Casa Avian Support Alliance ( CASA), NGO, is a small eco-lodge on the outskirts of San Ignacio, Belize; providing guests the opportunity to experience the natural and cultural wonders of Belize and to participate in voluntourism programs focused on community outreach and the conservation of bio-diversity through its avian rehabilitation and release center (currently in suspension) and habitat restoration program. Proceeds from the eco-lodge help to sustain the work of CASA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Casa del Caballo Blanco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Caballo Blanco Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing