We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Garden Suite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden Suite
The Villa Garden Suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Garden Suite
The Villa
Garden Suite
Domed Bathroom
Garden Suite
Library
Main Veranda
Parrot in Orange tree
View of pool area
View of driveway from the house
Sunset in paradise
Garden pool view
Smallish road sign on the Highway turn-off
Avana Villa signage across from billboard
Avana Villa sign at the highway has purple posts
Front gate at the property.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
San Ignacio, Cayo

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Liberty D
Charlo
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay!”
Reviewed 25 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We are a family of five and booking the Garden Suite turned out to be the ideal accommodation for us. Martha and Murray could not be more kind, accomodating and generous with their beautiful home. The Garden Suite itself is large, open and very comfortable. We had tours booked during our days, so it was great to return to the Garden Suite to relax, shower, read and get rested for the next day. The grounds are beautiful and listening to howler monkeys at night a special treat. When one of our tours was cancelled, Martha went out of her way to get us scheduled with another company, which turned out to be an excellent experience and we wouldn't have been able to make it happen on our own. Murray generously shared his photos of the ATM Cave with us since photos are no longer allowed. They are perfect hosts - I would happily return to Avana Villa and highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S B
Mission, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“if you want to experience 'off the grid' with solar power and 'handicap accessible', this is the place.”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Handicap accessible in Belize means ground floor with a couple of steps and that is all. Ground floor doesn't get the cooling night breezes, esp if there's a wall around the place. These grounds and the villa were beautiful and the owners very accommodating/helpful. Their intrusion alarm system is 3 dogs and when you have windows open on ground floor trying to cool off at night, it is not so great when they start barking. Solar power is very limiting and the generator does help for a short time. The pool was very nice. If heat is no problem for you (there's no air conditioning) and you're not uncomfortable about scorpions, then this is the place for you. It was a worthwhile experience, but not one that we'd repeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location in San Ignacio, Cayo
Liked least: no air conditioning and limitations of solar power
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elise s
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Rural setting yet close to town”
Reviewed 21 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were lucky to find this gem. Our family of four stayed in the spacious garden suite. Everything was clean and well appointed. Martha made sure we had everything we needed to be comfortable including providing bottled water and a cooler in our suite. The house is very well built and every effort has been made to keep the critters out. (It's the jungle so that's important). The grounds are lovely. The pool is large and refreshing. My husband and I enjoyed lounging in the poolside palapa with a cocktail after a day of sight seeing. We had full use of the gourmet kitchen on the second floor. We also enjoyed the large selection of DVDs in the library. I checked out the penthouse suite and the view up there is spectacular. The penthouse also has it's own kitchen. It is a long walk up several flights of stairs to get up there though. We staying in the garden suite because it's closer to the pool. Marty and Martha are wonderful hosts. We had a great time with them. They took the time to show us the local birds and took the kids to see their sheep. We could hear howler monkeys from the jungle. The property is completely off the grid so you do need to be aware there's no air conditioning. The temperature was just fine for us as it cools down at night. The location is only about 5 minutes drive from the town of San Ignacio so it's convenient to all the tours and shopping.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsey13...
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our group had a great 4 night stay here. The room was clean, owners very knowledgable and accommodating and the grounds gorgeous. A short ways out of town but worth it for the view. The dogs on the property like to bark very early in the morning though. Would definitely recommend this to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property is beautiful
Liked least: Noisy dogs
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi I
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bird and nature lover's paradise”
Reviewed 23 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I just returned from a stay at Avana Villa and had a marvelous time. Go slow on the road to the home,( rocky), but, once you are there you will be amazed at the gorgeous surroundings. Lots of birds to watch and wildlife to enjoy. The room is spacious and clean, and the upstairs decks have an amazing view of the surrounding area.

The owners, Martha and Marty suggested we have dinner at Cahal Pech Resort, and we are so glad we did. The food is great, not always the case in Belize, but the best part was the view! You will not want to leave, and will end of there for breakfast also.

My only suggestion for improvement would be the addition of a simple breakfast, granola and some local fruit would have been nice. We will be going back for sure.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistressm...
San pedro
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WHAT A FANTASTIC PLACE”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

i recently had the pleasure of stumbling upon this place. I could not have been more pleasantly surprised. The owners were just delightful and very accommodating. They have a wonderful assistant Darwin who is also ever ready to help. Included in this experience were 3 wonderful large outdoor dogs ( bruno,honey and java) i felt really safe here and enjoyed watching these wonderful animals work the property. They also have sheep and geese all located on the beautiful grounds of this peaceful place. The pool was great as well. Martha and Murray were nice enough to allow me to hold a small dinner party for my friends which allowed me to make full use of their wonderful kitchen. I also made fresh key lime pie and cake with limes from their trees and the help of Darwin. All in all i could not have ended up at a better place. Thanks so much to Martha and Murray for making us so comfortable. We cant wait to visit them again. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing