We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Friendly Home away from Home”
Review of Cardie's Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stann Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cardie's Hotel
Ranked #53 of 58 Stann Creek B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Our medical mission trip home port was based out of Cardie's. I have to say the hotel was a welcomed unexpected surprise! To start the owners and staff are warm and friendly. You are treated like family. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The AC works GREAT!!! The beds were comfortable, especially after a long day working a remote clinic. The showers had good pressure and the towels and soaps were replenished daily. The food was AMAZING and the drinks even better. This is a top notch establishment. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

I would not recommend this hotel to any for the following reasons:

In front of the hotel there is a construction and there is lots of dust comes to the hotel every day and it is completely full of dust and rubbish.

The room is full of misquote and spider and it is very dirty.

The safety box was not working

In the bathroom there is a wall socket which is not cover properly and it is very danger.

The door handle is broken can’t close the toilet door.

I was there for three nights and the Internet never work properly.

I had to change my room from the Executive to standard room and again we can’t close the bathroom’s door and again the wall socket was not cover properly

As soon they know I booked the hotel via Agooda and there were not happy

I would not recommend to anyone and I was really disappointment and I was not happy and never go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kardo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

My fourth time here although generally stay for a couple of nights only as working on a ship at bannana berth.
But Gabriel and his team try their hardest to make you welcome, not sure what the optionas are but this place is clean with working AC and a friendly bar and staff "Indira" at the forefront keeps everybody happy.
Prices reasonable

Room Tip: Insect spray a must for this location and a boat trip to placencia worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richieleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We again stayerd here on our annual mission trip and I wanted to update one thing and mention some things not in my previous review.
First, the wireless in now free.
Second, there are no fridges, microwaves, or phones in the rooms. Do have TVs with cable from the states.
The restaurant on site is still very good and attended by many in the village. Meals can be arranged around your schedule as your work allows you to come and go.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jamesff00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

I stayed here with a large group so I saw a few of the rooms and heard everyone’s experiences. The rooms are clean and spacious. There are two parts to Cardies but I think the second part, which is where I stayed, is owned by a neighbor who was away. Whatever room you have, it will be fine. The AC works great. We ate at the restaurant each night and the food was quite nice. They were accommodating to vegetarians. There is wireless for a price. We heard there were wireless “cards” in town, but they were out wherever we looked. There were about four internet cafes in town but none had wireless.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

I was on mission trip and Cardie's Hotel was used as home base. It is the best hotel in town. Unless you are staying in Placencia and coming across on the ferry this the best place to stay in Independence. By the way, for all of you map junkies, Independence is still listed as Alabama Wharf on most maps although it has not been called that for some time.

The hotel is divided into two buildings. One building looks unfinished but it is fine. Because of Belizean tax law, most buildings in the country have a little to finish, but its only cosmetic. Our room was spacious and very very clean. There was daily linen service. Beds were very comfortable. The restaurant / office was a short walk down a flowered walk. The owner, John, lives in a apartment below the restaurant. The parking area is secured by a fence and gate. Judging by the restaurant patrons and logos on vehicles most other business people visiting town use this hotel as well. It is located between the freighter dock and town. It is an easy walk into town and an easier bike ride and a cheap cab ride to the ferry dock. It has wireless but its not free. Nice restaurant with good food and nice prices.
If your coming to the area for vacation you might look to the peninsula (beaches, 'nuf said) but for any need on the mainland this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesff00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stann Creek hotels
0.0 mi away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
850 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
645 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
561 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nautical Inn
Nautical Inn
#1 of 3 in Seine Bight Village
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardie's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardie's Hotel

Address: 466 Big Creek Blvd | Independence Village, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Stann Creek
Also Known As:
Cardie's Hotel Belize/Stann Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing