We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodation Prior to Glover's Reef Trip”
Review of River House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River House Lodge
Reviewed 20 February 2014

12 of us who live in Belize (Ambergris Caye) stayed the night at the River House Lodge before and after our week-long stay at the Glover's Atoll offshore Belize. The staff was very friendly and accommodating -- providing excellent dinners and breakfasts, transport to and from the nearby boat dock where the Glover's boat was moored, and information about the area. The rooms were comfortable and roomy and the screened in swimming pool was a welcome feature. We would definitely recommend this lodging.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top get more of the breeze. Also make sure to bring insect repellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoNameBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

My 20-year old son and I stayed at the River House Lodge for two nights and left wishing we would have reserved more time for this part of our trip in Belize. Kara and everybody else was so friendly, and it had a great laid-back atomosphere. We went out fishing with their kayaks the first afternoon, then enjoyed the indoor pool and had drinks at the little bar that evening. Also watched a movie from their DVD selection. Levi took us on a fishing trip where we my son caught his first tarpon - actually one in the lagoon, and one in the river. We also caught snapper and barracuda. It was a blast! Levi is so knowledgable and a nice guy. The room itself was large and accomodating. It is also located only couple miles from the Sittee River Marina, and few miles from the Caribbean. We will definitely stay here again when we visit Belize again.

Room Tip: Liked being in unit #1 closest to river and pool/bar/office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DarrylMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We traveled to the area end of February beginning of June. Weather as great. Our time here was so relaxing. We had the place to ourselves, and the couple that manages full attention. They made us feel right at home. Lots of healthy laughs. Food was good. Clean, comfortable, Quiet! away from the hustle bustle. Learning life on the river was fun and educational. Swimming Pool was a treat and so refreshing. Lots of Birds, awesome!. Ask about guides to show you the area. We were treated well and we miss it. So don't hesitate to stop in and see the area and rest our head at the River House Lodge.

Room Tip: Upstairs have kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank colleen_mike33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Didn't really know what to expect...but once we arrived we loved it. My wife and I stayed in a kitchenette while my daughter and grandson stayed below us. With so much to see and do we were played out and in bed by 8 PM. We had the Lodge serve us breakfast and suppers with a Belizean flare. Orlanda and Desaree are fabulous cooks. Desaree was informative about everything Belizean. Levi and Rudy were super guides for the fishing, hikes and Snorkeling. We didn't want to leave. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the Pool, Dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ret60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Comfortable beds, excellent food prepared by the beautiful cooks Orlanda and Deseree, kind and friendly new managers Keith and Kara, owners Dodi and Quentin treated everyone like family, tour guide Levi and his helper Rudy were one of a kind (helpful, easygoing, friendly), beautiful senery, amazing tours, hikes and views. The snorkeling trip was something I could do all day. The crock tour was exciting. Happy I came to stay here for my first experience of Belize.. Already planning for the next time I come back. It was an amazing place to stay with the most kindest people I could ever have had the pleasure of meeting. Thank you River House Lodge. A place you can truly feel at home:)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angeleyes2031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed in a kichenette unit. Well stocked, clean and comfortable. The inn keeper was extremely helpful and friendly. Beds were comfortable and the AC was great.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The caretakers were very nice and kind to us. The place was very clean...albeit completely sterile. We felt like we were sleeping in a concrete bunker....or just a Holiday Inn along some random American highway. Then, there were the bugs. All night we were bitten by something, continuously. We closed the windows (they had bug screens), turned on the aircon and lit a bug coil. Still was eaten all night. Didn't get an ounce of sleep. Next morning we mentioned (kindly) something to the caretakers. Didn't believe us...and didn't offer any sort of partial refund for a night of hell. The bites felt like sandflies..but who knows. We switched beds (there were two in the room) and it made no difference. They were convinced we were full of it and kept saying 'but we spray everything down with Lysol after every guest.' Lysol does not kill bugs.

Room Tip: Jeez...this is a hard one. I'd say we found places with much more character...and less bugs...i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vetjuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverhouselodge, Manager at River House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Admittedly, there are insects in Sittee River, especially in the rainy season we are experiencing now. There are sandflies and mosquitos, as there are in many jungle areas in Belize, but we have never had guests have an issue with insects inside the rooms such as this before. We do our best to keep insects out of the rooms with proper screening and offer our guests mosquito coils and we also have insect repellent at the bar for guest use .We did not doubt or misbelieve you at all, we were just very shocked that you had this problem to the level you are mentioning. Our rooms are cleaned thoroughly after each use and as our housekeeper explained, we do use a disinfectant spray on all the mattresses after the bedding is removed. We take pride in the fact that our rooms are very clean. We do sincerely apologize for the problem you had and if you would like to email us directly at riverhouselodge@gmail.com, we would like to sort out the issue fairly. We appreciate and value our guests and their opinions and don't take anything that is said lightly and certainly did believe you when you mentioned it on your departure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stann Creek hotels
1.5 mi away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
869 reviews
14.8 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
3.0 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
649 reviews
1.5 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
18.7 mi away
Nautical Inn
Nautical Inn
#1 of 3 in Seine Bight Village
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River House Lodge

Address: Sittee River Road | Sittee River, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Stann Creek
Price Range: £53 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River House Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the beautiful Sittee River, just four miles from Hopkins, River House Lodge is an adventure waiting to happen. We have six beautiful rooms, each with two queen beds, TV/DVD's, nice big bathrooms, and screened porches. The three upstairs rooms have kitchenettes with everything you need to cook up a delightful meal right in your room. If you don't feel like cooking, join us for breakfast at our self serve breakfast bar, ask for a packed lunch to take on your adventures, or reserve your spot at our dinner table for a delicious Belizean meal, served overlooking the scenic river in our cozy dining area. While you are staying with us, ask about some of our local guided tours, maybe take a night cruise searching the banks of the Sittee River for a few crocodiles or take a hike in the nearby Mayflower Park to experience the rewards of a waterfall swim. While in the park jump on the zip-line to experience a full mile of fabulous views and supreme zip-line experience. No matter what you choose we are sure that you will love our location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your River House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River House Lodge Belize/Stann Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing