We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break Adventure Awaits!”
Review of Lost Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lost Reef Resort
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Stann Creek
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I had been to the Lost Reef before with a buddy of mine for an "Adult" trip and had a blast, so I had to return with my six year old son for spring break this year. I was not surprised to have another awesome time!

John, Lisa and the entire staff treated us like we were family, as usual. Food was great, room was comfortable and the fishing and snorkeling as well as the outing to Hideaway Caye were all worthy investments.

The Lost Reef Resort and Hideaway offers exceptional value and the people and scenery are awesome.

Riversdale is a quiet and comfortable little village and LRR&H will be on my travel plans every time I'm in the area, for sure!

Room Tip: I think Cabana 5 is the one right on the beach and the one I'd love to shoot for next time. I...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Allen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Lost Reef Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

We were there for the Superbowl and the week prior and the pizza/nachos and service is great. Can't beat the nice cold Belikins either!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darrell Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My husband and I live in Placencia and we own a Guest House here. We visit Lost Reef Resort often to spend the night in one of the cabanas where you can always hear the sea lapping at the shore. We consider it our vacation time even though it's just up the road from where we reside.

The pool is always refreshing and there are miles of beach that you can explore. Lisa and John are wonderful hosts, along with the staff. The food is awesome. Total relaxation in a paradise setting.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allyson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

if you want a true hideaway - this is the place. the rooms are small and plain but very clean. what makes this place so wonderful is the people who run it and all the locals who come to visit. we felt right at home and met some really fantastic people.
I hope to visit again there someday - hope to make it soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frichris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

The Lost Reef Resort staff delivers service which is unique due to the limited number of guests. This allows for individual preferences in lodging, meals and activities during your stay. LIsa personally arranges for all off site activities which eliminates the stress for the guests and allows them to truly relax in this very tranquil place. The restaurant and bar are attached to the resort which allows for a menu which features specials which are unique to the preferences of the chef and certainly the sea nearby. The socialization in the restaurant and bar caters to both guests and locals due to the quality of food and drink. The locals are quite friendly and are anxious to include guests in conversations much like the sitcom "cheers". This is of course not a demand if a guest would prefer privacy. It is, however a special touch that creates memories in a very short time. The cabanas are small but clean and well kept. They offer a bedroom and full bath which meets the needs of most guests. If there is a down side of the Lost Reef, its the fact it is not any closer to the US to revisit fast enough. This is place my husband and I will absolutely return to in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DocRe64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

After hearing and reading about the good things Placencia and Belize has to offer, we finally made the trip and we stayed at the Lost Reef Resort for one week. Located right on the beaches of the Caribbean, the Lost Reef is secluded enough to make you feel that you may be the only person on the planet. You have a beach front view of the Caribbean the moment you open the door of the cabana. The bar/ restaurant offers a variety of freshly made foods that are cooked to order. The homemade pizza was the icing on the cake for my wife who is a pizza tasting expert. While you enjoy the benefits of seclusion, you will need a ride to hit the excusions or to go into the down of Placencia. This is the only draw back. But this is no problem as the owners Lisa and John set up and arrange all trips to the Mayan ruins, snorkeling, zip linig, or cave tubing. No money has to exchange hands where payment is made when you settle up with the Lost Reef. A guide picks you up at the resort in a van and takes you to the various sites. Our guide Basillio has worked with the Lost Reef for the past five years. He is a great, out going, down to earth guy who accomodates any of your tour wishes or questions about the country. We spent two days with Basillio and there was never a dull or uncomfortable moment. He knows everyone at the excursions which is a plus. There are also taxi's to take you into Placencia. Overall a life changing experience and a great time. If you are on the fence about where to stay or whether to go to Belize, stay at the Lost Reef and John and Lisa will make sure you have a blast!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

Staff was very friendly and made us all feel at home. Owners were on site and very hospitable. They certainly made sure we had everything we needed. With the country's limited resources Lost Reef has done an excellent job to accommodate its guests. For beach-front property it is an extremely good value and the wildlife around the resort is amazing. However, if the occasional tree frog in your shower is an issue, maybe Lost Reef isn't for you. But we certainly loved it.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srarrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stann Creek hotels
5.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
643 reviews
19.9 mi away
Bonefish Hotel
Bonefish Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dangriga
23 reviews
10.5 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#12 of 20 in Placencia
241 reviews
6.4 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#10 of 20 in Placencia
371 reviews
10.0 mi away
Miller's Landing Resort
Miller's Landing Resort
#16 of 20 in Placencia
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Reef Resort

Address: Lost Reef | Riversdale, 000000, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Stann Creek
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Stann Creek
Price Range: £69 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, owner-operated beachfront hideaway, nestled in the quaint fishing village of Riversdale. Our "secluded" spot, 14 miles north of the Placencia airstrip and less than a half-hour's drive to Coxcomb Jaguar Preserve, offers an excellent base to explore both the ocean and jungle delights of Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lost Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Reef Hotel Hideaway
Lost Reef Resort Belize/Stann Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing