We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Different View of Belize”
Review of Lost Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lost Reef Resort
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Stann Creek
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Different View of Belize”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Very friendly, inviting hosts that were attentive yet allowed enjoyment of the space!
Lisa, John, and other guests were fun to talk with!
Food was very good! well and quickly prepared. Fish, of course, is dependent on availability. Might consider Lion Fish, if it comes on the menu.
Belikin beer kept cold and full ! Pool area was comfortable and refreshing.
Enjoyed the cabin which was kept clean and neat.
Location is great for "away" vacations. It is a little far for trips into Placencia without renting a car but able to take in more of the scenery, that way.

Room Tip: There is one cabin that faces the ocean with pool view for all the rest. Seabreeze reached everywher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bmax101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    7
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Placencia, Belize
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My daughter was married at Lost Reef in February. The 50 guests came from all over... the UK, USA, Canada, Italy, Australia, Honduras and Mexico as well as Belize. Festivities lasted for a week with many activities and most of the food centered around the Resort itself. Keeping all those people happy for that length of time is not easy, but John and Lisa certainly did. They went well above and beyond all expectations the entire time and the wedding/reception itself was unbelievable. From the delicious food beautifully presented, to the twinkling lights inside the tents and strung all over the property, to a specially created bamboo canopy on the beach festooned with palm branches and flowers, to an "aisle" delineated by palms and hibicus.... everything was perfect in every way. More important, everyone was treated like family and made to feel comfortable, relaxed and cared for. Kudos to John and Lisa! You're the best!!

Room Tip: Cabanas are clean but basic. The one facing the sea is the one to stay in if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LunaMar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selma, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I had been to the Lost Reef before with a buddy of mine for an "Adult" trip and had a blast, so I had to return with my six year old son for spring break this year. I was not surprised to have another awesome time!

John, Lisa and the entire staff treated us like we were family, as usual. Food was great, room was comfortable and the fishing and snorkeling as well as the outing to Hideaway Caye were all worthy investments.

The Lost Reef Resort and Hideaway offers exceptional value and the people and scenery are awesome.

Riversdale is a quiet and comfortable little village and LRR&H will be on my travel plans every time I'm in the area, for sure!

Room Tip: I think Cabana 5 is the one right on the beach and the one I'd love to shoot for next time. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Allen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We were there for the Superbowl and the week prior and the pizza/nachos and service is great. Can't beat the nice cold Belikins either!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darrell Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placencia, Belize
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My husband and I live in Placencia and we own a Guest House here. We visit Lost Reef Resort often to spend the night in one of the cabanas where you can always hear the sea lapping at the shore. We consider it our vacation time even though it's just up the road from where we reside.

The pool is always refreshing and there are miles of beach that you can explore. Lisa and John are wonderful hosts, along with the staff. The food is awesome. Total relaxation in a paradise setting.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allyson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

if you want a true hideaway - this is the place. the rooms are small and plain but very clean. what makes this place so wonderful is the people who run it and all the locals who come to visit. we felt right at home and met some really fantastic people.
I hope to visit again there someday - hope to make it soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frichris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

The Lost Reef Resort staff delivers service which is unique due to the limited number of guests. This allows for individual preferences in lodging, meals and activities during your stay. LIsa personally arranges for all off site activities which eliminates the stress for the guests and allows them to truly relax in this very tranquil place. The restaurant and bar are attached to the resort which allows for a menu which features specials which are unique to the preferences of the chef and certainly the sea nearby. The socialization in the restaurant and bar caters to both guests and locals due to the quality of food and drink. The locals are quite friendly and are anxious to include guests in conversations much like the sitcom "cheers". This is of course not a demand if a guest would prefer privacy. It is, however a special touch that creates memories in a very short time. The cabanas are small but clean and well kept. They offer a bedroom and full bath which meets the needs of most guests. If there is a down side of the Lost Reef, its the fact it is not any closer to the US to revisit fast enough. This is place my husband and I will absolutely return to in the future.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DocRe64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stann Creek hotels
5.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
10.5 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
13.0 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#13 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#10 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
6.0 mi away
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Green Parrot Beach Houses
#9 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
10.0 mi away
Miller's Landing Resort
Miller's Landing Resort
#15 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Reef Resort

Property: Lost Reef Resort
Address: Lost Reef | Riversdale, 000000, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Stann Creek
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Stann Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, owner-operated beachfront hideaway, nestled in the quaint fishing village of Riversdale. Our "secluded" spot, 14 miles north of the Placencia airstrip and less than a half-hour's drive to Coxcomb Jaguar Preserve, offers an excellent base to explore both the ocean and jungle delights of Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lost Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Reef Hotel Hideaway
Lost Reef Resort Belize/Stann Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing