We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxed piece of paradise with excellent service”
Review of Lost Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lost Reef Resort
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Stann Creek
Houston, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A relaxed piece of paradise with excellent service”
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Lisa and John D'Amore and the staff at Lost Reef go out of their way to make guests feel like family. From help with the pre-trip planning to arranging our tours with great local guides, from the fresh flowers in our room on arrival to preparing our fishing trip catch for a special dinner, from including us in on local shopping trips to Seine Beight and Placencia to fun evening chats and great food (even pizza!) in the bar with locals and expats - all of this made for a vacation we will never forget. As a home base for all of our tours (Monkey River, Cockcomb, Fishing/Snorkeling), our cabana was very comfortable (private bath, AC) with a view of the ocean, the freshwater pool and hammocks provided a refreshing end to each afternoon. Lost Reef and it's attention to service provides a quiet, off-the-path, relaxed, no worries vacation at a great price. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cparsons143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    7
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Lisa and John have managed to create a resort that allows them to treat their guests as individuals, rather than just holiday-makers. I stayed for two weeks and loved it. The cabanas are clean and comfortable and are set around the pool. To get to the beach you just walk 20 meters forward from the pool, which also overlooks the sea. I enjoyed all the food and the bar was always bustling in the evening. Friendly and helpful staff and a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkOllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2009

Just spent four nights at the Lost Reef and had a great time. If you're looking to get away from the "touristy" destinations and off the beaten path, this is the place to be. It's quiet, cozy, clean, and comfortable. The owners, John and Lisa, were very accomodating and made it a great stay. The locals were very friendly and gave it a neighborhood hang out vibe.

Their staff, Rosa and Maria, went above and beyond to make sure we had what we needed. Come with an appetite. The food is served in big portions and everything we tried tasted great. Be sure to ask for one of Rosa's huge shrimp burgers and definitely try Maria's bananas french toast. If what you're looking for is not on the menu, they'll definitely try to come up with something pleasing.

We stayed in cabana #5 right on the beachfront. It's small, but comfortable with the Caribean breeze blowing through. If you gotta have it, there's an AC unit in the cabana. If you can't get detached from your business world, wireless internet is available in the room. The towels are fresh, the sheets are clean, and it's a great view with your coffee in the morning or your after-dinner cigar.

We will definitely be heading back to the Lost Reef and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to "get lost" and get away from it all.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laidbacknchillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario, canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2009

My husband and I washed up here for three nights at the end of a two week trip to Belize. This turned out to be our best stop of all. The owners, John and Lisa, go out of their way to make everyone feel welcome. As the resort is situated by itself, on the road to Placencia the guests all enjoy getting to know each other around the pool, or in the evenings at the bar, and chatting with our hosts. A very quiet and relaxing mood, an excellent place to wind down and really good food.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank br-hermits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkins/Sittee Point Belize
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2009

Being owners of a Guest house here in Belize, when we need a break the Lost Reef Resort is where we go to get away. The air conditioned cabanas are clean, cozy and quiet with a view of the sea that never ends. The restaurant has that friendly, family atmosphere with a mouth watering Belizean/Italian/Gringo menu. Their Stromboli will make you weep it is so good, but you better have a big appetite. The Lost Reef Resort being centrally located on the Placencia road is an advantage for getting out and about either to Placencia or to the Southern Highway and the major tourist attractions. Nothing is more refreshing than jumping into the freshwater pool after a long day of hiking in the Cockscomb and sipping an ice cold Belikin. Plus they have one of the few walking beaches in Belize. Lisa & John made us feel right at home. We were lucky enough to be at the Lost Reef when Pop’s “John” & Marian (Lisa’s parents) happen to be there. Their warm smiles radiates the love in their hearts. We left the Lost Reef refreshed and renewed. Thank You Lisa & John for providing such a top knotch resort which we look forward to returning to year after year.
Gayle & Jack
Belize / Washington the State USA

  • Liked — Comfortable, clean and cozy
  • Disliked — Not a thing!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CRGH_Stormy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2007

Our trip to Placencia Belize was unforgettable due in part to the three days we spent at the Lost Reef Resort. The hospitality of owners Lisa and John was outstanding, when they greeted us we felt welcome but when Lisa smiled we felt like long lost relatives.

Our cabana was right on the sea where the waves lulled us to sleep each night and mornings greeted us with a spectacular sunrise over the water. Since the cabanas are for sleeping, our days were spent around the pool, in a hammock, on the patio and in the open air restaurant. Lisa, John and their staff made us feel right at home and the kitchen produced a variety of food from fresh local seafood to Lisa’s “Diego Burrito” elsewhere known as Stromboli (yes she is Italian and the pasta dishes are authentic). They easily accommodated Lee’s vegetarian diet since everything is completely fresh and cooked to order.

Our trip plan was to leave Placencia via car and drive through the mountains on our way to the Zoo and Maya ruins. For those unaccustomed to the dirt road of Placencia, it can be a rough ride and stopping to relax at Lost Reef provided a great way to breakup the trip. Arriving on Friday, we enjoyed dinner and drinks on the patio. Saturday was spent at the pool and kayaking on the sea. Sunday we even watched American football!

After the adventures of Monkey River and the relative bustle of Placencia Village, the Lost Reef gave us some much needed down time. We will surely include Lost Reef in our next visit.

Lee and Gil

  • Liked — The Hospitality
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilbruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2007

Great people who run the place, however alot of problems with utilities and quality of utilities. Food was abundant but average.
alot of sand flies and rooms were not clean. REALLY far away from town, not 15-20 minutes, about 40 minute ride from airstrip, 45-50 minutes from Placencia, and a 40$ taxi fee each way. Attractions on website are in Placencia and need to be driven to. Some more of the website attractions do not exist or are no longer available.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BigO1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stann Creek hotels
5.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
637 reviews
19.9 mi away
Bonefish Hotel
Bonefish Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dangriga
23 reviews
10.5 mi away
Villa Margarita
Villa Margarita
#7 of 11 in Hopkins
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Chaleanor Hotel
Chaleanor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Dangriga
129 reviews
6.4 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#9 of 19 in Placencia
369 reviews
6.0 mi away
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Green Parrot Beach Houses
#10 of 19 in Placencia
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Reef Resort

Property: Lost Reef Resort
Address: Lost Reef | Riversdale, 000000, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Stann Creek
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Stann Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, owner-operated beachfront hideaway, nestled in the quaint fishing village of Riversdale. Our "secluded" spot, 14 miles north of the Placencia airstrip and less than a half-hour's drive to Coxcomb Jaguar Preserve, offers an excellent base to explore both the ocean and jungle delights of Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lost Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Reef Hotel Hideaway
Lost Reef Resort Belize/Stann Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing