We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a safe and cheep place to stay in Dangriga”
Review of D's Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dangriga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
D's Hostel
littlehampton
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a safe and cheep place to stay in Dangriga”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

this place is a 10 minute walk from the bus station and easy to find . The lady who runs the place (D) is very helpful and welcoming but she does run a tight ship so she will explain all the rules to you.
you get clean sheets and towels on arrival and you make your own bed in the dorm. Warning!! it is quite tight fitting the bottom sheet so I lifted the matress out to get better access to it and I punctured the air mattress. these are apparently not able to be mended so I had to pay half towards a new mattress. the whole place was very clean and well maintained and breakfast is included in the price.
there are chill out areas outside and wifi and internet access. On the whole a good place to stay if you must stay in Dangriga.

Room Tip: I only saw one dorm but it was not too crowded with only 4 double bunks with room to spare. the mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    18
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
22
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

On first appearance this concrete box of a hostel might seem a little inhospitable but far from it. For BZ$25 a night you get a dorm bed and fresh breakfast of fruit, juice, coffee and a waffle. The location is also perfect with an uninterrupted view out to sea and an almost constant sea breeze that tempers both the humidity and the insects. On arrival I was greeted by Dana's dog, Maya (great name) and completed the formalities before collecting my bedding and being shown to my dorm. The dorms sleep 8 and are not mixed. Each bed comes with a fan but be ready for a squeaky night as you and your fellow travellers turn on the airbeds! The dorms face directly onto the seafront and, accordingly, are keypad entry. There are also large luggage lockers in the dorm so bring a padlock. The hostel is opposite a police station and a maximum 10 minute walk from the bus station and you can pretty much walk everywhere you need to get to in Dangriga with all the bars, restaurants and shops close by. There are tables and benches out front to sit and relax/talk/drink at with the Caribbean waves crashing against the shore just metres away. If you want beaches then travel further south to Placencia but this is an ideal spot to relax for a few days and possibly catch some live music.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBloggingPanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I had no expectations of this place since I just stumbled upon it, but it turned out to be good in all ways.

Spacious dorms with air mattresses (they get pumped every day and are quite comfortable actually). Clean and big bathroom. Balcony with hammock and small benches out in front. If sitting up in my bed I could see the waves rolling in (and a beautiful sunrise). Just out in front local kids play football every evening.

Breakfast is waffles with the local Marie Sharp jam. Wifi is super-fast. Powerplugs at every bed and your own fan.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon, Nicaragua
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is a lovely, clean, convenient place to stay in Dangriga. It's just a block off the town center but located right on the water, with chairs and a garden to sit and enjoy the view. The rooms are comfortable, clean and safe (there's even a police station next door that keeps watch over the area). The breakfast is delicious and generous and the owner, Dana, was very friendly and helpful during my stay. It's great deal for the money.

Room Tip: There are only dorm rooms available, but they're clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank International_Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The owner was very friendly and caring during our one-night stay. We liked the location by the beach and chairs and the huge cactus tree in the yard. Feel free to chat with the owner, she has tons of good advises.


It's good deal for the money.

Room Tip: Talk with the owner to put you in a dorm with less people. She will accomodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vancouver-mp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I was planning on staying at Val's (D's) during my recent trip, but when I arrived around mid-day, the sign said "closed." I had sent an e-mail a few weeks earlier asking some questions about the place and never received a reply. (I stayed there 2 years ago under the former name and wanted to know if any changes had been made.)

So, if it is closed for good/temporary, people should know. If it was just closed for an hour or so, then this is actually a negative review because what hotel (or even hostel) doesn't have someone around to receive travelers mid-day?

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank twinklette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

D's hostel was the perfect balance of hostel and guesthouse for us. D was a kind host who always offered her help with a friendly smile. The rooms were very clean, and her laundry service was the best I've come across yet! It was great value for money, and her waffles for breakfast were delicious! The wifi was super fast and the water was hot also. I'd highly recommend this hostel for travellers to see the true beauty of the Belizean people! x

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plip2dplop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dangriga
0.0 mi away
Chaleanor Hotel
Chaleanor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Dangriga
129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bonefish Hotel
Bonefish Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dangriga
23 reviews
8.8 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Funky Dodo Backpackers
8.6 mi away
Thatch Caye Resort
Thatch Caye Resort
#2 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
544 reviews
8.3 mi away
Coconut Row Guest House
Coconut Row Guest House
#1 of 20 in Hopkins
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D's Hostel

Property: D's Hostel
Address: Cnr. Mahogany Street & Sharp Street, Dangriga, Belize (Formerly Val's Backpacker Hostel)
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Dangriga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Dangriga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dś Hostel (formerly Valś Backpackers Hostel) has upped their services by serving breakfast from 7:00 a.m to 11:00 a.m.. We have a lovely rooftop we encourage our guests to go and relax and see the view of sunrise, sunset, moonrise, moonset ,seabreeze and if they choose to sun bathe, that too; and a grill is there if they would like to BBQ. This is the spot where guest can socialize with each other and exchange notes from travelling.We also now have telephone services to call anywhere in the world for BZ$5.00 for every 15 minutes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
D's Hostel Belize/Dangriga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing