We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this place at all costs”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Jungle Huts Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jungle Huts Resort
East Islip, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid this place at all costs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I brought a student group from the U.S. to this place. To start the dining room had no lights and the food was disgusting. The rooms were completely unacceptable. Most of the AC was non functioning, Bug larva and black mold on the sheets. Also, the cats and his kids were laying on the tables watching TV. Rat feces and roaches were everywhere. My pillow had blood stains all over it. It didn't even have fresh running water. It is saltwater showers and sinks. In fact in one of the rooms the shower head was a maxwell house coffee can with holes in it. Wires were exposed. We packed up and left driving 3.5 hours back to Belize City rather than stay there. Because the accommodations which were pre-arranged were not adequate beds were shoved into rooms. You had to climb over them to get in and out of the room. Obviously a fire hazard. Its student travel so we didn't expect the Ritz but this was disgusting. The best part is the owner. I have read the previous comments of how nice he is. That may be true. However, because of the room situation we had to have to have girls stay in a room that adjoined a boys room. There are no locks on the doors just a flimsy bolt. The owner said he would nail it shut. He didn't. I then asked him again he said he would do it, he didn't, finally after the third time he placed 2 screws in the door. He then on his way out handed the screw driver to the boys and told them to have a great night and that he was young once. Appalling Appalling Appalling. This is a 100% true account of our experience at this awful place. I just can't understand the positive reviews and would question them now that I have seen this place first hand.

Room Tip: No Pool if that matters to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank captjohnr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dangrigajunglehouse, Front Office Manager at Jungle Huts Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
The group we had visit us from the US, was obviously one group of people you can not please. The fact that we took pleasure in taking the time out to prepare for their arrival and also making reservation with a cultural group, as requested by the group coordinator, for that they showed absolutely no appreciation. Therefore the supper which was prepared for them, which they claim and said was disgusting was actually gobbled up by the group of students. They went at the food like animals with out control until we ended up having some of the students not being able to receive a plate of food from the buffet table. This indicated that they did like our food and to the fact that they did say this to the manager, that the food was good. Our supper is $18.00 BZ and the group ended up only paying $7.00 BZ. As for the reservation made with the Cultural group, they came in, so as to illustrate and perform some drumming and dancing activities for the night. The cultural group was given a bad check which couldn't be cashed, and the fact that the group was there they didn't have the decency to stay and watch the presentation which was to be performed by the cultural group.Needles to say that the cultural group was not paid for their services. Some would say that is being racial towards another persons culture, which was so unprofessional. Now the best part was when the head master of the student group came and asked the Manager to nail up the room doors which was adjacent to each other, due to the fact that he as an professor or head coordinator of the trip could not bring his students to an understanding and keep them under control . This was because they the students wanted to mingle with each other and have fun and because of this every thing turned sower and then false complaints started to come in about the flies, Mosquitoes, and the sand flies. Pretty much any where you go you will find Mosquitoes and flies even in the states .Which brings me to the bed bugs, we've never had any sort of bed bugs before. By all means Jungle Huts was awarded a certificate of excellence by TripAdvisor in 2013.and has been constantly renovating, In doing so, we had the time to place new Beds, new Matrices and new A.C unites in some of our rooms. The Shower head which was pointed out in the review was there only as a temporary position, as this rooms was only rented out to our construction workers.It was only because of there booking request we utilized this with there permission and because of the availability of the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    7
    2
    4
    6
See reviews for
3
15
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The dirtiest most horrible place ever! PVC Pipe and Plastic Bucket with holes for a shower-no Running fresh water-salt water from the showers. Blood stains on the linens as well as we think mold or insect eggs. Did I say Dirty? Dining room lighting was a string of Christmas lights. Owner not respectful. Did not stay-Drove three hours to a real place to stay. Dangriga not a favorable place to go.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dangrigajunglehouse, Manager at Jungle Huts Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dangriga is the culture Capital of Belize,a place as God has left it no sky rise building, no traffic lights, were people still greet you the time of the day. But not everyone knows how to respect another person culture, I've been to Sin City, I have seen the lights and have seen the slums hotels and horetels. As for the cultural shower head we had explained to the head of the Klan, that we had to use this room due to our booking at the time. I was never disrespectful to any one in this or in any other group before, I am a gentleman in nature and was brought up to be respectful to all. How could you say that Dangriga was awful, when all you did was drove around in your big fancy couch bus, never socialize with the natives, never went on any tours that was offered or to the Islands, dive or snorkel the second largest Barrier reef, visit Graggra wet lands Park . The group never stayed at the cultural drumming and dancing that was prearranged just as requested by the group, and later the cultural group was paid by the headman with a bad check . I am a little hurt of the lies and racial remarks made to , and about ME, my staff AND My establishment, about Dangriga and the people that lives here, if i might say i think your group acted racist. I want to say a little more,guest should be careful of the sensitivity of others and their culture and their way of life. Not every one lives in a glass house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brier, Washington
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

The cabana was cute with nice porch, had cold water and no handle on the inside of the door to the bathroom, so once you closed the door the person in the main room had to let you out. The wireless only worked in the restaurant area. Phil is charming and really wanted to make our stay enjoyable. Unfortunately his kitchen was not open while we were there and there is really nowhere to eat in town. I rained quite heavy during our stay and we had to wade through about 8 inches of water to get to and from our door.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

We arrived in the late afternoon to find the place in a bit of disarray, and the staff there had little idea about which room we were meant to be in, or if any of the rooms were even ready. They were unfriendly, unapologetic and we were getting close to heading off to find somewhere where they actually wanted our business.

Once the room was found, it wasn’t too bad. It was a bit grubby, the bathroom was very shabby, and the broken ceiling fan had been supplemented by a standing fan, but it was big and we had a decent night’s sleep.

The next morning, Phil, the owner, was around and went a long way to making up for the staff that checked us in the day before. He was hugely chatty, and served up the strangest combination of breakfast items we’ve had on the same plate: scrambled egg, beef chilli and blueberry bagels. All tasty in their own right, but I’m not sure they really go together!

For one night, it was perfectly acceptable but I don’t think we’d want to spend much longer there. But then the same applies to Dangriga.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acr606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Dangriga is a city with few vacationing amenities but Jungle Huts Resort can be very nice. The rooms were variable but had hot and cold water with some having air conditioning. The owner Phil was exceptional in trying to make our stay enjoyable. He went out of his way to find us a boat to our next destination. Additionally the restaurant where we were provided breakfast and dinner (inclusive in our room costs) was wonderful. Phil loves to cook and he and his staff produced some wonderful meals. He is repairing and updating the place so I expect it will continue to improve and would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teka0050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

We used the Lonely Planet Belize Guide to fin the Jungle Huts Resort after a long day of travel on our way to Glover's Atoll. We were greeted by a very nice young woman who showed us our room which had just been remodeled. Warm water shower and clean room...the bed was just a bit lumpy but doable. That evening, the man of the house, Phil, was there and what a wonderful host for the rest of our stay! They were not serving dinner there but pointed us in the right direction for a place to eat. The next morning, we had our own coffee along and Phil brought out the coffee maker and we shared a cup! A beautifully landscaped oasis in an otherwise city of dirt streets and open air. We really enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend it. Good wifi and very knowledgable host.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEDHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

It was a pleasure to spend two nights at the Jungle Huts with Phillip and Rebecca Usher and their lovely family. Room was spotless and very pleasant. Phil cooked lobster not once but TWICE for us as it was in season. The first meal was lobster done in a wonderful pineapple sauce. As a professional chef I can appreciate his abilities and it tasted "out of this world". To top it all off he prepared a lobster omelette for us for breakfast the day we left. I consider him an expert host and will recommend the Jungle Huts Resort to all I meet.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattimontreall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dangriga
0.5 mi away
Bonefish Hotel
Bonefish Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dangriga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chaleanor Hotel
Chaleanor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dangriga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
9.1 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fantasy Island Eco Resort
9.1 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Huts Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Huts Resort

Property: Jungle Huts Resort
Address: # 4 Ecumenical Drive | Dangriga,Stann Creek, Dangriga, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Dangriga
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Dangriga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jungle Huts Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungle Huts Resort is located near the North Stann Creek river in Dangriga, the Culture Capital of Belize. We have 16 rooms all airconditioned with ensuite bathrooms and hot and cold running water. Its private courtyard setting is perfect for large groups and the individual traveller.It is close enough to enjoy Dangriga during the day, secluded enough to relax at night. Its the perfect place to cool down after an adventurous day in Dangriga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jungle Huts Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Huts Resort Belize/Dangriga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing