We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great resort”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dangriga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pelican Beach - Dangriga
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dangriga
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great resort”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The staff here was pretty friendly and personable, with only one or two exceptions. The rooms were nice, and the water pressure in the showers was strong. There's cable TV in the rooms that gets relatively decent reception. The rooms are just a couple feet away from the beach, and have their own deck and hammock. Locals are allowed on the beach and in the restaurant, which adds to the culture and atmosphere of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    51
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
24
45
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Mi
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This is the real deal, authentic Belizean tropical feel, food, location and overall experience. The propery is very clean wih a nice variety of basic amenities. The staff is very helpful. The grounds are immaculate and the location is ideal and beautiful. Food and drinks are yummy.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IGoSomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmer, Alaska
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Very nice staff, we loved the fried jacks with powdered sugar. Big comfortable rooms, nice beds. The hot water only lasted about 5 mins each time we used it, though. Also, our room must have been open to the outside at some point because the hallway door had the glass louvers in it. The result was when a large and very loud group moved in accross the hall we could hear everything as if they were in our room with us. All night. Other than that we loved the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
180 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This is a very well maintained property a short distance from Dangriga. It appears to be an older hotel but in good condition and a beautiful location on the beach. The restaurant has out door sitting and is very pleasant in the evening. It is a good stop over hotel on your way to South Water Caye or other locations in Belize.

Room Tip: Most rooms are on the second floor and this is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LarryMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Stayed here just one night on our return from South Water Caye and really enjoyed the comfy bed in a very large room with a nice balcony overlooking the water. Choice of ceiling fan or A/C is great to have although we always prefer the fan with windows open and the tropical air. The restaurant patio was a great atmosphere for dining, the service was excellent and the food very tasty. The grounds and common areas of the hotel are maintained in excellent condition and the palms along the beach area make for nice shade for relaxing in. This is a great location for access to the coral reef, barrier islands and inland hiking areas for longer day trips. Great place to stay if you need to be in the Dangriga area. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Also, very convenient to the airport but no worries about the sound from the airport as they only fly small commuter planes and limited daytime hours.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have the best view. We were in the building that is separate from the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy102345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Some of these reviews are about southwater cay- which is amazing.
This review is for the mainland hotel. It is centrally located so you can have a nice walk through town though there really isn't much to see or do in Dangriga. The service at the hotel was not great, and the room was just about average for what you would expect in a town like Dangriga. I think this place only exists as a stopping point before you travel over to southwater or carrie bow cay (Carrie bow cay is strictly a research station, not for tourists). That being said it does have it's charms, just on the rustic side.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

My lady and I stayed at the Pelican Beach Resort for three nights in total, In addition to four nights at the Pelican resort at South Water Cayes. This review is only dealing with the service, or lack thereof, that we received in Dangriga's Pelican. Check in took forever, with staff not sure what to charge or which rooms were ready. They were rude to our taxi driver, who was a local Garafuna man. Once in the room, we discovered the hot water was non-existent and the WIFI spotty. We normally don't mind roughing it, but come to expect more when we pay relatively high rates. Traveller's tip: give this place a pass" but DO stay at the Pelican on South Water Cayes!

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dangriga
1.1 mi away
Chaleanor Hotel
Chaleanor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dangriga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bonefish Hotel
Bonefish Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dangriga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
10.3 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
30.9 mi away
Isla Marisol Resort
Isla Marisol Resort
#1 of 1 in Glovers Reef Atoll
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
14.8 mi away
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in South Water Caye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Beach - Dangriga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Beach - Dangriga

Property: Pelican Beach - Dangriga
Address: PO Box 2, Dangriga, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Dangriga
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dangriga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Beach - Dangriga 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two special locations, one great vacation in Dangriga and Southwater Caye! Dangriga, our inland gateway, has beachfront a/c rooms with large decks and tours to the jaguar reserve, Maya sites, horseback riding, cave-tubing and Garifuna Cultural experiences. Modern conference facilities and local entertainment make this an ideal location for families, honeymooners, weddings, business travel, educational and service groups! For the simple pleasures - spending time together, sharing new adventures and making new friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pelican Beach - Dangriga Hotel Dangriga
Pelican Beach Hotel
Pelican Beach - Dangriga Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing