We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Garden Cabanas in Placencia, Belize - a great place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Garden Cabanas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garden Cabanas
Phoenicia, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Garden Cabanas in Placencia, Belize - a great place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

My husband and I spent the month of February in Placencia, Belize. We stayed at the Garden Cabanas and I highly recommend the accommodation. Our cabana was clean, cozy, attractive, convenient to town (easy walk), roomy, nice kitchen, surrounded by grass and beautiful plantings, and comfortable. The owners are great people. We had a fantastic time!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank grammybyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    4
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
in transit
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2008

We arrived in Placencia after driving down from Chetumal, Mexico. We had checked out a few places online previously and thought the Garden Cabanas looked pretty good. We stopped by the office and were greeted by Veronique and Ana. Veronique was rather abrupt and none too friendly but we booked a cabana anyway. We moved our stuff in and were a bit unhappy to find the cabana rather dirty but we had already paid so felt that we could not go back and ask for it to be properly cleaned.

There was a dead frog laying in the sink and a condom!!! on the floor of the shower. EW! This really grossed me out and to top it all off I had to keep returning to the office to get my change which they never seemed to have and when they finally did I was shortchanged.

The cabanas themselves are cute but the dirtiness factor as well as having to return numerous times to the office put me off.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — How dirty the room was
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank joydrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Land O Lakes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2008

We stayed at the Garden Cabanas and they were very clean and "cute". We never stayed too long in our cabana as we were out adventuring during the day and up around "town" in the evening. Veronique and her assistant Anna were very pleasant and were very accomodating. It is a village that will probably explode within the next 5-10 years, so visit now while it still has that welcoming feel...

  • Liked — Cute and cozy
  • Disliked — not enough linens available
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rinnygirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2008

Garden Cabanas is a cute, funky, casual place which perfectly matches the laid back attitude of Placencia. You get your own cabana with two beds, a dining table and chairs, a kitchenette and a small bathroom. Each cabana has a small porch--great for having a cup of coffee in the morning or hanging your swimsuits to dry in the afternoon. You can easily stock your kitchen by shopping at the grocery store which is only a block away and the fish co-op (which also sells ice) on the sidewalk. We rented bicycles at a shop near the grocery store. It was a great way to cool off and also see the surrounding areas. This is the ideal place to stay if you want to feel like a local.

  • Liked — Big, open, Belizean-style cabana; open air windows; fits with the environment
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank trippinchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnigan Lake, BC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2008

We stayed at the Garden Cabanas in Feb, 2008 for a week before moving on to San Ignacio. The Cabana was perfect for the budget traveller. It was clean and comfortable with a small kitchen if you wanted to prepare your own meals. Although not on the beach, it was located in a quiet area in a beautiful garden setting and everything was just a short walk, beautiful beach, restaurants, stores, bars, etc. Overall Placencia was a great place to visit and our Cabana was comfortable, very reasonably priced and conveniently located. If you are looking for 5 star luxury give Garden Cabanas a pass, but if you are looking for a clean, comfortable, self contained unit at a very reasonable price then this is the place for you.

  • Liked — Location and convenience.
  • Disliked — Nothing in particular.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rccranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.0 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Placencia Hotel and Residences
0.0 mi away
Maya Breeze Inn
Maya Breeze Inn
#24 of 27 in Placencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Cabanas

Property: Garden Cabanas
Address: | Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Placencia
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a growing garden setting in beautiful "down town" Placencia Village; Garden Cabanas is the ideal hideaway for your visit to the Placencia Peninsula. While not located right on the beach Garden Cabanas' convenient location is just minutes - that's walking time, not driving time - from the most scenic and popular spots around. These newly built hardwood one-room cabanas are equipped with a full kitchen, one queen & one twin size bed and private bath with hot/cold/pressure. Ceiling fans add to the ever-present Caribbean breeze. Perfect for a couple or single traveler for a few nights or a few weeks, Garden Cabanas is the place for those that like to do their own thing while in paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden Cabanas Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing