We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Vacation Ever at Barnacle Bill's Beach Bungalow”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barnacle Bill's Beach Bungalows
Hinton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Ever at Barnacle Bill's Beach Bungalow”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at Barnacle Bill's Beach Bungalow January 23, 2014 to February 2, 2014 and had a great vacation. It was exactly what we were looking for; on the beach, private, within walking distance of great restaurant's, and great company and advice when we wanted. Bill and Adriane were always quick to reply and answer all questions before we travelled, booked our in country flights, picked us up at the Placencia Airstrip, offered us great advice on day trips, car rentals, and informed us of the great gelato at Tutti Frutti. We used the available kayaks and spent a great afternoon at False Caye just a 20 minute kayak from the beach and tried out their snorkeling gear. We spent a lot of time on the beach or in the hammock. It was great to have a kitchen to prepare breakfast and then dine out most nights. My only regret was that we should have booked a longer stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My wife and I spent about 10 days at Barnacle Bill's and it was amazing. Bill and Adriane were perfect hosts and were a great resource when it came to finding great food, planning a snorkeling trip or car/golf cart rentals. The bungalow was absolutely perfect for what we needed. Since it had a kitchen we were able to save some money by buying some groceries and making breakfast and lunch (also a few drinks) ourselves. The view from the property is amazing and we could hang out on the beach all day and not see one person walk by. When it came to transportation we found the easiest and most economical way to get around was by renting a golf cart. It was extremely convenient to drive down the peninsula into Placencia. We didn't spend a whole lot of time in Placencia but found it great to pick up some really good "cart" food as well as having cheaper fruit and vegetable stands.

Bottom line is that I would recommend this location for anybody looking for a relaxing vacation without all the tourist traps associated with some of the more marketed areas. The location is perfect for a quiet day, but close enough to quickly get into more populated areas if that is your desire.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zach S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon, and it fit our style right on. After spending time walking, and riding the bikes along the peninsula, we decided we had picked the best place to stay. Placencia proper is pretty busy, and lost many trees in a storm, while Maya Beach is more secluded and quiet. Bill and Adriane have a nice spot right on the beach, and we regularly took advantage of the bikes, kayaks, and porch hammock. The bungalow is basic, but we were inside so rarely, that it was fine for us. And they use rain water for their water source, which we loved! Although it was hot for us northerners, the window setup and ceiling fans kept us quite cool at night. We were without a car and phone, so Adriane was quiet helpful for setting a few activities up for us. There are several nearby restaurants, that we visited for dinner, and the grocery store had plenty of options for making breakfast at the bungalow. And Scurvy was nice company on the beach. If we come back to Belize, we'll be here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Kris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed a BBills in June 2013... with no AC the nights are to HOT to sleep.
Not sure how this issue can ever be resolved. The beach is littered with plastic
and junk the sea washes up. The clean up guy rakes the trash into the Ocean
and the waves wash the trash back up to the beach. Their is no reason to snorkel
because their is no coral and nothing to see... only sandy water washing over
the sea grass. Forget about kayaking to the island... it is a .5 -1mile paddle,
against the current and waves... Forget about walking the Beach Norht and South
of BBills because the trash and fallen trees means you end up out in the water
half the time....

When we arrive in July, the property nxt to Bills had been cleared/scraped with
a dozier and a construction shack had been built. Looks like a BIG House/small
Hotel is going in. One of the BBills Bungalows roof line hits the property line of the
new property owners lot. Which means the Jungle that used to "drape" the Bungalow
ss gone. Hope your vacation does not overlap with the construction of the new facility.

We adventured to the Jaguar Preserve and the Mayan Ruins in the South of Belize
as well as the city of Placentia to get away form the property because their is nothing
to do at BBills. Also, the poverty in the City of Sein Bein, directly South of BBills,
on the way to Placentia is horrible. Be aware.

Room Tip: pick the cabin away from the scraped lot nxt door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWJ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed at Barnacle Bill's 3/22/2013 - 3/30/2013. The best eight relaxing days on the beach.
Thanks to Bill for setting up the golf cart and advising us on the local eateries. This place is a true find if you want undisturbed private time on what seems to be your own beach. The property is kept in meticulous condition right down to the beach cruisers and kayaks. Kitchen was fully equiped with a full size refrigerator to keep your beers cold, or leftovers from the night before. Highly recommend this property, don't pass up the opportunity for serenity.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig_Cascio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

This place has it all. It's situated right on the beach where you can get up in the morning and enjoy your coffee with an incredible view. The bungalow has a kitchen where we could make breakfast and save money by making a couple of dinners. The market is just down the street so that was convenient. Bill and Adriane are very gracious hosts and we enjoyed chatting with them and finding out all about the area. Placencia is so nice and walkable. We took a trip down there one day and enjoyed shopping and eating. Ask Bill about the kayaks and take them out around the island. Just don't get on the island. I tried and was attacked by bugs! The sunset was amazing from the kayaks and the other side of the island is calm and unspoiled. It's much closer than it looks. Overall, I LOVED this place and I definitely would go back!!

Room Tip: Both are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed at Bills for Christmas Week 2011. I give Bill and his establishment the highest possible ratings ! I'd traveled to Belize many times but never made it to Maya Beach and Placencia. Bill and his advice made everything smooth and exceeded my expectations. Bill knows the deal of what is best to do and see and eat. I learned of his place from his blog which is called As the Coconuts Drop. Look it up, it is a blast. If you want air conditioning or a spa or maid service, go elsewhere- this is not the place for you. If you want to stay in an awesome cabana right on the beach with cool breezes and a relaxing private atmosphere then you've found it ! We will certainly be back when we return to Belize. Bill pointed us in the right direction for all our crazy excursions and gently swayed us away from our perhaps a little too crazy ideas. Look for our notes in his guest book on how to best spot a jaguar !

Room Tip: Two rooms only. Both equal and great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.0 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.0 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Green Parrot Beach Houses
#9 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Caribbean Beach Cabanas of Placencia
0.0 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#10 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.0 mi away
Captain Jak's Cabanas
Captain Jak's Cabanas
#14 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnacle Bill's Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnacle Bill's Beach Bungalows

Property: Barnacle Bill's Beach Bungalows
Address: 23 Maya Beach Way, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnacle Bill's has two bungalows on the beach, fully screened, queen size bed, sleeper sofa, two ceiling fans, floor fan, and full kitchens. Both bungalows are on stilts to help catch the sea breeze and enjoy the view of the Caribbean Sea. Our bungalows are self-accommodating. We provide you with all your needed supplies like sheets, towels and beach towels. Your kitchen comes equipped with refrigerator, microwave, toaster, two-burner stove, coffee maker, complimentary coffee, blender, cooking utensils, sugar, salt, pepper, and spices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barnacle Bill`s Beach Bungalows Hotel Placencia
Barnacle Bill's Beach Bungalows Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing