We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food but pricey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maya Beach Hotel Bistro

Maya Beach Hotel Bistro
Ranked #2 of 71 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$28
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, View, Kids, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We're certainly far from perfect, but we do try our best to create a winning experience for every single customer, whether they are hotel guests, Belizean neighbors or travelers staying at other hotels. Try pairing small plates with wines, choose from our creative main courses, or just enjoy some comfort food for breakfast or lunch. It's fun for us to meet new people and, well, just make them happy! Our casual beach bistro focuses on unique sauces and contemporary, tropical-themed flavor combinations while maintaining comfortable portions. Lots of fish and seafood. Bar service includes a 130-bottle wine list, local beer, rum drinks, and house specials. The outdoor atmosphere is casual so you can be comfortable in flip flops. Belize's "Restaurant of the Year" award was presented twice to the Bistro in June 2011 and May 2013.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food but pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

This place has great food and it is pricey for the area. about $15 for lunch and $25Us for dinner. I did expect it to be cheaper since it was Belize, but I have to say it is worth the money.

IF you are there for breakfast, try the cinnamon bun french toast (the best I have ever had)!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sweetpea077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,032
    140
    43
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

We had high expectations of this restaurant given the great reviews. We took a taxi from the town to the restaurant for a special night out. The taxi was $20US each way but given the reviews we were sure it would be worth it. We shared the appetizer plate with a mix of 4 appetizer two of which we really enjoyed and 2 were just ok. When I went to order my dinner, another customer at the next table facing me, overheard my order and subtly shook her head (as that was the entre she had in front of her and hand't enjoyed). Based on that I changes my order. Our meals were fine, but certainly nothing compared to the standout reviews we'd read on this site. If you are in the area and arrive with lower expectations you'll likely enjoy your meal. I wouldn't recommend making the trip from town as there are just as many good restaurants in town that don't require the taxi trip.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank afuzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious, 5 stars.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

Great meals, scenery. Perfect. I wish we ate their more, cause they are the best in the area. Hope we get to go back sometime and try more of their dishes.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brennandpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Placencia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

This is the best restaurant i have ever eaten, and my family and I lived in Manhattan for fifteen years! John in a incredibly talented chef, he makes use of all the wonderful local seafood and his main dishes were delicious. His assistant Chef Doug was a extremely interesting person to talk to and a culinary wizard. Ask for Cedric, the best waiter in Belize!

  • Visited December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yankeesfan606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything on the menu is awesome, service and atmosphere perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

The Fodor's guide states that the restaurant at the Maya Beach Hotel and Bistro is one of the best in Belize - and that is an understatement! We spent 10 days renting a house nearby, and ended up having half our meals there. The food is innovative, interesting, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. During our stay we had almost everything on the lunch and dinner menu, and all of it was excellent. Don't miss the nightly dinner specials - Snook fish with jerk sauce AND vanilla bean sauce? Awesome! Dessert fans will be happy with chocolate souffle, key lime pie, and the best chocolate cake ever. Couple this with friendly, attentive service, a view of the water, and a relaxed "come as you are" feel, and you have Carribean perfection.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChitraNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maya Beach Hotel Bistro also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Maya Beach Hotel Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing