We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance by the sea”

Maya Beach Hotel Bistro
Ranked #3 of 73 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$28
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We're certainly far from perfect, but we do try our best to create a winning experience for every single customer, whether they are hotel guests, Belizean neighbors or travelers staying at other hotels. Try pairing small plates with wines, choose from our creative main courses, or just enjoy some comfort food for breakfast or lunch. It's fun for us to meet new people and, well, just make them happy! Our casual beach bistro focuses on unique sauces and contemporary, tropical-themed flavor combinations while maintaining comfortable portions. Lots of fish and seafood. Bar service includes a 130-bottle wine list, local beer, rum drinks, and house specials. The outdoor atmosphere is casual so you can be comfortable in flip flops. Belize's "Restaurant of the Year" award was presented twice to the Bistro in June 2011 and May 2013.
Springfield, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Elegance by the sea”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Great food in a wonderful setting. We'd just come from a week deep in the jungle, and I was desperate for good food. How amazing to discover a "real" restaurant in such an unpopulated area. The choices were excellent--I started with roasted garlic, sweet tomato marmalade, goat cheese and crostini, had an excellent nut-crusted fish entree, and an AMAZING dark chocolate souffle that was as good as any dessert I've ever had anywhere.

We went back for breakfast, and later for another dinner--all excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dgkukal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlipFlopTheBeachCat, Owner at Maya Beach Hotel Bistro, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
We're flattered that you took the time to recall your experience at our Bistro. Thanks for that, and we're glad you discovered things on the menu that were memorable to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,112
    154
    48
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Belizean flare to the cuisine”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Loved the entire experience, but spicy takes on a new meaning here. Breakfasts were generous, and fresh baked cinnamon buns sliced to make French Toast !!! Lattes and Cappuccinos are perfecto!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank globalcamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Placenia area”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

A decent distance away placencia and the hotel and restaurant decor is sort of random but the food was absolutely delicious and reflected the region quite well but with a modern influence. The leek conch was superb (and I do mean superb) as were the fish cakes (spicy), pork chop, + good simple stuff for kids. Wine list was surprisingly extensive and service was excellent. The best restaurant that we found in the Placenia area. Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Voldar15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Visted Placencia for two weeks and dined at Maya Beach Bistro Twice! The drinks and food were awesome. Our server Sedgwick (hope the spelling is correct) was fantastic the first time as was the food. Asked for him the following week and he was just great! Highly recommend food, drinks and service. Hope to return again next year. Thank you so much!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kakiNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We ate several meals and felt that the food at this resort was fantastic. Our favorite was the fish specials, but truly everything we ordered was delicious. Would definitely eat here again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maya Beach Hotel Bistro also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Maya Beach Hotel Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing