We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Many of the perks of a small resort without the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Vacation Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Many of the perks of a small resort without the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Nice, quiet place to stay with our family with a lot of amenities for the price.

The hotel picked us up from the water taxi and were friendly and attentive. Upon check-in, we were given tickets good for a complimentary welcome drink at the bar.

Our room was clean and tidy, with nice touches like locally-built furniture and high-quality colorfully tiled bathroom. Our room had a large bed and two large bunks, which accommodated four adults nicely. A/C was cold and there was a ceiling fan, which made the room very comfortable, but if we wanted fresh air, we were out of luck given that our room only had a tiny window in the bathroom out to a small alley. But it wasn't a problem for us.

The hotel has a nice rooftop patio overlooking the water with tables, umbrellas and a covered jacuzzi. Though the hotel was at capacity, we had the entire area all to ourselves on multiple occasions, though I imagine this changes with the seasons.

They also offer complimentary use of their kayaks and bicycles, but you have to get to them early.

The hotel is a bit of a way from the Sidewalk (i.e. the main drag), but has a handful of restaurants in the general area, in addition to their own restaurant which is pretty good.

I would certainly recommend this place to families and we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: If catching the sea breeze in your room floats your boat, be sure to ask for a room with a proper wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    52
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
38
115
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had a few days to kill in Belize and decided to try the Paradise Hotel in Placencia. This was exactly what we were looking for. The city is beautiful, quiet and clean. We felt comfortable everywhere we went. The people were extremely nice. We borrowed bikes at the hotel and explored the town. It only takes a few minutes to ride from one end of town to the other. The water's a little murky, but that's common at all the beaches in this area. The hotel has a restaurant and bar. The food and drinks were great. If we're ever in the area, we'll make sure to spend a few days at the Paradise Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smagnani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just returned from a 10 day stay. It was my second stay here and I just want to mention that from the owner/operator, Alan, as well as the rest of the staff, everyone tries hard to make your stay pleasant and they can't do enough for you!

They have a new cook named John, who is doing terrific things in the kitchen.

For my money, I think it's the best value in Placencia.

John

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 906John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We had two rooms and 5 people. Rooms are clean, but the lower floor room was musty. Some times we had hot water and some times not. Staff is extremely helpful and fun. The view is great, morning and evening. Very out of the way, but easy to get to. We ate at the restaurant a few times and were ok with the food. Breakfast was better than the dinners, but over all not bad.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Timthebuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakbank
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Paradise is not easy to find as we all know but well worth searching for. We spent a week in room 12 at this resort and thouroughly enjoyed it. As others have mentioned, the staff are helpfull, friendly and courteous. Room 12 is the largest and is very nice with a bedroom and kitchen area. Fully outfitted for a longer stay if need be. Comes with a full size fridge and stove. Cool a/c which is nice but room does not seem to heat up that much without a/c being on. That is a mystery to me as it was very hot during our stay. The shower is good, tap water drinkable. When we were out around the hotel we did not even bother locking the door! Although there is no visible security, they have cameras and with the somewhat remote location there is no one wandering around that need not be there. We were close to everything in town, either a short walk or quick bike ride to get anywhere. Bikes have baskets if you need to pick up any supplies. We used the kayaks quite a bit and we were close to
beautiful locations to paddle around. The Resort is somewhat protected from winds that were acting up during our stay which provided us with a calm pleasant experience. I view it as the best location in Placentia. Brian in the office booked our flight back to Belize City as well as entertained me and was
quite helpful.
Maria picked us up and drove us back to the airport. Genuine people, very helpful. Sleeping at this place was wonderful! So quiet and peaceful it is.
We never ate many meals there but thoroughly enjoyed the ones we did. The daily lunch special is home cooked delicious. Drinks at the bar were made from scratch. One day I ordered Coconut Rum with Coconut water and the bartender opened a can of water that I recognized as imported from Thailand. When I pointed it out, he apologized. A few minutes later one of the workers appeared with a big step ladder, climbed up and fetched a few fresh coconuts from a nearby tree. A few minutes later, fresh coconut water for my drink! That is what I call SERVICE.
If you are looking for friendly service, a beautiful quiet spot to call home and still be very close to the busy little village, you can't go wrong with this place.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms with nice ocean view. Book ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank badavy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

It was soo much fun here! Clean, cold airconditioning, Alan the owner is great. Let them know when you arrive and they will pick you up! It is very close to everything . They lend you bikes and Kyack.
Everyone will feel welcome.
We flew tropic air from belize city!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maloree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darby, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed in room 12 while we were there. It was very nice and clean and decorated nice too. The first shower I took was luke warm. But all we had to do was mention it to the office and from then on we had nice warm showers. Thanks Sheldon! All of the help there was very friendly and helpful. And when it was time to leave we were even able to print our boarding passes there at the office. The meals we ate there were also very tasty. We also were able to use their bicycles and kayaks which was fun. We would stay there again!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
1.8 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
7.0 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
6.4 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
1.9 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#10 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
1.7 mi away
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Green Parrot Beach Houses
#9 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Vacation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Vacation Hotel

Property: Paradise Vacation Hotel
Address: Placencia Village, Stann Creek District, Belize, C.A., Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Resort is proudly owned by Alan & Deloris from Jacksonville Florida. They had a vision of creating and maintaining the perfect "Home away from Home" vacation spot in Placencia Belize Central America. Paradise Resort is located in the small village of Placencia at the south end of Placencia Peninsula overlooking the beautiful and inviting harbor. Our location provides you easy access to all of the activities in the village with a clean, safe, comfortable and affordable atmosphere. We are a full service resort with 12 rooms which include Cable TV, air-conditioning, a lock box for your valuables, Hot and Cold running water in tiled bathrooms. Our guests have access to our Jacuzzi on the roof-top, bikes, kayaks, in-room Wi-Fi and a full restaurant, and bar. We offer pick up and drop off from the airstrip. and also offer a shuttle to Belize City (inquire for cost) You will also find a full service gift shop, friendly staff and a relaxing atmosphere at the resort. We also offer 4 long term apartments with Wi-Fi, refrigerator, microwave, cable TV and private restroom. The scenery and family type atmosphere is tranquil and the only thing missing is you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Paradise Vacation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Paradise Vacation
Paradise Vacation Hotel Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing