We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still a wonderful find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Danube - CLOSED

Danube
Price range: US$0 - US$25
Cuisines: Austrian, Central European, German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: DANUBE Restaurant, EAT – DRINK – RELAX in a romantic atmosphere. A/C indoor, lounge area outdoor. Austrian and International Specialties, fish and vegetarian dishes, great desserts, large wine menu & cigars. Open TUE - SAT from 4.30pm.
Manhattan Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Still a wonderful find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

When you want a little break from the ordinary, Danube restaurant is just the thing--possibly the only Austrian restaurant in all of Central America. A charming yellow house at the south end of Sein Bight on east side the main North-South road, within easy walking distance of both Laru Beya Resort and Robert's Grove, is marked with a "Danube Restaurant" sign that you might not notice if you drive by. It's the place for a special meal of Austrian or Hungarian specialties, or one of their Belize-themed dishes. The wine list is a cut above that of other restaurants in the area, and is fairly priced. I recommend eating on the large screened porch on the front of the building if the weather is warm. Enjoy!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    9
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“just as good as the last time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

I've been to Danube several times on each of four trips to Belize. It's always great. Simone and Herbert are wonderful hosts, and everything about the food and presentation is always perfect. My husband and I visited twice this trip. The first time I had the Wiener schnitzel (with truly wonderful fries!) and tonight I had red snapper; both great. Both times we ordered the feta and olive appetizer, which was lovely too. Great wine list and my husband loves the addition of the dirty Austrian martini (it's hard to find martinis in Belize!). The decor and ambiance are wonderful too. All in all our favorite restaurant in Belize.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doolang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheektowaga, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food in the area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Had great experience at this great little restaurant. Very clean and cozy. Waitress was great. Cook was nice not often the cook comes out to ask how the food was.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“worth the short walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Just a 5 minute walk from Roberts Grove. The most beautiful building I have seen in the Placencia area. Great food and wonderful people to look after you made it a very special evening. Simone even phoned to confirm our massage the following day! When in Placencia don't miss this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MicMud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Authentic Austrian food. A unique find in Belize, definately different but in a good way. They only do dinner here so check times because you won't want to miss this.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Craig_Cascio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Danube also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing