We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ran like a swiss clock”
Review of Placencia Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Placencia Villas
Ranked #7 of 27 Placencia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2011

A A q Stayed at one world resort in placencia belize for 3 times this past year. The rooms are great. I did miss my bed at home, but overall awesome. Claudia makes sure you have what you need in your room. Coffeemaker? Check! Would recommend again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Docleather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2011

We lucked on One World while researching places to stay in Placencia online, and upon arrival it was EXACTLY what was promised (unusual in most circumstances): charming, clean, perfectly located, spacious, well-equipped, a step-above in terms of quality and service, and a ridiculously good deal. Placencia can be a bit hit-or-miss...it's still a little rustic and honky-tonk (from the typical American traveler P.O.V. I suppose), but One World is a little oasis of calm and pretty amidst it all. We rented the Angelfish Apartment, which is a one-bedroom w/ a full kitchen, couch, etc. because we wanted to be able to cook and hang out as we were there for 2 weeks. It became like our own place...nothing like that impersonal, limited hotel-room feel. There were pots and pans and plates and glasses and every sort of cooking utensil, coffee maker, full fridge, toaster, micro, etc Plus a laundry room! It was HOT, but the AC worked amazingly in the BR and the fans Claudia provided for the livingroom worked perfectly. We spent hours on the screened in porch reclining in the hammock and dozing. It became home for us. Claudia and the staff are gracious, friendly, and helpful. There's a very good restaurant called Rumfish right next door and also a rustic open air bar, the Pickled Parrot to hang out in, drink coconut rum drinks, and have snacks at and chat with locals and the cheery proprietresses, Wendy & Denise. We got a chance to look at the more basic(and even better deal!) studio apartments and they similarly equipped and charming. Great option for a one-week stay. We'll definitely be back. It was a perfect place to stay in Belize.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shane4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We stayed in the gecko studio which was very comfortable and extremely well equipped. The owner was welcoming, helpful and did all she could to ensure we enjoyed our stay in Placencia.
One World Rentals is well situated in the centre of Placencia where you can enjoy the local atmosphere and it's a very short walk from the beach and all the restaurants, shops and markets.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wheelybaggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

One World is well run by Swiss born Claudia Hardegger and her staff, Jose and Anita. It is situated just off the main road right in the center of Old Placencia Village, close to all restaurants and shops. It is a 3 minute shuffle to the beach out the back gate. There are 5 studio apartments and 3 larger units on top. During my 2 month stay I stayed in 4 of the studios and all were clean, new, cheerfully decorated and had well provisioned kitchenettes. Claudia is obsessive about cleanliness. It was a pleasure to experience. Service was very friendly and made me feel at home. Sometimes A/C is essential in Belize in spite of the awesome tradewinds and every unit has adequate A/C and fans. Claudia has invested in both internet providers, cable and telephone, so you cannot get a better, more consistent connection anywhere on the penninsula. I Skyped with family daily.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeyMan1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

If you like quiet, clean, cozy, comfortable accommodations then One World is for you. The owner was very helpful, pointing out places and things to do while in Belize.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texas2k01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We moved to one world after experiencing one of those, "don't need A/C in Belize, the breeeze blows though every evening ". You need A/C in belize in July August, unless you are acclimatized to sleeping in temperatures of aroung 80 degreesF
The room was very clean, the plumbing was immaculate, and the A/C was supreme. We slept like babys, and thats a key to good vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geboyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

Our family of 6 adults (aged 24-55) stayed here for a total of 4 weeks. While we missed meeting Claudia who was away for the month, we were very well looked after by the friendly and helpful Jose, who also looks after the property. Our reservations were handled promptly and efficiently by Claudia who worked with us as we switched dates and apartments and number of people at least a half dozen times! The location is great, right in the thick of things in 'downtown' Placencia so that you feel part of the everyday life of this quirky little village, but set back far enough from the 'main road' so that it is private. Take the 'downtown' and 'main road' references in the spirit of fun I write this in -> Placencia - population 1000 or less! The apartments were well maintained, had ample hot water, the security was good, the screened in porch of the Angelfish a lovely, private retreat, and the fully equipped kitchens a marvel as we cooked at least half our dinners - fish and lobster bought cheap from the fishermens' co-op by the main dock, fresh fruits and vegetables from Perez's produce shop behind Omar's or the produce truck that stops regularly across from Tutti Fruitti Gelato shop (which is 25 steps or less from One World Rentals! Delicious!

I'd heartily recommend One World Rentals to anyone who wants true value and likes to be immersed in the local life. Thanks Claudia and Jose!

BC, Canada

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wordgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
7.4 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#11 of 20 in Placencia
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Serenade Hotel
Serenade Hotel
#18 of 27 in Placencia
57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Captain Jak's Cabanas
Captain Jak's Cabanas
#15 of 20 in Placencia
127 reviews
7 mi away
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Green Parrot Beach Houses
#12 of 20 in Placencia
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Placencia Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Placencia Villas

Address: Placencia downtown, Placencia, Belize (Formerly One World Rentals)
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Placencia
Price Range: £61 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Placencia Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Placencia Village is a home away from home. No need for a car or golf cart, you can walk to the most beautiful beaches in Belize and the best restaurants in Placencia. Enjoy our beautiful gardens, beaches 300 feet away and the numerous nature tours of Placencia, all while sleeping comfortable and sound in our Villas. They are located on an attractive property with a beautiful courtyard, close to shopping and restaurants. All immaculate units are fully and tastefully furnished, have a fully equipped kitchen or kitchenette, cable TV, air-conditioning and free wireless internet access. The popular "One World Gift Shop" and a public laundromat are also onsite. Jaime and Steve (the owners) will try her best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Placencia Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Placencia Villas Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing