We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place!”
Review of One World Rentals

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
One World Rentals
Ranked #5 of 26 Placencia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We stayed for 10 days in November. Our original room was a smaller studio unit on the lower level . When we arrived Claudia upgraded us for no extra charge to the Blue Angelfish unit. I can't say enough nice things about this unit. Very clean, comfortable, and well stocked. We especially enjoyed the screened in porch. Claudia was very accommodating and checked us frequently to make sure we had everything we needed. I also felt the unit was very safe and secure.

It's a short walk to the beach and has a great central location.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    27
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
43
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I spent 11 days at One world, Claudia is the boss. She checks in on your stay (and your vacation) daily), and runs a tight ship. $50 a night in the slow season for two people? I would have paid $130 and not batted an eye. Great souvenir shop as well. This will be my go to in the future.

Room Tip: The villas above are the place to be, but no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I've stayed at One World Rentals a couple of times in the past couple of years. I always look forward to staying there. Each room has a great little kitchen. We actually cook ourselves breakfast when we stay. A nice table and chairs and great bed/television/bathroom etc. Everything you need to be totally independent, and eat as and when you want, and what you want. Close to everything in Placencia, and easy walk to all restaurants and tours etc. It doesn't get better than this.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, they surround a small little patio, well shaded in the heat. Hammocks av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gkinuae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Dalles, Oregon
Level Contributor
327 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We really loved being in the heart of town, close to restaurants, shopping, beach, everything! Our apartment (The Hummingbird) was cute, comfortable, nicely appointed, and everything worked well - ac, locks, hot water, stove, micro, cable. Normally we don't care to have a tv in the room but we were there during the 2012 summer Olympics and loved watching in between outdoor adventures. It's a block or 2 from the beach but the views from the windows of well tended sandy/palm-treed areas was sufficient for us.

We had wondered if local restaurants and clubs would be loud, staying in the heart of the village, but that was not the case. It was low season, which helped, but the (very friendly and helpful!) owner Claudia said that an ownership change at the nearby Purple Space Monkey has meant a return to respectful and appropriate noise levels. There's a nice book swap onsite and laundry service and self serve are available.

We prepared most of our own meals (good grocery and produce stand access within a block) but enjoyed a lunch out at Brenda's (plenty of leftovers for a 2nd meal) and a stellar dinner at Dawn's Grill N Go. We bought bread, cinnamon buns, and delicious little meat pies at John the Bakerman's which was a joy for the cultural experience as well as for the food.

Our Monkey River trip with Jason Williams and my husband's flyfishing trip with Wayne Castellanos were highlights. It was a bit tough to find a dive shop going out (low season) but I eventually ran into others with interest and put together a group with Seahorse which I enjoyed. Kimberlee Chanona at Up Close Belize was helpful for all of the above - she made the arrangements and handled the finances. Her office is next door to One World so couldn't have been easier to access.

Here's a link to my blog post about our time in and around Placencia:
http://hopefulistinlatinamerica.blogspot.com/2012/08/placencia.html

We loved our apartment, the town is cute, and we enjoyed our stay, though as an avid snorkeler and diver I might not choose Placencia again because the reef is so far away. If we do return, I wouldn't consider staying anywhere but One World - highly recommended!

Room Tip: Talk to Claudia about your needs - she can match you to the best choice if you reserve in advance. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopefulist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ignacio, Belize
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Nice, clean, comfortable rooms ! Central location close to beach, shops, and restaurants. The room came equipped with a fridge, stove, microwave, coffee maker, all pots, pans, and dishes.

The screened porch was an extra special added touch.

Claudia, and her staff could not have been more helpful with their recommendations

The price was also very reasonable.

When I return to Placencia, I will definitely stay at One World, and will highly recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I have stayed here several times. They are great places, always clean, and a super value. The owner is local and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed for a week at One World in Placencia. Claudia was fantastic and she made sure we enjoyed our trip. She was helpful with excursions planning and even helped me track down lost luggage.

I will stay again at One World when going back to Placencia.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
7.4 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
3.0 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.8 mi away
Captain Jak's Cabanas
Captain Jak's Cabanas
#14 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One World Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One World Rentals

Property: One World Rentals
Address: Placencia, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Placencia Village is a home away from home. No need for a car or golf cart, you can walk to the most beautiful beaches in Belize and the best restaurants in Placencia. Enjoy our beautiful gardens, beaches 300 feet away and the numerous nature tours of Placencia, all while sleeping comfortable and sound in our Villas. They are located on an attractive property with a beautiful courtyard, close to shopping and restaurants. All immaculate units are fully and tastefully furnished, have a fully equipped kitchen or kitchenette, cable TV, air-conditioning and free wireless internet access. The popular "One World Gift Shop" and a public laundromat are also onsite. Jaime and Steve (the owners) will try her best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your One World Rentals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One World Rentals Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing