We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay just outside the village” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Decked Out House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Decked Out House
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay just outside the village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We rented the studio suite for 8 days. Enjoyed our stay.
Swimming off the docks in the calm lagoon was a great way to cool down. Bikes, kayaks, and complimentary wifi at our disposal.
Far enough out of town to be quit, a 5 minute bike to the pier, so close enough to enjoy town too.
House sitter doesn't know as much about area as I expected, he tried to be helpful. Linda, the owner, was wonderful.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCE77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
4
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Benque Viejo del Carmen, Belize
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

I loved the Decked Out House! A group of 9 friends rented the whole Decked Out House for a weekend getaway. We were amazed at all the rooms we kept discovering. We were so enthralled with how beautiful it was that some of us literally sang from the top deck roof. The house was absolutely beautiful both inside and out! The setting between the two canals makes for a beautiful view of the sunrise and sunset over the lagoon and mountains off in the distance. The rooms were very clean and so comfortable. The furnishings and woodwork were lovely. The house-keeper was very nice and accommodating. The house was well stocked with convenient appliances. The price was very affordable. I wish we had the time to stay for a whole week. I wished I could have spent an hour on every porch deck because of the many different beautiful perspectives the house offered. The whole house is a great place to stay for a large family, for a family reunion, or for a group of friends. A couple could also stay in one of the apartments or rooms for a romantic getaway. I would recommend the Decked Out House to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThatAllMightBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

Great hospitality from the Decked Out House's friendly and accomodating owners. Beautifully designed home built with local exotic timber giving the entire place a rich, inviting and warm ambience. Water, water everywhere!!!! You can swim in your own salt water "pool" right behind the decked out house which is actually a beautiful wide canal that opens to the sea or sit on the opposite side deck and watch the motor boats go by on their way yo town. If you like the beach, a beautiful sandy beach is just a 5 minute walk down the block. No car needed at Decked Out House. Grocery stores, good restaurants and one of the best Ice cream shops in all of Central America are just a 10 - 15 minute walk away. Great relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shabuya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
32lambchop
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2009

I stayed in the studio of Decked Out House as a single guy. As I was on budget I booked it because it has a kitchen, is in town and was affordable. I was pleasntly surprised that it was so big and nice. The large deck was the best part. At night the lights reflect off the water that is just a few feet infront of the deck for a killer view. I used the bike every day for not extra charge - and a kayak on a couple of days.

The only drawback is that the main bed is double rather than queen and since I am tall slept on the single which was extra long.

Staff was freinfly and helpful - I would book there again if I am lucky enought to go back to Placencia.

Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank 32lambchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

Decked Out House is even better than its photos. It is particularly well suited for families. Our party considered of 6 adults and 4 young children. The house is exceptionally large and well decorated with gorgeous woods, tile, granite counter tops, etc. Every room and deck had a waterfront view. There are two kitchens one on each of the two upper levels which we appreciated as we were 2 families. Besides being very attractive and huge, the house is fun with its humorous decorative touches, games, bikes, kayak, kid’s loft and swimming right off its dock.

We were surprisingly comfortable, temperature wise, particularly on the decks and upper levels that were cooled by sea breeze. We never turned on the TV room air-conditioner as we much preferred having the house’s many open-air windows and French doors fully open.

All of us were very pleased with the house and the service received. One of the best features of the house was the price. We definitely got a lot for our dollars. I highly recommend Decked Out House, particularly to families.

Joslin Salmon
San Diego

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jollyfish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

I enjoyed the beautiful decor and furnishings. It was comfortable and quiet in a peaceful neighborhood. The view is spectacular from all around the house. The garden and beach like yard with dock access to the lagoon for swimming was a extra bonus.

It's location to the village was just a short bike ride or leisurely walk away and offered several fine moderately priced eateries. Excellent snorkeling and diving tours are also available at the local dive shops.

The staff was quite friendly and helpful. If one wants the pleasures of fun, relaxation and adventure at very reasonable rates, I highly recommend staying at Decked Out House.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snorkelingjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2009

We just returned from a 2 week trip to Belize. We spent the last 5 nights in Placencia and rented the top 2 floors of the "Decked Out House" (www.deckedouthouse.com"). We were 6 adults and 4 toddlers. It was absolutely perfect for what we needed. The house is pristine, immaculate and huge! There are loads of rooms and closet space and each floor is self-contained with multiple bathrooms and two beautiful kitchens. Linda - the owner - went out of her way to help arrange our stay in Belize. She suggested we spend 1 night at the Belize Zoo, which was such a highlight and she also helped book our flights. She was kind, considerate and incredibly helpful. The house is not on the beach per se, but a 2 minute walk away, but it IS on the lagoon and so perfect for kayaking. The house includes 4 bikes, 2 kayaks and a canoe. It is perfectly supplied. While the house is high end in its finishings etc, Linda also worked with us so that we could stay within our budget. We will absolutely go back.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFinneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
4.5 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
4.3 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
6.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#13 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
4.4 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
5.9 mi away
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Green Parrot Beach Houses
#9 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decked Out House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decked Out House

Property: Decked Out House
Address: 32 Harbour Place, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly Placencia Village vacation rental, which is named for its designer decor and numerous spacious decks. Swim, fish, kayak, or canoe off its private dock. The configuration and size of accommodation is customized to guest’s needs, size and budget. Rent studio, 2,3, 4+ or 5+ bedroom apt/house with kitchen(s). Main floor level offers luxurious great room which has a sit down dining for up to 18 guests. The house has 16 beds of various sizes. Maximum accepted guests is 18.Complimentary are bicycles, DSL, kayaks, canoe, and TV. Decked Out House offers a convenient village location - walk to shops, sea and resturants in just a few minuts. . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Decked Out House Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing