We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decked out House part of our Dream Vacation”
Review of Decked Out House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Decked Out House
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed at the house with 15 people ranging from 9 - 75. The three seniors stayed on the 3rd floor suite and lived like queens up there. Six kids slept in the family room and loft. The kids had more than enough room for all their stuff to be spread from one end to the other. They were able to sleep with doors wide open and there were also lots of ceiling and portable fans to keep the air moving. Two couples slept on the second floor with the ac. but they didn't dare speak of it too often! My husband and I slept in studio and we had tons of room. It was great room to keep all the drinks for you walk right out to the deck where the we swam, kayaked and canoed. We cooked and ate together and it was no problem with such a large group. We could also have privacy in so many places around the house outside and in if anyone chose. The towels were plentiful and it was handy having a washing machine so we could pack light. The location was awesome. Linda and Darryl were both excellent with our group for at times we were worried about all the clothes and sand everywhere but they were very patient and helpful always. I cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 40belowManitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Decked Out House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2013

This place is simply superb. We rented out the whole place (spread over three floors) for about 10 nights. The accommodation can't be faulted. It is a wonderful airy building with excellent views and only 5 mins walk from everything that Placencia has to offer. It is quiet too as it is far enough from the town centre so one is not disturbed. Darrell was always on hand, but never intrusive. He was a great source of information and help to us. If I go back to Belize, this is where I am going to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I took five friends for a birthday celebration in Placencia. From our arrival to our departure two weeks later the visit was wonderful. Linda has done a superb job of making the house comfortable and well equipped for visitors. I would be remiss if I failed in mentioning as part of equipping the house Darrell our host is terrific. If we needed anything Darrell could provide. Excursions. got that, info on where to eat, no problem, a fourth hand for UNO, he was in. Thanks to both of you for a great time.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oregoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed at the decked out house for 9 nights and it was great. Having bikes, kayaks, and a canoe available made it even better. It's the perfect location just on the outside of town on the canal so it's quiet and residential. A grocery is just around the corner and the perfect Caribbean beach across the street. Darrel was really helpful with ideas on things to do and he was also there just to sit around on the deck with and chat. It's nice to chat with the other guests as well.
When we arrived we were upgraded from the third floor to the second for the same price due to a scheduling conflict. It was just the 2 of us so we had the huge second floor all to ourselves. The master bedroom is air conditioned and coming from Alaska we did use it. Plus, it helps to drown out noise from the third floor and early morning construction. Both houses next to the decked out house were being worked on, I think one of them is done, but the other was burned on the inside so that might go on for a while. Once you get on the early tropical schedule it's not a problem.
Linda was helpful to us as she mailed my husband's dive book to Dangriga for us. She also had a lot of great ideas on things to do.
I wanted to rate the house as a 4.5 but that doesn't seem to be an option. The only reason why I don't rate it as a 5 is because the second bedroom is more like a small sitting room with benches for beds so if you were there with 2 couples it really wouldn't work. The light and fan switches are random (neatly made labels would help) and the fry pan needs to be replaced. It is also pretty loud when people walk or talk above you. Nothing that would keep me from recommending this place though.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank McMShopGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Nice, big, beautiful house that is well located. Ideal for our multi-generational family get together. Grandma had the ground level suite, the couples in the bedrooms upstairs and the kids on the many beds tucked away in lofts and side room. Well located with easy access to town and a nice spot to swim out the front door. Darryl was great at helping us navigate Placencia and in arranging side trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VancouverBCSmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The decked out house was perfect for our family vacation. The house is clean and spacious . The breezes blow through the house so all the doors and windows can be left open. The attention to detail in house design and decor is beautiful. We spent allot of time on the decks surrounding the house; enjoying spectacular sunrises and sunsets. We dubbed the roof deck the crows nest . The neighborhood was peaceful and quiet and Placencia village was just a short walk and very picturesque. The white sand beach yard and garden with the Palapa was really a great place to lounge. Swimming off the dock there was a big plus for us having small children. The dolphin faucets in the bathroom were a real hit with our 5 grandkids ranging from 1-14. We all really loved the outdoor shower, the house canoe, bicycles and fishing right off the dock.
The Great Room let us all be together but we also had privacy due to the design of the house. The large spacious kitchen was really nice because we cook together and there was plenty of room for all our family chefs! The kids really enjoyed the games and the treasure hunt game with clues throughout the house. Despite the good Wi-Fi connection the kids unplugged on their own and played the various board games
The dolphin faucets in the bathroom were a real hit with our 5 grandkids ranging from 1-14. We all really loved the outdoor shower, the house canoe, bicycles, swimming and fishing right off the dock.
Linda the owner was so helpful in providing us information on the area sites and found really great places to sightsee. The site staff were friendly and helpful. We plan to go back in 2013 for our 25th wedding anniversary. I highly recommend the decked out house for your next vacation weather you have a big family or are traveling solo.!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

8 of us stayed at Decked Out House over New Years to celebrate one of us turning 40. It was terrific. The house was great, location was very convenient, it was affordable, Linda and Darryl were super helpful and Placencia was beautiful and so laid back. If you go, make sure you do some tours with Monkey River Alfred. He's the greatest! I'd go back in a second!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
4.3 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
777 reviews
4.3 mi away
Caribbean Beach Cabanas of Placencia
6.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
643 reviews
5.6 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#10 of 20 in Placencia
371 reviews
3.9 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#7 of 20 in Placencia
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decked Out House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decked Out House

Address: 32 Harbour Place, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Placencia
Price Range: £48 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly Placencia Village vacation rental, which is named for its designer decor and numerous spacious decks. Swim, fish, kayak, or canoe off its private dock. The configuration and size of accommodation is customized to guest’s needs, size and budget. Rent studio, 2,3, 4+ or 5+ bedroom apt/house with kitchen(s). Main floor level offers luxurious great room which has a sit down dining for up to 18 guests. The house has 16 beds of various sizes. Maximum accepted guests is 18.Complimentary are bicycles, DSL, kayaks, canoe, and TV. Decked Out House offers a convenient village location - walk to shops, sea and resturants in just a few minuts. . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Decked Out House Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing