We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for 2 couples!”
Review of Maya Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maya Lodge
Monticello, MO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place for 2 couples!”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Good location. Right on the canal right where the water taxis travel for tours. Located close to two big grocery stores and close to several restaurants, all within walking distance. House very big and spacious, plenty of room for 2 couples to coincide in comfort. Each bedroom has a queen-size bed and its own separate bathroom. No need for air conditioning because the house has great cross-breezes and ceiling fans. Balconies have beautiful views of the western skyline. Priced reasonably. Stephano was a great host.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smurfwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Our first adventure out of the country (USA) and we couldn't have chosen better. The house was spacious, breezy, perfectly located (close to the village for walking and far enough away for privacy) and well equipped. The owners were so helpful and easy to work with - gave us many good tips. Stephano was lovely - quite a character and there whenever we needed him - which was not often. Being able to take a dip in the canal was so convenient and easy. The sunsets from the top balcony gave us some of our best photos and the neighbor playing Taps at the sunset hour became our only "clock". We can't recommend this home enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 269susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed here with another couple and the place is lovely. Very roomy with beautiful wood throughout. There are balconies on both sides and another one on top. Two of the balconies overlook the channel which we swam in everyday. Because the owners don't live here one has a sense of independence. The manager Stephano is helpful, but not intrusive. On the negative side, we were woken nightly by the neighbouring dogs who bark constantly at any sound. Not the fault of the Maya Lodge but good to know in case you want to bring ear plugs. Also the water pressure decreases as the day goes on so have your shower early. This is a perfect place for a family as well. The walk to the village is short. All in all it was a wonderful experience and we would recommend it.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WinnieManitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Park, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This spacious house is full of beautiful native hardwood. It is right on a harbor canal where people can swim so no pool is necessary. The kitchen is fully equipped making us happy since my wife, Marty likes to experiment with the local foods (vegetables, fruit, fish, etc.) to see what she can cook up. The are two well stocked supermarkets within a five minute walk and a ten minute walk into the heart of Placencia village gets one within reach of several fresh fruit/vegetable stands. John the Baker Man on Westby walk bakes the best breads and cinnamon rolls in town. The village is well stocked with restaurants and cafes. For those interested in amateur radio, Maya Lodge's location is ideal on the salt water harbor canal with more salt water and mangrove swamp very close by.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
198 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Belize is pretty much a breeze for foreign travelers. And here at Maya Lodge that "breeze" is both figurative and literal, as on the hottest day this airy second floor structure, situated above a scenic canal, is real and welcoming. The canal affords access to the sea, and catamarans and other sailboats make the inlet a port. The canal is lined with other nice homes. In front of the structure is a parallel dock from which one can take a cool dip in clear water. The lodge boasts two queen bedrooms, an armory in each, adjacent bathrooms with showers. Above a sleeping loft provides two more beds at either end of the loft and a "crows-nest" walkout. There is a large living dinning area. The kitchen has gas stove, refrigerator, microwave, juicer, toaster, coffee pot, ample table service. There is a large walk -in linen closet, abundant bed linen and towels and a clothes washing machine. The structure also sports two large decks, front and back.
The lodge is just off the main road where there is a well appointed grocery and the Atlantic Bank ( ATM ) within meters. It is a short walk to all points within the village. At the same time, it is sufficiently removed from the town center and there is little late night noise. Also, the Placencia constabulary provides foot patrol security. My companion and I spent two weeks here in January, 2013. A family would find the lodgings comfortable for a stay of equal length and longer. My highest recommendation is that I would not hesitate to stay here again should I decide to spend time on the Southern coast of Belize.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganZumbido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fredericton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This was the perfect spot for a group of friends.. I loved the location very closed to the action but not in it, quiet location....well with a few barking dogs around. very beautiful deck to enjoy awesome sunsets, and the lagoon right at your footstep to jump in! very beautiful house!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Stayed here for the week before Christmas. Stefano met us at the property which is situated on the Lagoon side of the village. The property is situated in a really good area, and you only have to see that most of the best properties in Speciality Lodgings here are found in Harbour Place. He was really helpful. There is no microwave in the property, which we needed to sterilise our baby's bottles. He went off and came back half hour later with one we could borrow for our stay.
The property is well kitted out, gas cooker and large fridge, good blender, which was great to make fresh juice for our daughter. Also there is a laundry room with a washing machine, which again was great for us. A choice of two dining tables for you, the living area couches are comfortable and the Cable TV offers about 120 channels (obviously you will get this everywhere and also not likely that you will watch much tv anyhow).
The bedrooms offer good cupboard space and each offers a queen size bed. The previous review mentions the hardness of the mattress. This is personal preference of course, my wife found it hard I found it fine.
The upstairs mezzanine floor offers an extra 2 single beds, and leads onto the crows nest which is great for a bit of sun bathing and a couple of beers in the evening. Saying that we liked to spend most of our evening on the large balcony on the first floor. Very relaxing and private too.
This place is $100 a night in high season and $75 in low season. I looked and looked at properties and hotels in Placencia and found that this looked really good value for money. We weren't disappointed and I'm sure you won't be either. Sure you can get places right in the thick of town or right on the beach front, but like i say I don't think you will find better value for money.
Also if you do stay here look out diagonally across the water to the right of the house and you will see a Catamaran owned by Geoff Scot. Hire it for the sunset tour which is great with a few beers or rums. He also does other tours. Just shout over the lagoon to him when you see him. Hope you enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atmontejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
7.0 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
621 reviews
0.4 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Beach Cabanas of Placencia
0.5 mi away
A Belizean Nirvana
A Belizean Nirvana
#1 of 27 in Placencia
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Lodge

Property: Maya Lodge
Address: 29 Harbour Place, Placencia 501, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Placencia
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maya Lodge was built by an English ocean lover and displays much of the native wood and architecture of Belize. Both bedrooms are large and furnished with a double/queen bed. Each bedroom has a private full bath with hot shower. There is also a loft with 2 twin beds and several ceiling fans throughout the house. Food can be purchased locally and prepared in the full kitchen. Two hammocks are provided and can be set on the covered deck or on the upper crow's nest where the Maya Mountains and gorgeous sunsets are viewed. Swimmers can use the canal at the back of the house or walk to the beach in a few minutes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maya Lodge Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing