We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maya Lodge ….Amazing vacation HOME !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maya Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maya Lodge
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Maya Lodge ….Amazing vacation HOME !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

A traditional Belize hard wood home with two big bedrooms on the ground floor. The rooms were airy and the kitchen is huge. There were all the necessary amenities like fans, fridge, coffee maker, blender, pots & stove if you want to cook. (But no AIR CON)

The living room has a big satellite TV. The deck is amazing but the dock even more. You can take a cooling dip in the canal or get picked up by your snorkel / tour boat. This is a real treat!

The manager Stephano was very helpful in many numerous arrangements. He is also very helpful in local tips for tours, stores & snorkeling.

Everything is …..walking distance. I doubt that you need a rental bike or car. There are lots of grocery stores for brew, munchies & etc. Check out the local stands for fresh fruits & veggies. LOTS of great restaurants and very reasonable !

The shortfalls are that the housekeeping is not that “crisp”. The dogs will get early some days & bark. We also had a few mosquito bites in spite of bug dope.

Some tips:

 Take walks & explore everywhere
 Buy the local veggies & fruits
 Pick up your local beers at the local grocery stores
 Have coffee and cinnamon rolls at Miss Goodies
 Get a great Monkey River Tour at Nite Wind
 Enjoy the BBQ at Miss Brenda
 Walk or take a taxi to Turtle Inn for the specials ( owned by Francis Ford Coppalo)

All in all a great experience in Placentia. Maya Lodge was also a big part so enjoy
Enjoy Belize

Safe Travels MikeN
Was this helpful?

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed at the Maya Lodge for almost a month and could not have been happier! From its striking architecture to its beautiful hardwood interior, the Maya Lodge offers an authentic Belizean experience. Its huge, open common area lets your family congregate, while the bedrooms and sleeping lofts give everyone their own space. A fully equipped kitchen and built-in laundry room mean you don't have to leave if you don't want to! All the comforts of home are right there, in a beautiful, natural setting convenient to all the amenities yet set off the main drag for privacy. I would recommend Maya Lodge to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monticello, MO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Good location. Right on the canal right where the water taxis travel for tours. Located close to two big grocery stores and close to several restaurants, all within walking distance. House very big and spacious, plenty of room for 2 couples to coincide in comfort. Each bedroom has a queen-size bed and its own separate bathroom. No need for air conditioning because the house has great cross-breezes and ceiling fans. Balconies have beautiful views of the western skyline. Priced reasonably. Stephano was a great host.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smurfwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Our first adventure out of the country (USA) and we couldn't have chosen better. The house was spacious, breezy, perfectly located (close to the village for walking and far enough away for privacy) and well equipped. The owners were so helpful and easy to work with - gave us many good tips. Stephano was lovely - quite a character and there whenever we needed him - which was not often. Being able to take a dip in the canal was so convenient and easy. The sunsets from the top balcony gave us some of our best photos and the neighbor playing Taps at the sunset hour became our only "clock". We can't recommend this home enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 269susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed here with another couple and the place is lovely. Very roomy with beautiful wood throughout. There are balconies on both sides and another one on top. Two of the balconies overlook the channel which we swam in everyday. Because the owners don't live here one has a sense of independence. The manager Stephano is helpful, but not intrusive. On the negative side, we were woken nightly by the neighbouring dogs who bark constantly at any sound. Not the fault of the Maya Lodge but good to know in case you want to bring ear plugs. Also the water pressure decreases as the day goes on so have your shower early. This is a perfect place for a family as well. The walk to the village is short. All in all it was a wonderful experience and we would recommend it.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WinnieManitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Park, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

This spacious house is full of beautiful native hardwood. It is right on a harbor canal where people can swim so no pool is necessary. The kitchen is fully equipped making us happy since my wife, Marty likes to experiment with the local foods (vegetables, fruit, fish, etc.) to see what she can cook up. The are two well stocked supermarkets within a five minute walk and a ten minute walk into the heart of Placencia village gets one within reach of several fresh fruit/vegetable stands. John the Baker Man on Westby walk bakes the best breads and cinnamon rolls in town. The village is well stocked with restaurants and cafes. For those interested in amateur radio, Maya Lodge's location is ideal on the salt water harbor canal with more salt water and mangrove swamp very close by.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
198 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Belize is pretty much a breeze for foreign travelers. And here at Maya Lodge that "breeze" is both figurative and literal, as on the hottest day this airy second floor structure, situated above a scenic canal, is real and welcoming. The canal affords access to the sea, and catamarans and other sailboats make the inlet a port. The canal is lined with other nice homes. In front of the structure is a parallel dock from which one can take a cool dip in clear water. The lodge boasts two queen bedrooms, an armory in each, adjacent bathrooms with showers. Above a sleeping loft provides two more beds at either end of the loft and a "crows-nest" walkout. There is a large living dinning area. The kitchen has gas stove, refrigerator, microwave, juicer, toaster, coffee pot, ample table service. There is a large walk -in linen closet, abundant bed linen and towels and a clothes washing machine. The structure also sports two large decks, front and back.
The lodge is just off the main road where there is a well appointed grocery and the Atlantic Bank ( ATM ) within meters. It is a short walk to all points within the village. At the same time, it is sufficiently removed from the town center and there is little late night noise. Also, the Placencia constabulary provides foot patrol security. My companion and I spent two weeks here in January, 2013. A family would find the lodgings comfortable for a stay of equal length and longer. My highest recommendation is that I would not hesitate to stay here again should I decide to spend time on the Southern coast of Belize.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganZumbido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.4 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
7.0 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
1.0 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
2.5 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#6 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.4 mi away
A Belizean Nirvana
A Belizean Nirvana
#1 of 26 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Lodge

Property: Maya Lodge
Address: 29 Harbour Place, Placencia 501, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Placencia
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maya Lodge was built by an English ocean lover and displays much of the native wood and architecture of Belize. Both bedrooms are large and furnished with a double/queen bed. Each bedroom has a private full bath with hot shower. There is also a loft with 2 twin beds and several ceiling fans throughout the house. Food can be purchased locally and prepared in the full kitchen. Two hammocks are provided and can be set on the covered deck or on the upper crow's nest where the Maya Mountains and gorgeous sunsets are viewed. Swimmers can use the canal at the back of the house or walk to the beach in a few minutes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maya Lodge Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing