We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four Weeks at Maya Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maya Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maya Lodge
Ocean Park, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Four Weeks at Maya Lodge”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My wife and I just spent half of February and half of March at Maya Lodge, a full four weeks and enjoyed every minute of it. We spent a lot of time just enjoying the warm to hot temperatures and enjoying the local food both at restaurants and home cooked at Maya Lodge. Maya Lodge is an excellent base for going off on adventures. We did the Monkey River tour seeing three crocodiles, three manatees, a bunch of howler monkeys, and lots of birds. We did the day tour to see the Mayan Ruins at Xunantunich, well worth it. We rented a "golf cart" for a day to explore the Placencia Peninsula. Attending the Volunteer Fire Department's Flaming Hearts Ball was indeed a ball. Staying at Maya Lodge makes everything else easy with its spaciousness, fully equipped kitchen, and comfortable sleeping. The Lodge is within easy walking distance to everything one needs. This is our third stay at Maya Lodge. It is truly our home-away-from home in Placencia.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Ulm, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My Husband and I just spent the month of November at the Maya Lodge. The house is warm and inviting. Beautiful Belizean Hardwoods throughout the house. The home is open and airy with vaulted ceilings in the living and bedroom areas. The home is equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Stephano was very attentive and informative to the area. He was able to answer many of our questions upon our arrival. He stopped in from time to time to check on us without being intrusive to our privacy. Nicolette lives downstairs and was a joy. We enjoyed the village of Placencia and it's residences. Maya Lodge is an easy walk to "downtown" and grocery. The beach is a five minute walk and the dock provides endless possibilities for entertainment. Tuity fruity gelato/ice cream is a must. As well as Barefoot Bar and Grill and the Pickled Parrot. I would also recommend using "Splash" dive shop for day trips, diving/snorkeling and other adventures during your stay. We will return to Placencia and Maya Lodge again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodilovesplacencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Park, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I spent three weeks at Maya Lodge for the second time this year, this time alone as my wife was travelling in Indochina. Placencia is even more laid back in the October off-season than during high season. But, Maya Lodge with its TV, Internet, full kitchen, spacious luxury and location in the village will keep you from being bored if you tire of exploring or run out of books. The shops, restaurants, cafes, and bars are still open in the off season but prices are even more affordable (including the Maya Lodge rent). Locally grown fruit and vegetables are plentiful. Finally, few folk will be interested, but Maya Lodge is an ideal spot to set up a portable amateur radio station. I made almost 8,000 contacts with other stations in those three weeks, including those in exotic locations such as India, Saudi Arabia, Oman, Moldova, Cook Islands, Guam, Australia, Greenland, et al.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Remate, Peten, Guatemala
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This house has anything you need to feel comfortable, spacious common areas, rooms with good ventilation, great location, it´s clean and it has nice views and a great price.
I stayed there with my boyfriend and another couple of friends and we had a great time, enjoying the hamacas on the deck, cooking breakfast in the spacious kitchen, eating in the beautiful and huge dinner tables, and just having fun at this beautiful house that gives you a cozy welcoming when you go in.
The manager Stefano is really nice and he´ll tell you anything you need to know about the area. And the owner Lou is also very helpful and nice.
You´ll have a great time in this small village and this house will definitely be a good choice for you to chill after a good day in the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SofiaAP420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The Maya Lodge was spectacular. I went with my daughter and we had such a great time. It's practically across the street from the beach, but that part of the ocean had seaweed which my daughter is afraid of so we went to the bay at the end of the island. It had great service and the owners, Stefano and Nicoletta, were so nice. When the water heater broke down, Nicoletta did everything possible to get the repair guy there. And, when we got there Stefano waited for us until 7 pm (Belizean time) when we missed the bus and got there very late. The only complaint was that the house is located about 30-40 feet down the street from the main road and when you are walking down that street there is no lightning so it's a little scary at night as my daughter almost stepped on a snake. After that we never saw another snake. Otherwise it is such a great place and I recommend it for everyone. I'd go again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SashaAnna887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The Maya Lodge is spacious, well appointed, and very well maintained. We rented the house for a family vacation with our adult children and their spouses. The kitchen was big enough for us all to cook together and the dining table was a great gathering spot as was the crow's nest/mirador. We could enjoy time together and there was also plenty of space to let everyone have some alone time. The house is in a neighborhood that is safe and close to shops for supplies and it is an easy walk into the center of the village and to the beach. This is the second time we rent a house from Stephano, he made sure we had what we needed (a fan to replace one that would not turn on), he answered all our questions, made sure the WiFi was working and checked on us to be sure we were comfortable. We highly recommend Maya Lodge and renting from Stephano.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank QuintanillaSchmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

A traditional Belize hard wood home with two big bedrooms on the ground floor. The rooms were airy and the kitchen is huge. There were all the necessary amenities like fans, fridge, coffee maker, blender, pots & stove if you want to cook. (But no AIR CON)

The living room has a big satellite TV. The deck is amazing but the dock even more. You can take a cooling dip in the canal or get picked up by your snorkel / tour boat. This is a real treat!

The manager Stephano was very helpful in many numerous arrangements. He is also very helpful in local tips for tours, stores & snorkeling.

Everything is …..walking distance. I doubt that you need a rental bike or car. There are lots of grocery stores for brew, munchies & etc. Check out the local stands for fresh fruits & veggies. LOTS of great restaurants and very reasonable !

The shortfalls are that the housekeeping is not that “crisp”. The dogs will get early some days & bark. We also had a few mosquito bites in spite of bug dope.

Some tips:

 Take walks & explore everywhere
 Buy the local veggies & fruits
 Pick up your local beers at the local grocery stores
 Have coffee and cinnamon rolls at Miss Goodies
 Get a great Monkey River Tour at Nite Wind
 Enjoy the BBQ at Miss Brenda
 Walk or take a taxi to Turtle Inn for the specials ( owned by Francis Ford Coppalo)

All in all a great experience in Placentia. Maya Lodge was also a big part so enjoy
Enjoy Belize

Safe Travels MikeN
Was this helpful?

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.4 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
7.0 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
599 reviews
1.0 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
732 reviews
0.5 mi away
A Belizean Nirvana
A Belizean Nirvana
#1 of 27 in Placencia
184 reviews
2.6 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Lodge

Property: Maya Lodge
Address: 29 Harbour Place, Placencia 501, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Placencia
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maya Lodge was built by an English ocean lover and displays much of the native wood and architecture of Belize. Both bedrooms are large and furnished with a double/queen bed. Each bedroom has a private full bath with hot shower. There is also a loft with 2 twin beds and several ceiling fans throughout the house. Food can be purchased locally and prepared in the full kitchen. Two hammocks are provided and can be set on the covered deck or on the upper crow's nest where the Maya Mountains and gorgeous sunsets are viewed. Swimmers can use the canal at the back of the house or walk to the beach in a few minutes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maya Lodge Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing