We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Casa Placencia”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Placencia Belize
Ranked #2 of 27 Placencia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beware of Casa Placencia”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We payed for 7 nights but only stayed one ! The white sand beach across the road was dirty and barley existed, broken glass and garbage, not a place for kids to swim. The garden with many fruit trees is a sand/ gravel lot with a mango tree that overhangs from the neighbors yard. The apartment was dark and airless, only a couple of small windows and no breeze what so ever. (Breeze equals no bugs, no breeze equals lots of bugs) The air conditioner was right beside the bed (in the curtained off alcove on the way to the bathroom which she calls the master bedroom) this leaves the other bedroom stifling hot with no air conditioning or air movement. As to the free beach cruisers one of ours had no brakes and the other had a punctured tire.. Maybe this place would be good for an adult couple but for a family with kids it was terrible. Jacki refused to refund us any of our money and kept yelling at my husband and refusing to have a calm discussion with us when we tried to ask if we could at least use 2 of her bikes for the week since she was charging us over 100.00 US per night and we were not even going to stay there. I would not recommend this place, Jacki seems very nice at the outset but if you have any problems Look out ! That being said the apartment is very clean and nicely decorated so if you are happy to sit inside with air conditioning going full blast and don't want bikes, a beach, or a back garden you might love it!

Room Tip: definitely do not take a downstairs room, the screened porches are gravel floor, the garden is non e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank trippincanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    17
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
77
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I stayed in casa placencia for a week earlier this month. The owner Jacki was fantastic providing excellent advice, an abundance of delicious cakes and just generally going out of her way to make my stay a memorable one! shame I burnt myself so badly on the first day I couldn't enjoy the sun for the rest of the time there! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldupes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Our holiday started out very challenging as we were told that there was only one hotel that would take dogs and they were booked over the weekend.

It was suggested that we try Casa Placencia. Jackie, the owner is darling--she was most helpful during our stay and she was happy to accommodate our dogs. She was even happy to extend our stay for an additional day on short notice.

Casa Placencia is located just outside of town away from the noise yet still close to the beach and within walking distance to town. The rooms are very clean-- you could eat off of the floor. They are tastefully decorated (cute, cute, cute) and come with A/C, cable TV, and WiFi. There is also parking available so you can drive in if you are staying in Belize.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitively return the next time we are in Placencia. Ask Jackie what she is baking when you stay, because she will likely share her delights with you. Her cookies will have you wanting more.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MelMcc2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I stayed at Casa Placencia for nine nights, and I didn't want to leave! What a wonderful place! I was in the new studio, which is a treat in every way. It's spacious, beautifully designed/decorated, SPOTLESSLY CLEAN, and oh-so-comfortable. There's a full kitchen, a beautiful tiled bath, cable TV, air conditioning, and a large, private screened-in porch with both a lounge chair and a hammock (and a small table and two chairs!). The outside common area is also gorgeous and green, and there's plenty of hang-out space near the BBQ. Another big plus is that you have your own bike. Although you can walk everywhere, it's nice to have the bike for quick trips out to the supermarket or down to watch the sunset. What really makes Casa Placencia, though, is Jacki. She's the most amazing hostess. Jacki has incredible stories to tell and is a wealth of information about the area. Her bubbly personality just makes the whole place feel warm and friendly. You honestly feel like you're staying with an old friend while you're here, and it's obvious that Jacki would do anything for her guests. I'd recommend Casa Placencia to anyone. The location (in a quieter part of Placencia, but still close to the action), safety/security, value for money, and comfort level can't be beat. If Jacki has a room, book it!

Room Tip: The studio is fantastic! There's so much space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Our family of four stayed at this lovely place in a 2 bedroom apartment. The owner Jacki Tipton, was very attentive and informative about local happenings, and brought us fresh baked goods each morning. Our college aged boys felt very safe coming and going as they pleased, and took advantage of the bicycles provided. The premises were clean, comfortable and very well kept. Lovely gardens surround you and it is located a 15 minute walk from the main village of Placencia, and several grocery stores, restaurants and shops. Jacki's stories were the best!
It was very helpful to have someone that could fill you in on local customs and cuiture. We scuba dove, hung out on the beach, shopped and went inland to see the Mayan ruins. It was great! We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Downstairs apartments have screened in porches with hammocks. There is a common area/garden in back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

My husband and I stayed for a week at the Casa Placncia and liked it a lot. We had the appartment at the rear with a garden room for being in the garden but away from the bugs. The place is immaculate and very well equipped with a big refrigerator and excellent cooker and first class bed. I did not have to ask for anything - it was all provided and I particularly liked the attention to detail and general consistency of the decor. Jackie seems born to be a great hostess and is kindness itself. Other reviewers have said it all really.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlfredaBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

My husband and I recently stayed for a month at Casa Placencia while looking for a long-term home in the area. Jacki was so wonderful helping us every step of the way. Our one bedroom unit was very comfortable and the mattress was brand new and awesome. Anything we needed, a soup ladle, and extra pan, advice on where to buy things, Jacki was the one to ask. She was so helpful with nice beach bikes for all the guests to use around town, she made us feel like family. We even had a potluck dinner on the balcony one evening and visited with others from all over the world! Since we were relocating to Placencia, it was perfect having a knowledgeable resident to help make our transition go smoothly.
It was so cute to have a mockingbird every morning right outside our sliding glass door, talking to his reflection, so we didn't even need an alarm clock!
I also appreciated that during our stay, Jacki was having the whole place freshly painted and landscaped, adding little pergolas and benches to be nestled into the abundant flora and fruit trees. When we arrived, she gave us a perfectly ripe papaya from the backyard to have a welcome snack! I loved taking pictures of the flowers and birds that are everywhere! Fun and whimsical mosaic tile adds to the Caribbean feel of this great little escape, away from the noisier parts of Placencia Village. I highly recommend a stay at Casa Placencia!

Room Tip: Our bedroom faced South, which got quite warm during the day but cooled off well at night with the A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
6.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
621 reviews
0.6 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
755 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mariposa Beach Suites
Mariposa Beach Suites
#3 of 27 in Placencia
107 reviews
2.2 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Placencia Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Placencia Belize

Property: Casa Placencia Belize
Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Placencia Belize 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Placencia is a small, casually elegant, reasonably priced establishment located in a quiet & safe neighborhood at the north end of Placencia; a short walk to a great beach, local restaurants, bars & shops; surrounded by lush tropical gardens, edible fruit trees & vines-pick bananas, papayas, coconuts and more year round..... Offering economical Garden Rooms with tiled showers & handicap access, as well as three furnished Apartments, filled with custom fabrics, original paintings & handcrafts from Central America & Hawaii; private verandahs or screened rooms to fully enjoy living outdoors which is how we prefer it, here in Placencia paradise.... First floor-Garden Views. Garden Rooms-Queen or Twin Beds, adjacent Kitchen avail for guest use. Studio Apt-Queen Bed-Bathroom w/soaker tub; HUGE outside Living Room w/custom vine furnishings. Two Bedroom Apt-Queen and Twin Beds-spacious Bathroom with Tiled Shower for two; HUGE outside Dining Room w/custom iron/tile furnishings. Second Floor-One Bedroom Apt, sunrise & sunset views-Queen and Twin Beds-Tiled Shower Bathroom. Owner/Manager Apt, distant lagoon & Maya Mountain views. All accommodations provide Air Conditioning, Ceiling Fans, fully equipped Kitchens, 24/7-WIFI, Cable TV w/HBO, Showtime, Cinemax, and more....Books, DVDs & Games, as well as Beach Cruiser Bikes for guest use. Shared area in backyard w/expansive mosaic tile BBQ, Palapa w/custom table, adjacent to fruit & veg garden & compost area; Parking available. Designer/Manager, Jacki Tipton, who built this property with beauty, budget, comfort & ecological living in mind, has been in Belize for many, many years & enjoys sharing her love & knowledge of the entire country, as well as her favs on the Placencia peninsula, (she may bake one of her yummy treats, if you ask her). Everyone speaks English and our safe to drink water originates from across the lagoon in Maya mountain streams; the tastiest in the entire country! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Placencia Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing