We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Place!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Placencia Belize

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Placencia Belize
Ranked #2 of 27 Placencia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Placencia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Beautiful Place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Jackie the owner is an amazing lady and will always make you feel welcome, the rooms are beautifully decorated, fresh flowers and plants everywhere.
The beach is only a few minutes walk away, definitely the best place to stay in Placencia for travelers on a budget looking for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    17
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
75
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bay Saint Louis, Mississippi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

The place is very clean, and comfortable, especially the mattress. The location is great being close to everything but quiet at night. It is also very safe because the access to the room is behind a fence which is locked at night. The owner Jackie is most knowledgeable of the town, services and its customs. She is a great hostess who is willing to help any resident at any time of day or night. The screened in porch with the hammock is wonderful for relaxing. The grounds are very well maintained and beautifully designed making walks a pleasure. I will definitively stay here again on my next visit to Placencia. Having tried several hotels and residences in Placencia over the years, Casa Placencia is definitively the best value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tato_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

It was funny, I read numerous reviews about this B&B and all seemed to refer to the "amazing host" Jackie. Unfortunately, when we were staying here she was not there, so possibly that is why our experience was not as enjoyable as others.

We did not receive the warmest of welcomes and from there on, things did not improve. The 'Garden' room was functional but with the slightly malfunctioning A/C up o the wall above the bed, it lended itself to some poor sleeps. Also, the wifi was non existant for our stay, despite numerous requests to have it looked into.

Then, beyond anyones control, the weather was not amazing whilst we were there so (as we were on a short holiday) we decided to move on up the coast a day earlier than planned. Entirely our choice to do so but I never even got an acknowledgement from Casa Placencia since our departure of why or how we left. Even with having left them a letter explaining our situation and with full contact details.

Finally, when booking our stay (which was only two days prior to arrival) FULL payment was taken off my card before even asking me if it was ok to do so! Grant you, if asked, it would not have been a problem but thats not the way to do business.

If I was completing a Report Card then I'd finish with - "MUST try harder".

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nollaig_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis IN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

A friend dragged me down to Placencia to go scuba diving, on top of a great adventure getting down there, was an amazing, quaint town to greet us. Casa Placencia, with our marvelous host! Jacki! Her warmth and openness was fabulous, as well as her cooking. If you ask nice she may just whip up a batch of her coffee cake, made like nothing the States could dream up! perfect rooms with A/C for a great price, who could ask for more. A taste of the feel of the waters if you are planing on diving down there, here is a link to a video I made for those on the hunt for Whale Sharks!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EK0Rnzxf9sA

Room Tip: Jacki provides a wide variety of available rooms from econo to stunningly outfitted suites. Just let...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spyder1100101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Our usuall place to stay was full, so we stayed with Jacki at Casa Placencia. What a wonderfull surprise. My husband and I rented the upstairs apt, while my sister and a friend rented the garden rooms below. Our apt was spacious, had a great kitchen, and ended up being the centre of all things fun on our trip. All of the rooms were spotless, and Jacki was an amazing hostess. The location was in the quiet part of town which was nice to kick back and relax. We will come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 42FlyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sackville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

My friend and I spent a week at Casa Placencia over Christmas (2012) and we had a marvellous time. Jacki was warm, friendly and gave us many helpful tips and suggestions. We very much enjoyed our home made baked treats every morning. Access to bicycles was fantastic as her place is about a 15 minute walk from the village centre. It is across the street from a lovely beach where we swam everyday. The rooms were clean, stylish with kitchen facilities and wifi. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FlipTop69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We really enjoyed staying at Casa Placencia. It was the perfect location, not smack-dab in the middle of town, but a short walk from a grocery store and ten/fifteen minutes from all the bars and restaurants. Jackie was great and friendly and knowledgeable about the local attractions and what to see and what to skip; she helped us plan an excellent snorkeling trip and gave us several great recommendations for restaurants.

Our room (we stayed in the studio in back, with one double bed and a kitchen) was beautifully designed and very comfortable. We enjoyed sitting in the hammock on the outside patio, making coffee in the morning, and enjoying fresh coconuts from the trees growing in the yard.

We would *definitely* recommend this to anyone looking for a low-key, relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikePRStory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
6.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.6 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mariposa Beach Suites
Mariposa Beach Suites
#3 of 27 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
5.8 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#10 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Placencia Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Placencia Belize

Property: Casa Placencia Belize
Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Placencia is a small, casually elegant, reasonably priced establishment located in a quiet & safe neighborhood at the north end of Placencia; a short walk to a great beach, local restaurants, bars & shops; surrounded by lush tropical gardens, edible fruit trees & vines-pick bananas, papayas, coconuts and more year round..... Offering economical Garden Rooms with tiled showers & handicap access, as well as three furnished Apartments, filled with custom fabrics, original paintings & handcrafts from Central America & Hawaii; private verandahs or screened rooms to fully enjoy living outdoors which is how we prefer it, here in Placencia paradise.... First floor-Garden Views. Garden Rooms-Queen or Twin Beds, adjacent Kitchen avail for guest use. Studio Apt-Queen Bed-Bathroom w/soaker tub; HUGE outside Living Room w/custom vine furnishings. Two Bedroom Apt-Queen and Twin Beds-spacious Bathroom with Tiled Shower for two; HUGE outside Dining Room w/custom iron/tile furnishings. Second Floor-One Bedroom Apt, sunrise & sunset views-Queen and Twin Beds-Tiled Shower Bathroom. Owner/Manager Apt, distant lagoon & Maya Mountain views. All accommodations provide Air Conditioning, Ceiling Fans, fully equipped Kitchens, 24/7-WIFI, Cable TV w/HBO, Showtime, Cinemax, and more....Books, DVDs & Games, as well as Beach Cruiser Bikes for guest use. Shared area in backyard w/expansive mosaic tile BBQ, Palapa w/custom table, adjacent to fruit & veg garden & compost area; Parking available. Designer/Manager, Jacki Tipton, who built this property with beauty, budget, comfort & ecological living in mind, has been in Belize for many, many years & enjoys sharing her love & knowledge of the entire country, as well as her favs on the Placencia peninsula, (she may bake one of her yummy treats, if you ask her). Everyone speaks English and our safe to drink water originates from across the lagoon in Maya mountain streams; the tastiest in the entire country! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Placencia Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing