We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Miss Jackie made our stay in Placencia absolutely amazing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Placencia Belize
Ranked #2 of 27 Placencia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Miss Jackie made our stay in Placencia absolutely amazing!”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My girlfriend, Kate, and I just returned home after 16 beautiful days in Belize. The last 5 of which we spent with Miss Jackie at the Casa Placencia. We were not aware of the art festival that was happening until the last minute and were scared everything in town would be booked. I sent out several emails and Jackie responded almost immediately saying that she could put us up for at least a couple days, and would see what she could do about the rest. Upon arrival on the bus from Hopkins, we were greeted by our names on the board below her sign saying "welcome Kate and Keenan." She met us at the gate and showed us to our room which was small, but immaculately clean and comfortable. After seeing the town and deciding to stay longer than expected, Miss Jackie moved some things around and made room for us in the ground floor 2 bedroom apartment. Amazing! Full kitchen, A/C, cable flat screen, Screened in porch, everything we could ever want. Aside from the accommodations being great, Miss Jackie is an amazing host! Her coffee cake is not to be missed! She was always available to answer any questions we had or to point us towards a great restaurant. I could go on and on,... bottom line, Miss Jackie and the Casa Placencia really made our vacation a great one! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keenan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    17
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
77
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My fiance and I spent one night at Casa Placencia during our trip to southern Belize. We were waiting to get on a sail boat for the week and only needed a place for one night (very difficult to find during the holiday season.) Jackie, the owner is very helpful and pleasant.

Our garden room was small, but very clean. It had a nice spacious bathroom, comfortable bed and the air-conditioning was great. Although Casa Placencia is located outside of town, it was a very short bike ride to town and to the beach. Bikes came with the room and Jackie gave us some very good recommendations for dinner. There were several nice open air restaurants within walking/biking distance. Jackie arranged for a taxi meet us at the airstrip when we arrived and for a taxi to pick us up the following morning to take us to our marina.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skigrl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Ideally located next to the main road, leave your alarm clock at home because the stream of traffic and trucks will get you up with the birdies. We stayed in a garden room, it was very intimate. Two single beds to the right pushed against the wall with just enough space to get by on the left. It will remind you of scouting, your feet will be directly next to your companion's head. As an extra perk the bathroom (conveniently does not have a door, but rather a shower curtain) is at your companion's feet. You will get to know the bodily functions of your co-traveler, ahhhh, a dream come true!

Cozy does not do it justice! The windows in the bedroom do are clear glass bricks, no air circulation. Option "A" is the AC which is rather noisy and cold as it shoots straight onto the beds or "B" you must open the sliding door onto the communal patio. Luckily the toilet (must open window out of courtesy to your companion) is eye level so forget any cheat sneaks at looking at the guide book on the loo. The only thing missing at Casa Plasencia are those cute little don't disturb signs. Overpriced and claustrophobic. Casa Plasencia has a low price/quality ratio.

Room Tip: These are many other local hotels and cabanas that are located along the beach. You sleep to the sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthojen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

You will never find a more welcoming and upbeat host than Jacki. I'd like to think it was our irresistible magnetism, but the truth is, it's probably Jacki just being her normal, friendly, generous self when she greets you with warm, home-baked sour cream coffeecake or whole-wheat cranberry/cherry muffins straight from the oven. Gary and I spent 7 days in her top-floor 1-bedroom garden apartment with the veranda overlooking the road. The apartment was charming: lively tropical colors, cool tiled floors, colorful mosaic tiles and paintings, lots of lush tropical flowers and greenery inside and out. The kitchen comes stocked with everything we needed: coffeemaker and coffee, blender to make smoothies, fridge and stove, and all utensils. (Air-con too, but we didn't need it; cable flat-screen TV with tons of channels.) The table, chairs and hammock on the veranda are inviting places to spend the evenings enjoying the sounds of the gecko calls and frog peeps. In our apartment overlooking the road, trucks going by can be a little noisy, but being on the road has its advantages: it makes for fascinating people-watching. Jacki has bicycles for her guests, and we loved the convenience of riding our bikes to town (about a 5-minute ride) to try the many delicious restaurants and eateries; we much appreciated getting some exercise before and after all the lobster and gelato. The bike ride also cools you off on the warmer days. Jacki gives great advice on things to see and do: ask her before you decide-- she'll steer you to the right people. She also has two little dogs that are willing to dispense furry love as needed. I can honestly say that after bicycling down every walkway and road in Placencia, Jacki has the most attractive-looking place. Inside and out, her place was comfortable, clean, bright and cheery. You can't go wrong here! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: Road noise ends by midnight. If you're bothered by sporadic traffic when you're sleeping, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janwg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithers, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Jackie was welcoming and friendly right from the first minute I walked in off the street and asked if she had a room. She was helpful with good suggestions for places to go in Placencia as well as other places in Belize. I had the use of a bike which was wonderful for exploring the peninsula. The hotel was cozy and secure and not right in the middle of town but close enough to walk there and to any of the beaches. A lucky find.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsteen_Laing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

OK, I agree with all the other 5 Star comments,Jacki is a GEM! Wonderful personality, extremely helpful, treats you like family.
But here is a bit of info that has been left out so far. We tend to eat in more than out so here goes.
1. Well stocked kitchen. enough quality pots and pans to cook any meal
could use a knife sharpener.
2. coffee maker with coffee and sugar (you don't see that every day)
3. salt and pepper shakers with salt and pepper. We always bring our own spices (saves having to buy large quantities, then leaving the rest there)
4. No microwaves, but full gas stoves with ovens and large fridges
large grocery store 5 minute walk
5. flat screen tvs with hundreds of channels
6. free bikes.
The one bedroom apt. is very spacious, bright, airy, with great balcony but faces south and also the main street and gets quite hot during the day and noisy when there is traffic
The two bedroom apt. downstairs at the back is much cooler,and quieter, not as bright and airy, does not have any ceiling fans, but the air conditioner set on high fan does the trick.
The nicest is the studio also downstairs at the back, . Lots of counter space, cool, bright, airy, quiet, and has fans.
Casa Placencia is 2.5km from the docks, which is the center and furthest you can go into town.It is also 2.5km from the airport.
There are plenty of restaurants with great menus, mostly creole, and plenty of local vendors serving burittos, rice and beans, and other local dishes.
Lunch is usually around $10BZ, supper is $15-$25BZ. A beer is $4BZin the restaurant, $3 at the grocery store.
On a personal note; Belize is a country where when you walk down the street everyone greets you with a nod, or a hello, and a smile. And they are not trying to sell you something, they are just friendly people!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retired911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Casa Placencia is located close enough to the village to explore. It is bright, comfortable and Jacki is so accomodating for her clients. We thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Casa Placencia. Only a short walk to the beach and a nice ride to the village by golf cart. For people on a budget I would highly suggest you check this out. It was perfect for us. At Casa Placencia I felt like my husband and I fell in love all over again. The flowers were in bloom and pretty birds came to visit.

I felt really safe at Casa Placencia and the great part is that we made new friends in a small setting. Thank you Jacki for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmaofBBAAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
6.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
599 reviews
0.6 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
608 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mariposa Beach Suites
Mariposa Beach Suites
#4 of 27 in Placencia
103 reviews
0.7 mi away
A Belizean Nirvana
A Belizean Nirvana
#1 of 27 in Placencia
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Placencia Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Placencia Belize

Property: Casa Placencia Belize
Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Placencia Belize 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Placencia is a small, casually elegant, reasonably priced establishment located in a quiet & safe neighborhood at the north end of Placencia; a short walk to a great beach, local restaurants, bars & shops; surrounded by lush tropical gardens, edible fruit trees & vines-pick bananas, papayas, coconuts and more year round..... Offering economical Garden Rooms with tiled showers & handicap access, as well as three furnished Apartments, filled with custom fabrics, original paintings & handcrafts from Central America & Hawaii; private verandahs or screened rooms to fully enjoy living outdoors which is how we prefer it, here in Placencia paradise.... First floor-Garden Views. Garden Rooms-Queen or Twin Beds, adjacent Kitchen avail for guest use. Studio Apt-Queen Bed-Bathroom w/soaker tub; HUGE outside Living Room w/custom vine furnishings. Two Bedroom Apt-Queen and Twin Beds-spacious Bathroom with Tiled Shower for two; HUGE outside Dining Room w/custom iron/tile furnishings. Second Floor-One Bedroom Apt, sunrise & sunset views-Queen and Twin Beds-Tiled Shower Bathroom. Owner/Manager Apt, distant lagoon & Maya Mountain views. All accommodations provide Air Conditioning, Ceiling Fans, fully equipped Kitchens, 24/7-WIFI, Cable TV w/HBO, Showtime, Cinemax, and more....Books, DVDs & Games, as well as Beach Cruiser Bikes for guest use. Shared area in backyard w/expansive mosaic tile BBQ, Palapa w/custom table, adjacent to fruit & veg garden & compost area; Parking available. Designer/Manager, Jacki Tipton, who built this property with beauty, budget, comfort & ecological living in mind, has been in Belize for many, many years & enjoys sharing her love & knowledge of the entire country, as well as her favs on the Placencia peninsula, (she may bake one of her yummy treats, if you ask her). Everyone speaks English and our safe to drink water originates from across the lagoon in Maya mountain streams; the tastiest in the entire country! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Placencia Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing