We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kuddos to the Staff & Chef”

The Quarterdeck Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #21 of 73 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and drinks, our open-air restaurant and bar is the perfect place to have a big family meal, grab a beer with a friend, or enjoy a romantic date. From breakfasts of fresh tropical fruit and eggs to casual lunchtime sandwiches to decadent three-course dinners, all of our meals use the freshest local ingredients. And when you're thirsty for a drink, we offer a variety of wine, beer, and cocktails for you to enjoy.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Kuddos to the Staff & Chef”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at Laru Beya Resort and The Quarterdeck is the hotels onsite restaurant. We LOVED the drinks and food here. Everything is homemade, even the lime juice for cocktails (no American high fructose corn syrup here)! Each meal was prepared beautifully and we enjoyed dinning here on numerous occasions (breakfast, lunch and/or dinner)... Pablo and Luigi are fantastic bartenders and we enjoyed sparking up conversation with them! The chef, Trenelle, does an amazing job caring out Belizean flavor but also keeping true to flavor. I will definitely miss her homemade refried black beans and roasted potatoes! Also, Pablo and Luigi's craft at making the perfect Mojito! The waitress Alicia is very sweet and she was great at checking in on us during our meal. I highly recommend a meal or 5 at the Quarterdeck. We recommend any of Chef Trenelle's specials for dinner, the Fajitas for lunch, and the huevos rancheros for breakfast (with the flour tortilla).... AND of course a side of refried black beans.

The restaurant also provides bug spray and citronella lanterns during the dinner service (which is needed and appreciated)

Cheers to The Quarterdeck Staff (Trenelle, Alicia, Pablo, & Luigi) & Management (Rene, Tim and Wynnad)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cristine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    36
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderfully romantic setting for dinner”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel next door and walked over for dinner to the Quarterdeck. The setting is so romantic and our food was delightful, very attentive staff.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Huge Portions of Great Food”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We had the lobster fritters. 5 packed with chunks of lobster! Fish tacos were great and the snapper with cilantro cream sauce could easily feed 2. Instead it was dinner the next night. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank theworldaw8s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dangriga, Belize
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“You are family here”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I was on a two day stop to finish a couple ideas for articles and had booked a room at Laru Beya Resort. This restaurant is on that property. Chef Trinell prepares wonderful food in massive portions! Be sure to have the Stuffed Jack for breakfast!
I must give a shout out to bartender Pablo and service staff; Alicia, Dinora and Francisco. You guys were great and I had a blast the two short days of my stay.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChapWehrle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Leftover food at a PRIME price”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Ok so after having wonderful food at every restaurant we had already eaten at we decided to refer to trip advisor for our final meal in Placencia...seemed this was going to be a great choice...well...it is a beautiful place with severs that seemed bothered we were there...( we were one group of 5 people out of maybe 12 in the whole place) The Chef had to make a special dinner for 2 of us as we are vegetarians and they did not have much of anything on the menu...it was ok. But the problems came from everyone else's food being "leftovers that seemed to be reheated not freshly cooked..rubbery food. My husband could not even eat his meat in the tacos because it was too tough. When the waiter asked if it was ok my husband said it was not good...The waiter took his plate. The other two meals were chicken dishes that had to be sawed with a knife just to eat it. This was only the beginning...when we got our check they had not even discounted the taco dinner ( $32.00) that was uneddible. Then they tried to short me $10.00 on my change...the waiter did not apologize just got me the additional change. I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND this place unless you want to pay over $180.00 for 5 people to get ignored, cheated and horrible leftovers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SummerJoConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaruBeya, Manager at The Quarterdeck Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
We at Quarterdeck regret that you did not enjoy a pleasurable dining experience at our restaurant. We are however greatly surprised by your post.

Firstly, our staff are well known for their friendliness and willingness to assist all guests, This is the first incident of staff indifference that I have ever encountered.

Secondly, we do not have a vegetarian menu, but upon being informed that vegetarian dishes were ordered, our executive chef came to your table to discuss various options with you. The vegetarian dishes were prepared and served exactly to your specifications.

Thirdly, we do not serve “leftovers that seem to be reheated”. All of our dishes are prepared from scratch, and only by using the finest quality ingredients. Upon being informed that your husband found the meat on his tacos tough, the waiter offered to replace his dish with any other off our menu. Your husband declined. We did not offer any discount on this item as more than two thirds of the dish had been consumed. Nobody else complained about their meal whatsoever. In fact, all the plates were empty when the waiter cleared your table.

Please note that all of our meat, poultry, seafood, vegetables and all other consumables are sourced from only the best suppliers in Belize.

Fourthly, the $10 short change was simple human error.

Finally, we are of the opinion that you were not “ignored, cheated and served horrible leftovers”. We are still upset that you did not enjoy our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Quarterdeck Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to The Quarterdeck Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing