We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you enjoy good food with a tropical experience- this is it!”

Sweet Dreams Bakery
Ranked #1 of 2 Bakeries in Placencia
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you enjoy good food with a tropical experience- this is it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

My culinary experience at this Swiss bakery has been a pleasurable surprise. The coffee, breakfast rolls, cinnamon rolls, I love cinnamon rolls, whole grain breads are a treasure to behold all to be enjoyed in a paradise like surrounding. One must not forget this bakery does not use preservatives, or artificial flavorings. Not only has my stomach been satisfied but the flavors of the various entries that I ordered, while vacationing in Placencia, create a pleasurable mood in an ideal setting.
Pricing of items on the menu I considered very reasonable when we understand the regressive policies of the Belizean government toward business and its citizenry. Customs on all products imported is at a rate of 50% and the government’s incompetency makes conducting business overly expensive. I am from the Florida Keys and pricing at this establishment is much less expensive than any place I have eaten on the Keys. Eat and enjoy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clyde m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    30
    17
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pricey but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Had breakfast here, delicious little sandwich shop but breakfast for two set me back 55 BZD.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pricey but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Had breakfast here, delicious little sandwich shop but breakfast for two set me back 55 BZD.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
949 reviews
398 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
“Fresh & Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We found the cinnamon buns and coffee cake to be very fresh and tasty and made with good quality ingredients. Sure, they were a bit expensive but compared to the extremely nasty banana bread that I bought at one of the Chinese grocers that completely ‘molded’ overnight – you get what you pay for! We found the daughter friendly and went back each afternoon to buy our fresh breakfast treats to eat before the next days’ snorkel excursions.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I thought it was ok, I mean hey, they're Swiss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Service was fine for me, they seemed eager to help. The reviews below seem harsh. They're euro, they're just a little eccentric man, chill out, I wouldn't be asking for beer at a bakery either. the bagel egg and cheese sandwich was huge and it was actually real good at 12BZ. Yeah it's overpriced so I wouldn't go back but the staff was just fine.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliveInSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sweet Dreams Bakery also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Sweet Dreams Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing