We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sancuary on the beach”
Review of The Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Village Inn
Ranked #5 of 27 Placencia B&B and Inns
Vernon, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sancuary on the beach”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Village Inn cabanas are the most relaxing, perfect place to stay in Placencia for people looking to be away from the bussle of town but only a 10 minute walk or 3 minute bike ride to everything in town. Right on the beach so the sound of the waves and the breeze put you to sleep at night.
Jacob Perez, the host and owner, will do everything he can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, including airport pickup if requested and ride to town if needed.
He will also help in arranging tours and fishing if needed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014

If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful, private and relaxing vacation, then The Village Inn is the perfect place for you. The cabins are clean, comfortable and also entails a kitchen equipped with everything necessary to prepare yourself a nice home made meal. Just a couple minutes beach walk away from the village itself, The Village Inn allows for you to enjoy a private, peaceful and relaxing environment. Directly on the beach, just a couple step away from the waters.The owner/manager (Jacob) is very friendly and tries his best to attend to all his guests needs at their request....Trust me, you wont regret staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly_561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calistoga, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed in the cabin on the north side of the beach.The cabin was clean and very comfortable it is right on the water the television was a plus at night for us.Jacob(owner yes really)was a great host drove us to get our groceries and supplies on our first day,Got my husband bait on several occasions and drove us to the airport on our last day,really went out of his way for us.The huts where great to hang out under on our beach days.Our stay was great and we will return next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lundbreck
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Finally, I'm remembering to write this review after having a wonderful stay back in January. My wife and I stayed in de Mar while our friends were in de Playa. We couldn't ask for more being right on the beach for those gorgeous sunrises and comfortable beach walking distance to town. The bicycles were a bonus for quicker runs into town or just a pleasant, relaxing ride.

Jacob, the proprietor, does a terrific job looking after your needs and is checking in regularly making sure everything is working well. He really bends over backwards to ensure your stay is as good as it can be. He seemingly cannot do enough.

I recently heard of the unfortunate break in from a friend that was there at the same time and I just read the review. That actually happened in the cabana we stayed in which was quite a shock considering we left only a few days prior. I appreciate and am sympathetic to the traveller that experienced that trauma and loss.

When we first arrived and Jacob was showing us the place he was very clear about locking up, especially the kitchen window shutters. We did what he said and fortunately had no issues, but that's not to say that we couldn't have. If someone wants to get in, they are going to get in, regardless. It just depends how desperate and clever they are. I can only imagine how devastated Jacob is with this unfortunate event.

I guess what I'm saying with all this is simply that we take a chance by choosing to stay in a comfortably relaxed and "private" so to speak, accommodation such as a cabana.......any cabana, anywhere. The safe alternative resembles a bank vault which is not the same experience at all. Call me a fool but I would still go back, based on the fact that I know Jacob will have taken this very serious and will be taking steps to ensure this not repeating itself.

To bring it back to a positive note, my wife and I along with our friends really loved this place!

Room Tip: Cabanas next to the water are quieter than by the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobble Hill, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The Village Inn Cabanas on Placencia Beach has to be the best possible location in Placencia. The two beachfront studios are literally a stone's throw to the shore line.

The cabins are clean with just enough comforts to make the place cozy. The bonus is the electric hot water in the shower.

Jacob, the owner and "hands on" operator is an extremely friendly down to earth fellow as well as very accommodating, offering us lifts into town and use of his bikes. We even had a family BBQ on Sunday with mom and other locals.

If you're an " ALL INCLUSIVE" resort type traveler this place is not for you but if you're looking for a quiet and self contained beachfront vacation this is it !

Bryan & Rebecca

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan_Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Wonderful service from ALL the staff at the Village Inn They really know how to look after the guests requests Jacob took me all over town trying to get me a rental car . His mom drove us to town to get groceries. They even brought us a BBQ so we could cook the Fish that we bought right off the boats

These people really know how to treat their guests You felt like you were part of the family

I would highly recommend them

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Randy602014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muenchen
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed 3 days in the light blue cabana (Casita Playa) right on the beach, and I wish we could have stayed longer. The whole compound consists of 6 cabanas and is managed from an unsuspecting little building across the street wich has a porch that is used by guests to read email (complimentary Wifi) and/or chat with the owner, Jacob.
The cabana was meticulously clean and cool and breezy during the day. We never missed the AC. The real benefit is the shady porch right on the beach where you can spend the afternoon (facing east) after the motto 'Go slow'. The kitchen is equipped with everything required to cook even bigger meals. The big bathroom (which has the closet for clothes built in) has a real door that many other establishments don't have any more.
Walking into Placencia village takes 15 Minutes, the nothern end of the sidewalk is 0.5 km away and esy to find. Be sure you bring a flashlight for the walk home at night. Barefoot bar is less than 10 Minutes away. No safety concerns in Placencia that we heard of.

Room Tip: 2 cabanas closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttg550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
6.7 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
637 reviews
0.5 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#6 of 19 in Placencia
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
595 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mariposa Beach Suites
Mariposa Beach Suites
#3 of 27 in Placencia
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Beach Cabanas of Placencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Property: The Village Inn
Address: Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Village Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Inn Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing