We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ally's Guest House Belize
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife and I spent a month in a two-bedroom apartment at Ally's Guest House in Placencia Belize. A Friend stayed with us for the first half and used the other bedroom. ally's husband Mark, picked us up from the airport. During our stay, we had free use of two kayaks which we used a dozen times. We also used free bicycles on a daily basis and Ally gave us tools to tune them up. The yard is spacious and private and we spent hours drinking morning coffe and evening beer by the lagoon. Our rooms were clean and comfortable although without A.C. They were hot. The advertised breezes were not sufficient to keep us cool although three fans did help. though we didn't have high expectations for the above-ground pool, it was a blessing. It was perfect for cooling us down and washing away the sweaty heat. Ally was helpful and pleasant. Within a few days we felt completely at home. it was the low season so we were the only guests and we were often home when Ally was out. We came and went at will and bumped into Ally who shared information about local events. It felt like our place and what more could we ask for? If we go back to Placencia, we will stay with Ally.

Room Tip: Privacy is great in the two-bedroom unit around back. it is hot though with a need for A.C.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allyson S, Owner at Ally's Guest House Belize, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here. Belize gets very hot during the low season so Air Conditioning is definitely needed when the breezes are not blowing and high humidity sets in. All three of our vacation rentals include A/C with the exception of the large two bedroom which does catch the breeze most of the time and reserved for our guests who dislike A/C. We had a couple rent the 2 bedroom for the month of October 2013 and they were very happy and comfortable with use of ceiling and floor fans. Again, we enjoyed having you and your wife stay with us here at the Guest House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Ally's Guest House Belize
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

Ally's Guesthouse was wonderful. We stayed in the 1-bedroom apartment and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The property is located on the lagoon side of Placencia and was extremely peaceful. We ate breakfast at a table on a dock on the lagoon, lazed in hammocks and cooled off in the above-ground pool on the property. The rental came with a pair of bikes that we used to ride around town and up the coast. Ally was great as well - she gave us tips on where to eat in town and even joined us for a snorkeling trip to Silk Caye! We loved our stay and would totally go back.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank mab1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Ally is a great host and the apartment which we booked is perfect. Two decent bedrooms and a big kitchen, diner, lounge. The outside areas are spacious and the communual washing machine is a real bonus. The walk into town is only 10 minutes and only 5 minutes to the nearest supermarket. My husband enjoyed kayaking around the lagoon with Ally's kayaks and the children enjoyed cooling off in the pool. Thanks Ally for a great stay in Placencia.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreaBremner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Ally's Guest House in Placencia, Belize is a wonderful, restful, and welcoming spot. Located on the outskirts of Placencia Village on the lagoon side, Ally's offers a quiet out of the way spot with lovely grounds. There are a number of great spots for meditating and enjoying the surroundings...including a pool for cooling off, a hammock, and docks by the lagoon. Ally's is a great place for the weary traveler and those looking for a peaceful respite. I spent my birthday weekend there in April 2013 and enjoyed the hospitality and graciousness of Ally and Mark! They are wonderful hosts and helped orchestrate and book a sailing/snorkeling trip for me to celebrate my birthday. They also provide bicycles for their guests, which makes the trip into the center of the village easily accessible. Both Ally and Mark are such special, warm, friendly, and helpful people. I loved staying at their place in the one bedroom efficiency. The efficiency has a fully situated kitchenette and a spacious bathroom with lots of storage; which is perfect for a short weekend or longer stay. Definitely on my list of places to return!

Room Tip: The efficiency is great for one person!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doctorkimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We spent the month of March 2013 at Allys Guest House, We enjoyed all it had to offer--lovely grounds, wonderful docks by the lagoon for morning coffee or happy hours, great pool for cooling off, bicycles for getting into town and rides up the coast, kayaks, hammock, lounge chairs, great neighbours in adjoining units and of course Ally was special. We felt very safe and secure on the property. Being away from the centre of town is nice and quiet yet just a few minutes by bike and you are in the quaint village.
We stayed in the efficiency unit and although it was small we didn't mind as we spent most of our time outside. The kitchen had everything we needed and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is very spacious. There was the patio for evenings or during the day if the weather was rainy--which it hardly ever was!! The unit itself was very clean on arrival. The use of the washing machine is also an added plus.
We do plan on returning to Placencia and Allys would be our choice.
Placencia Village has lots to offer and here are some of our favourite spots--John the bakerman, farmers market, Above Grounds coffee, Tutti Frutti ice cream, Brendas at pier, best burritos at blue stand opposite Travel bureau, DeTatch restaurant on the beach, snorkel trips with Eagleray, Yolis for Belikin on the dock and just strolling on the sidewalk and the beach and talking to locals along the way. Very enjoyable.
Thank you Ally for a great holiday and do look forward to returning.
Cleta and Len

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Cleta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Our evening arrival at Ally's Guest House was punctuated by her sagely advice on staying in Placencia and an introduction to Belikin Beer. Magnificent! Ally is fantastic, and her choice of guests were most compatible (translation: no rowdiness). The accommodations were perfect, the bedroom cozy and comfortable, and the bathroom well appointed and clean. The kitchen was fully stocked with utensils. I just wish I hadn't been exploring the local restaurants so much and cooked a little more. Though we didn't entertain, the living room area was the perfect spot to plop down to catch your breath from this breathtaking seaside village. Close to, but far enough away from, the center of town, Ally's Guest House's location is perfect for accessing the beach, the ferry, and all that the town of Placencia has to offer. Access to the two piers on the lagoon was romantic and secluded; just the spot to relax after a day of exploring Placencia by bike or kayak, both provided by Ally free of charge. The pool was inviting as well as the hammock to gently rock you to sleep or enjoy a good book. If security is your concern Buck and Lulu (Ally's dogs) provide it as well as the barred windows and doors. They were never a nuisance, but Ally provides ear plugs if you're not use to dogs. I'm spoiled! I think that I will never stay anywhere else in Placencia unless Ally's Guest House is unavailable, and if that be the case, I think I will just have to change my plans for arrival.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PerleyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We spent 7 days at Ally's Guest House and were thoroughly impressed from the time of arrival to checkout. Ally was extremely helpful in getting us settled and providing us with lots of useful information about Placencia and the neighboring communities. She made us feel at home from day 1, and our 1-bedroom apartment was fully stocked with everything we needed during our stay. All we had to do was buy a few groceries, and there were several nearby markets.

The guesthouse itself is situated right on the lagoon, which is really a pleasant and picturesque location that offers fabulous views of the water and also privacy that you won't find on the beach. We loved that Ally's guesthouse includes the use of a pool, hammocks, bicycles, a washing machine, etc... basically, it's got everything you could want or need. It is clean and quiet, and the location, as well as Ally's dogs, provide security. So you can rest assured knowing that your belongings are safe when you're out partaking of all of the adventure activities that Belize has to offer.

We visited Belize during Easter, which is a time when Belizeans who are living in the U.S. or elsewhere travel home to be with their families, and Placencia becomes home to lots of lively parties. However, the location of the guesthouse put us close enough to experience the action, but far enough to have some peace and quiet at the day's or night's end.

Ally's guesthouse caters to an older clientele so you can expect a relaxed environment. At the same time, Ally is quite outgoing and can direct you to the best of Placencia's nightlife if you crave that sort of entertainment, and Placencia has much to offer in the way of live music, dancing, and related entertainment.

In short, we were more than pleased with our stay at Ally's and would recommend this to all in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vkette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
7.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#11 of 19 in Placencia
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Beach Cabanas of Placencia
23.2 mi away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ally's Guest House Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ally's Guest House Belize

Address: Placencia Village North | Waterfront Lagoon Side, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Placencia
Price Range: £44 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ally's Guest House Belize consists of four, fully furnished, basic, self equipped apartments located directly on the water front of the Placencia Lagoon. Three of our apartments have air conditioning and all offer WiFi and Cable TV along with common washing machine and line drying. All our our vacation rentals are fully are equipped with kitchens and all utensils for cooking. All linens are provided along with coffee maker, blenders, etc. We also offer you a large above ground lap pool for relaxation or exercise. Ally's Guest House Belize has the following vacation rentals being a one bedroom studio, a one bedroom proper and our one bedroom efficiency. All with A/C. The 2 bedroom vacation rental is our most private. Perfect for couples who like a bit more privacy and space or couples traveling together. This apartment has no A/C but boasts windows that catch the breeze, along with floor and ceiling fans and is very comfortable during the high season months or for those who dislike A/C. We do have a mobile air cooler (not an A/C) for very warm days or evenings inside. Short or long term bookings accepted. A five night minimum stay is required. We offer you quiet, peaceful and very safe accommodations within walking distance to the village proper. We also offer our guests beach cruisers if need. We have pets that you may encounter from time to time so we ask that you have no allergies and also feel comfortable around animals. If you are looking for a bit of tropical paradise in an easy laid back and friendly environment, you would be wise to choose Ally's Guest House Belize as your tropical home away from home for 5 nights or 30! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ally's Guest House Belize Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing