We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sandwiches to go”
Review of Mathieu's Delicatessen - CLOSED

Mathieu's Delicatessen
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
michigan
Level Contributor
158 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“sandwiches to go”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We picked up a couple of sandwiches to go from Gunter, for
our road trip down to Punta Gorda. The on premise smoked
ham and roast beef, along with the fresh bread were great.
You could tell these sandwiches were made with care and,
not just thrown together.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thai1on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    20
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Mi
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great for a quick bite!”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We had lunch here twice. Both times the sandwiches were very good. This place is adjacent to Habaneros at Robert's Grove. You can also get breakfast type foods and coffee drinks.
I would recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jdickerh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“NOT a french bakery”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Thought we'd find French pastries, but they were relatively tasteless, not flaky and not what I was expecting. That said, it was edible, and their sandwiches are great to take along for a day out on the water.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skiinggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathieusDeli, Owner at Mathieu's Delicatessen, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Skiingal
thank you for your review of Mathieu's Deli at Robert's Grove. We do not purport to be a "french bakery" and nowhere is it advertised as such, we are a "Bakery, deli gourmet, sandwiches, wines" - perhaps you expected you'd find french pastries because of the name Mathieu's - that happens to be the name of the German baker - Gunter Mathieu. Stollen, Schwarzbrot, Brotchen and other specialty breads are what we do, and whilst we do make croissants, patisseries, pains au chocolat and the like, the ingredients - in particular butter - here are terribly difficult to incorporate - because of the heat and humidity - butter and other fats are often manufactured with water to avoid melting. We are happy though that you enjoyed the sandwiches, which are made with home roasted beef, home smoked ham and locally produced artisanal cheeses. It would be a different story if we were based in the US, but Belize is really rather a nicer place to be, I hope you'll agree!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty Food”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I really enjoyed a tasty breakfast sandwich. Plus, the outdoor seating and view are lovely. Service was great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AABA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Located in the Habanero’s Restaurant across from (and part of) Robert’s Grove, this gem is a re-locate from the San Pedro area of Belize. After our first warm welcome from Mathieu himself (with lots of samples) we made several return trips for the fantastic cold meats and cheeses (from Belize-based Caves Branch). We also sampled (and purchased) several of the breads from the bakery. Many of our lunches were comprised of the various treats we purchased (homemade pickles, jams etc.). We also enjoyed the (famous in San Pedro) breakfast sandwich, although we learned after the first one, to make the second one a share between two people, as it is HUGE!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob_Janice_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mathieu's Delicatessen also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing